BasiliskII for Windows

About BasiliskII, a 68k Mac emulator for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux that can run System 7.x through MacOS 8.1.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

You can disable the gtk test in the ./configure options. just type ./configure --help and you'll see the options and default settings. If you already have a GUI, you don't need a new one.

If you want to install a GTK toolkit, I would suggest doing that through the cygwin setup and not through the gtk windows setup option to link into cygwin.

Best,
Cat_7
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

So did you mean I don't need GTK in order to compile? Thanks!
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

I am close to finishing the compilation of SheepShaver and got this error. I tried "./configure --without-gtk" and got the same error. I had the libgtk2.0_0 and libgtk2.0-devel installed through cygwin. Any thoughts?

~/SDL-1.2.15/SheepShaver/src/Windows
$ ./configure
checking build system type... i686-pc-cygwin
checking host system type... i686-pc-cygwin
checking target system type... i686-pc-cygwin
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.exe
checking for suffix of executables... .exe
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /usr/bin/grep
checking for egrep... /usr/bin/grep -E
checking whether ln -s works... yes
checking for perl... /usr/bin/perl
checking for windres... windres
./configure: line 3993: syntax error near unexpected token `1.3.15,'
./configure: line 3993: ` AM_PATH_GTK_2_0(1.3.15, ,'
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

ah yes, the last hurdle!

Open the file "configure" in the src/windows folder with an ascii text editor and remove the lines around line 3993 (from the "if" to the "fi" (both included) that do the gtk test.

Best,
Cat_7
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

Now I passed "./configure". Yeah! But when I did "make" I got a lot of gtk errors. Here is the start line of the error, followed by a bunch more that I am not copying here.

g++ -O2 -mno-cygwin -mms-bitfields -I../kpx_cpu/include -I../kpx_cpu/src -DUSE_JIT -I../include -I. -I../slirp -DHAVE_CONFIG_H @GTK_CFLAGS@ -c prefs_editor_gtk.cpp -o obj/prefs_editor_gtk.o
g++: @GTK_CFLAGS@: No such file or directory
prefs_editor_gtk.cpp:27:21: gtk/gtk.h: No such file or directory
prefs_editor_gtk.cpp:40: error: expected init-declarator before '*' token
prefs_editor_gtk.cpp:40: error: expected `,' or `;' before '*' token
(... more errors ...)
prefs_editor_gtk.cpp:1731: error: `gtk_init' undeclared (first use this function)
Makefile:165: recipe for target `obj/prefs_editor_gtk.o' failed
make: *** [obj/prefs_editor_gtk.o] Error 1
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

can you paste the outcome of ./configure? I mean the small report after ./configure ends and instructs you to run make.

Did you do: ./configure --with-gtk=no


Best,
cat_7
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

My bad, I didn't do "./configure --with-gtk=no". I did it and it compiled with no error! Yeah!

So I was using the same BasiliskII_30_08_2010_startupsound folder that worked fine on Windows XP. I copied over the folder to a 64 bit Windows 7 machine and replaced the BasiliskII.exe with the newly compiled version. I corrected all the file paths using BasiliskGUI and pressed "Start". It gave me the "cdenable.sys is missing" message, which was fine. I didn't need the CD access. But then nothing happened. Anything else I am missing? Thanks!
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

After setting the right paths etc. and nothing happening after clicked the start button, can you start the new basiliskII.exe directly by double-clicking it?

The GUI expects the file it is going to start to be called BasiliskII.exe. It has no way of knowing if the BasiliskII.exe has another name.

Best,
Cat_7
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

Yup, I tried double clicking BasiliskII.exe directly and got the same thing (the cursor twirled for a split second and nothing else happened). Is there a debug log somewhere?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

You can try to run Basilisk from the command line and see if it yields more info.
Perhaps you can copy the content of your basilisk_prefs file in your reply.

best,
Cat_7
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

I tried from the command line and it was the same. No message. But once in a while I got "Cannot open ROM file." Then I deleted the basilisk_prefs file in order to start fresh. Now BasiliskII.exe opens a window that has no content (just black) and it hangs there.

Here's the basilisk_prefs file.

disk C:\Users\Me\Desktop\BasiliskII_30_08_2010_startupsound\macdrive.hfv
extfs
screen win/512/384
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
udptunnel false
udpport 6066
rom C:\Users\Me\Desktop\BasiliskII_30_08_2010_startupsound\MacOSROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 8388608
frameskip 6
modelid 5
cpu 3
fpu false
nocdrom true
nosound false
noclipconversion false
nogui false
jit true
jitfpu true
jitdebug false
jitcachesize 8192
jitlazyflush true
jitinline true
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
ignoresegv false
idlewait true
enableextfs false
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true
etherpermanentaddress true
ethermulticastmode 0
routerenabled false
ftp_port_list 21
portfile0 C:\B2TEMP0.OUT
portfile1 C:\B2TEMP1.OUT
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

By the way, my PC is running on an AMD processor. Could that be a problem?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

No, running on AMD shouldn't interfere with the program. It might be, however, that you are now suffering from the "black screen" problem. Please search the forum for more info on that, as of yet, unresolved problem.

