Stuck in Setting up SheepShear - twice in the same place.

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

mrnoonan
Space Cadet

Stuck in Setting up SheepShear - twice in the same place.

Post by mrnoonan »

Where to start after all the tech that’s passed 30 some years ago. I’m not a newbie to Mac or Windows but OS 9 is now a distant memory. I recall that I once had a Macintosh IIcs as my 1st Mac.

I’ve gotten partially through the SheepShear (SS) setup twice but the "Mac OS Install” instruction does not show up.
? I not sure what “installer”in teh instructions is meant here.
? Is there an installer icon or named object I should see.

I do get an Apple Menu bar at the top, three disk icons and the Unix and Trash icons on the right side, and a collapsible bar on the left side (not sure what these icons do when it is expanded). The background is dark blue with a checkerboard of repeating Mac Lisa(?) images.

An odd situation happens at the initialization of the hard drive volume. The HD initialization comes up with as an “Untitled" named disk rather than MacOS9HD I used in the Preference setup. I changed Untitled to MacOS9HD. And then, this initialization came up again. (the odd part.) I ended up with two identically named hard drives (maybe I should have used A and B and changed the hard drive's names later).
? This is weird. What happened?

- am using these instructions http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/she ... os_x_setup
- retrieved the ROM (newworld86.rom) and OS image (OS9.img) from http://www.redundantrobot.com/#/sheepshaver
- renamed newworld86.rom to MAC OS ROM
- OS9.img (512MB) is a bit vague as to content but no clue whether it is 9.0.x or what. I locked it.
- I have update image files for 9.0.4 (12MB), 9.1. 9.2.1, and 9.2.2 but I think there are incremental updates and I’d need the 9.0.0 base OS. Hard to find. Apple was no help.