Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:47 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm
Posts: 67
HI,
I sometime have display troubles with BasiliskII on my Linuxes. It appear randomly with no particular reasons that I know of, not noticed I've been doing particular setting changes on the host machines for it to appear... I sometime managed to solve the problem by setting BII to use a MacIIci ROM , with CPU 3 and modelid 5 , instead of the Performa rom I usually use.
Also copying the boot image disk to my Mac , booting BII with it from there and setting screen to 256 colors would sometime solve the problem. So maybe it appear if I inadvertenly set the screen to higher nmr of colors...
anyway it looks like this :
Image
BII is booting indeed , but the image is all distorded and moving down the screen.
Usually managed to solve the thing with tricks above, but this time, none works.
Even tried rebuilding BII...
Any ideas ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:58 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm
Posts: 67
Answering to myself...
Found that skipframe was at 0 in my BII prefs file. Setting it at 4 solves the display problem.
Funny , as it worked for while with 0...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:53 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:59 pm
Posts: 130
What does skipgrame mean?

_________________
There is an App for that!
https://github.com/rickyzhang82


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 11:11 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:59 pm
Posts: 67
Hi Rickyshang,
It's "frameskip" sorry , not skipframe . Sorry . Was sleepy :)
It's a setting in the .basilisk_ii_prefs file. It is to specify how many frames skip after drawing one frames in the display.
https://github.com/sentient06/Medusa/wi ... e_skipping
By default it's at 8 when install in linux. I must have set it at 0 at one time, but it seems it doesn't play well with putting display in millions colors...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 4:13 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1795
Ah; this actually sounds like a variation of the same issue I had on OS X; I found that it only happened on some screen resolutions. If I stuck to 4:3 aspect ratios, it didn't happen. I didn't think to adjust frameskip.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group