SheepSaver & USB Floppy Drive (macOS Sierra)

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Jona
Space Cadet

SheepSaver & USB Floppy Drive (macOS Sierra)

Post by Jona »

Hello all!

I'm new to vintage Mac stuff and just purchased an awesome Mac Classic II on eBay. I have a current-gen iMac and loads of downloads from the many awesome software repositories/archives and I'm trying to get them to the Mac Classic II. Here's what I have going on so far:

- SheepShaver running of an OS 9.0 installer disk image (works well, I have access to a shared folder from Sierra and can copy over some applications).

- USB Floppy with a floppy formatted on the Mac Classic currently mounted on my Sierra desktop (I can read, but not write to it)

- Mac Classic II running 7.5.5 (which is weird, I thought it could only run 7.5.3 max?)

Is there any way to get the USB Floppy drive/disk to show up in SheepShaver? It's dev/disk3/ in Sierra. Any other ideas on how to get software to the Mac Classic without buying any hardware?

Thanks for your help!
adespoton
Forum All-Star

Re: SheepSaver & USB Floppy Drive (macOS Sierra)

Post by adespoton »

best bet is probably to create some 1.44MB images, mount them in SheepShaver, copy the software to them, and then in Sierra, write the images out to floppies in the USB drive via disk utility or dd from the command line.

You'd probably do better to use Basilisk II though, as it sometimes has the ability to access disk drives (SCSI only?) and it can run Mac OS 7.5.3 (Finder 7.5.5) so you can create your entire setup there, and then move it over.
24bit
Forum All-Star

Post by 24bit »

You may point the shared folder in the SS GUI to any place you wish, including your USB floppy.
Writing HFS floppies from user land was disabled with OSX 10.6. A virtual machine running Leopard does the trick, but its a rather long shot, probably.