SheepShaver and USB ports

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

newbie123
Space Cadet

SheepShaver and USB ports

Post by newbie123 »

Hi, I am new to this, but I want to know if you can run USB ports with sheepshaver on an OS X my current version is 10.7.2. I am trying to get pictures of an old camera that runs on classic mode, I have gotten the classic running through sheepshaver with mac os9. I have the programs that came with the camera working no problem but realized after all this, from what I hear, sheepshaver does not let USB ports work? So is this true, is there a way around it? any help would be great!
Thanks
Cat_7
Expert User

Re: SheepShaver and USB ports

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi, welcome!

SheepShaver doesn't allow you to connect to USB devices. There is only limited serial port support, but then you would need an old serial port in your OSX machine. And even then there is no guarantee it would work.

Doesn't your camera show up in OSX as a drive? Can you remove the data card from the camera and use it in a card reader?
What model/make is the camera?

Best,
Cat_7
newbie123
Space Cadet

Post by newbie123 »

Ha, no. I wish it did, but it has an internal memory. It is a vivicam.10 by vivatar, it does not show up on mac at all when just plugged in! Like I said the camera is old!
Thanks for the info though!
Cat_7
Expert User

Post by Cat_7 »

At least one solution for another model. Perhaps you can try the same ;-)
http://www.theconsultant.net/2006/06/ho ... nder-os-x/

Or find a windows person, a classic mac person?

Best,
Cat_7
pauljsproule
Space Cadet

Post by pauljsproule »