Cloning a real mac HD

[ARCHIVED] About PearPC, a mostly obsolete PPC Mac emulator for Windows and Linux to run MacOS X 10.1 up to 10.4. Using QEMU is now recommended.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

pancake
Space Cadet

Cloning a real mac HD

Post by pancake »

i have had a quick search, so i hope i am not mulling over old topics,.....

I want to basically clone my ibook hard disk to run with pearPC, maybe in the future... has anyone tried this....can it work?
CaptainValor
Forum All-Star

Post by CaptainValor »

Wow... that's a new one.

Um, I assume you would need a program that can create an .img file from an existing hard drive. I have no knowledge of programs that can do this on the PC or Mac, though.

Good question! ;)
jhkl
Tinkerer

Post by jhkl »

I haven't tried it, but I think that it would work. The only thing is that you would probably have to clone the image from a G3 system, and you might have to set the RAM size to be the same as the original system. Other than that, I fail to see why it wouldn't work.

Try it, and let us know the results! :)
robojam
Forum All-Star

Post by robojam »

The only thing I can think it would have a problem with is the change in hardware, but maybe that can be fixed.
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
kybernaut
Apple Corer

Post by kybernaut »

I somewhere read that it works. Get yourself Carbon copy cloner and clone your boot drive.

Please report back here.
robojam
Forum All-Star

Post by robojam »

Sounds like a cool idea though!
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
leonAzul
Space Cadet

Post by leonAzul »

*bump*