Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:26 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 7 of 9 [ 219 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:29 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1011
Location: Germany
The floppy with question mark says the Mac cant find a bootable volume.
The OS9 image from redundant was working when I tried it (long ago).
If you did everything right, SS should boot from it.
Maybe delete the SS preferences file and create a new one from the SS GUI.
You might also try MacOS 7.5.3 with the OldWorldRom to make sure.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:50 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:36 pm
Posts: 7
Hello,
I tried to create a new preferences file from GUI, but it doesn't work better: SheepShaver cannot boot with my OS9.img :sad:
I would try with MacOS 7.5.3, but how should I do? I can't add the 7.5.3 folder (containing the 19 parts files) in the GUI's "volumes" tab (because it's a folder).
I tried with adding the "system70 boot.dsk" file, but when I start SheepShaver, then appears an error message: "this startup disk will not work on this Macintosh model..."
Do you have any idea?
Thanks
Macounett


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:16 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4800
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
For booting SheepShaver from a system older than MacOS 8.5, you will need an "old world" rom file. You can try this 8.5 ppc Disk Tools boot image to test if your setup works: http://www.emaculation.com/sheepshaver/ ... 85_PPC.img


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:11 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:36 pm
Posts: 7
Hello,
I tested 8.5 ppc Disk Tools (by adding it in the GUI's "volumes" tab), and it seems that SheepShaver boots (a MacOS window appears!:smile:) , then a message occurred:
"the System Software on this disk is designed for starting up from floppy disk only.
Please re-install the System Software from the disks or CD that came with your computer"
I can click OK, and then appears a grey desktop window with several icons: "Disk Tools", "my computer", "HD", "OS9" and trash... but no MacOS system.
Then I putted my old MacOS8.0 CD install in the CD driver, and it seems that the OS program is installing!!!
I hope it will work!! a lot of thanks to cat_7 :lol:, 24bit! :lol: and Ronald :lol:
Macounett


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:18 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:00 pm
Posts: 2
I replaced the 2010 build with the latest version, I have sound enabled, but it won't let me adjust it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 1:37 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 1:26 pm
Posts: 2
Quote:
My computer gets this error, I don't know what it means, can someone help?
Picture shows windows "Cannot map second Kernal Data area: 487" error

I've been lurking these forums for a while and was getting this same error ever since I upgraded to Windows 8. I thought that this error was Window 8 related until I upgraded my HD, installed Windows 8 and ran Sheepshaver immediately afterwords and found that it worked fine. I installed each of my regularly used programs and ran Sheepshaver after each installation to see if it was broken. It turns out it was the Firewall software (Comodo) that broke Sheepshaver. Shutting it don't wasn't enough to fix the problem, I had to completely uninstall it for Sheepshaver to work again. I hope this will help someone out and I'm happy to have my Sheepshaver back!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 4:51 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 4:05 am
Posts: 1
Has anyone been able to run with JIT active on Win 8.1? Runs fine without JIT but is much slower.

When I activate JIT, it crashes during bootup without any error message (the window just disappears). I wonder if this is just a Win 8.1 issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:46 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
Hello,

I have tryed to install sheepshaver (on windows 7 32 bits). I have applyed process and configuration of this site http://emaculation.com/doku.php/sheepshaver_setup.

SheepShaverGUI is working properly, but when i click on the start button, nothing happens and I don't have any error message.

Have you an idea of any informations to solve this issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:52 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4171
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,
Please note that SheepShaverGUI.exe and SheepShaver.exe are two separate programs. SheepShaverGUI.exe expects that the SheepShaver program is called "SheepShaver.exe", nothing more, and nothing less. So if you have a SheepShaver version called something like SheepShaver_05052010.exe, the GUI will not find it.

You can always double click on the SheepShaver program itself after you clicked start in the GUI, SheepShaver will then use the settings you made in the GUI.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:27 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
Hi,
Thank's for you quickl answer.
I have clicked on Sheepshaver.exe but nothing happens.

Is there a way to find an indication of the problem? (Stderr file is empty)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4171
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
When nothing happen, you might not have a rom file. Check the redundant robot site if so.
If you have, name it "Mac OS ROM" (no quotes) and try again.

Please paste the contents of your sheepshaver_prefs file in your reply.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:57 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
Hi,
I have tested with a ROM file that runs on a ubuntu.