Do you have a cd image to boot from? Please boot from that once, and then try your hfv again.
Or can you open your .hfv image in HFV explorer once and then try to boot Basilisk again.

Or perhaps boot from a floppy image? (you'll need to set the machine type/cpu to boot from a floppy image)

Best,
Cat_7
brimars
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:02 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by brimars »

I had the same problem running Win7 64-bit. The 32-bit works fine at work, so I changed the Compatibility on basiliskii.exe to run as Windows 7. That apparently runs as a 32-bit app instead and seems to work fine now. I still get the cdenable.sys error, but I can live with that. I can use the gui to configure and then it runs basiliskii.exe properly. Hope this helps, or at least gets you closer.

Brian.
deer421 wrote:I tried from the command line and it was the same. No message. But once in a while I got "Cannot open ROM file." Then I deleted the basilisk_prefs file in order to start fresh. Now BasiliskII.exe opens a window that has no content (just black) and it hangs there.

... chopped ...
deer421
Student Driver
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by deer421 »

Yes, that works!!! Thank you. But it works only for one time after I set the compatibility mode. So I can switch back and forth the compatibility running as Windows 7 and Windows XP. Then it works only one time after the switch. After that I get the blank screen. Any thoughts?
User avatar
ClockWise
Site Admin
Posts: 4397
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Location: Uiwang

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by ClockWise »

I feel the need to "bump" this thread. There's a new build available. Link in the original post.
IPalindromeI
Tinkerer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:39 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by IPalindromeI »

It's been a while - it seems the black screen bug is fixed! Problem - with modern B2 and SS, SLIRP will immediately crash the emulator, it just searches for problems, and closes.

Any ideas?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

That's strange. Both work as expected at my place.

What Windows version are you using? And which roms?

Best,
Cat_7
IPalindromeI
Tinkerer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:39 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by IPalindromeI »

Quadra 630 ROM, 32-bit Windows 8.
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Well, I'm trying to re-install; had had good luck with my Toshiba netbook running XP, but I'm encountering a new problem with my new System 7 machine. I got the black screen with the "install this first" build, and so went back to 142 as suggested. Making good headway until I hit the "run" button in Basilisk.gui, at which point I get an error clang and nothing happens -- the setup dialog box is gone, and no new window has reopened. I've installed all the recommended software from the installation instructions. Has anybody else run into this?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

You mean the "always start with this" version from 2010?
After you downloaded that version, download the latest BasiliskII.exe from 2013 (the first link in the first post of this thread). Replace the BasiliskII.exe from the 2010 version with the newer one you downloaded. This should give you a functional BasiliskII, without the black screen bug.

Please do not mix the 142 version with the later versions in one folder, as they use different preferences files (but with the same name).

Start over in a clean folder with just the new version and follow the guide.

Best,
Cat_7
Last edited by Cat_7 on Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason:  
Mominul
Student Driver
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:16 am
Location: Bangladesh

Re: BasiliskII for Windows build 30-08-2010 available

Post by Mominul »

Cat_7 wrote:Hi,

I found that there are problems using gcc 4 in cygwin 1.7. You can set cygwin to use the gcc 3 compiler (if installed) by executing:

chmod 755 /usr/bin/set-gcc-default-3.sh
/usr/bin/set-gcc-default-3.sh

and then do the ./autogen.sh and ./configure steps for SDL and finally build BasiliskII.

if you need to switch back use:
chmod 755 /usr/bin/set-gcc-default-4.sh
/usr/bin/set-gcc-default-4.sh

I just succesfully built both BasiliskII and SheepShaver with SDL-1.2.15

Best,
Cat_7
Hello When I submit the Command(chmod 755 /usr/bin/set-gcc-default-3.sh) Then a message Appears -
$ chmod 755 /usr/bin/set-gcc-default-3.sh
chmod: cannot access `/usr/bin/set-gcc-default-3.sh': No such file or directory

Please help me!(I need to install SDL - 1.2.15 to cygwin to compile Previous)
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 6121
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by Cat_7 »

Hi,

I don't know if that option is still available in Cygwin, but if it is, you would have to have the gcc 3 compiler family installed in Cygwin.

If you don't install it, the script will not be available.

Best,
Cat_7
chiacchiakb@gmail.com
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:26 am
Location: pittsburgh area

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by chiacchiakb@gmail.com »

Thanks -- yes, the problem was I was being too conservative and it worked much better when I used the newest build instead of the "start with this" build. (I'm having trouble remembering, but when I had problems I went back rather than forward in builds, which again wasn't the right thing to do.)

I did discover something extremely useful -- I was having trouble installing my software. Couldn't find one disk, the other had somehow become corrupted and wasn't reading at all. In a fit of frustration, I copied the "install" HFV file from my old machine and used it to replace the file on my new one. It worked just fine, with everything (including old game sessions) still there. So if folks are planning to move to a new machine, that's a pretty quick and easy option.
MrGrymReaper
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:47 pm

Re: BasiliskII for Windows

Post by MrGrymReaper »

I was wondering whether the project meets the requirements for Google Summer Of Code (GSOC)?

If not sometime is it feasible for the CDEnable32.sys to be complied or reworked for 64bit environment?

If it does the project could get a major load of work done on its source code and maybe even get some new long term developers.
Post Reply