Here are the contents of my sheepshaver_prefs:
Code:
disk C:\Users\sheepshaver\Downloads\SheepShaver_05_05_2010\SheepShaver\macos9.hfv
cdrom C:\Users\sheepshaver\Desktop\Mac OS 9.2.1
extfs
screen win/1024/768
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
rom C:\Users\sheepshaver\Downloads\SheepShaver_05_05_2010\SheepShaver\Mac_OS_ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver -62
ramsize 1073741824
frameskip 0
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv false
ignoreillegal false
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
ignoresegv false
idlewait false
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs true
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia false
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
routerenabled false
ftp_port_list 21
portfile0 C:\B2TEMP0.OUT
portfile1 C:\B2TEMP1.OUT


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:28 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4171
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Quote:
cdrom C:\Users\sheepshaver\Desktop\Mac OS 9.2.1


SheepShaver cannot run any mac os above version 9.0.4.

Does your MacOS9.hfv already contain a Mac OS installation?
Please use the GUI to:
-disable cdrom access
-select boot from "any",
-set memory to 512 Mb
and try again.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:57 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
Mac Os is run, yeah!!! :smile: :smile:
I have changed my configuration and my rom files as you said.

Thank you very much for you help.

Have a nice day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:52 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
Do you know how I can connect mac os to the network via SheepShaver ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:55 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:22 pm
Posts: 8
I found, your wiki is very well done.

thank's again.

Have a nice day


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:25 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:10 pm
Posts: 3
Hi There,

I have tried using your instructions but I keep getting a grey screen with A Floppy and flashing '?'
The set up I have used is:
  • Windows 7
  • Mac OS 9
  • MAC_OS_ROM (came with download package)
  • Latest sdl.dll
  • updated SheepShaver.exe

I have tried multiple ROMS and different images. the Mac OS is called 'OS9.img' & 'OS9General.dmg.bin' and I have tried mounting them to a virtual drive and tried loading them as an image like the hard drive (per the doco).

The errors don't log the screen just goes grey.

Pref settings below:
Code:
disk C:\Users\Gavin\Desktop\SheepShaver\MacDisk
disk C:\Users\Gavin\Desktop\Images\OS9General.dmg.bin
extfs
screen win/1024/768
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
rom C:\Users\Gavin\Desktop\SheepShaver\Mac_OS_ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 536870912
frameskip 0
gfxaccel true
nocdrom true
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal false
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
ignoresegv true
idlewait true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs true
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
routerenabled false
ftp_port_list 21
portfile0 C:\B2TEMP0.OUT
portfile1 C:\B2TEMP1.OUT


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:59 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:10 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Ignore my previous post got this working now.
I used ROM and OS Image from here: http://www.redundantrobot.com/sheepshav ... nt-page-1/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:46 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1756
Make sure to read the SheepShaver forums here to learn about the limitations of the RedundantRobot install before you experience them firsthand. All the questions are already answered :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:32 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:10 pm
Posts: 3
I only need this for a short period of time, as I do data recovery, I only need the emulator to test the working files I have recovered.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:48 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 80
Location: China
Is there any newer build for Windows? I tried OS X build which was compiled in Feb 2014. That build is much more stable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:06 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4171
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
No newer build for Windows is available. Changes to the source code have focused on OSX as host, so nothing is gained by providing a newer build.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:05 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 11:53 am
Posts: 80
Location: China
Both Windows and Linux build crashed when using IE or Netscape. But OS X build won't.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:04 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 1:26 pm
Posts: 2
The March 1st 2015 build seems stable on Windows 8.1 x64. I don't have a Mac CD to test but no "Cannot map second Kernal Data area: 487" yet! Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:20 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:10 am
Posts: 1
Location: Denver, CO
Thank you, Cat_7, for making such a wonderful program.

Might you consider making a change to SheepShaverGUI.exe that will warn you if one of the Volumes listed cannot be read? I've noticed that when I start this program up after a while and I've had some hard drive rearranging, it will keep the last paths to drives I had listed in the Volumes tab, even if those paths no longer exist. It would even be good if it just removed paths it cannot find. If you try to start Sheepshaver with such a Volume listed, it will crash with no explicit indication of the problem when I look at error reports in the Event Viewer. Such a convenience would go a long way, as this has been the only issue that has ever cause the program to not run, in my case and I'm sure others. I hope you'll consider such a change. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 7 of 9 [ 219 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group