Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:41 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 24 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:37 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Ok. I saw my Macinstosh back after 20 long years... on my Windows 7 tower.
Last time I had played with Basilisk II was i Believe in 1995 on Windows ... 95.

Install went perfectly and it runs nice with no mouse lag and in full screen!
As "Amewicans" would say: Awesome!

Went from 7.1 to 7.5
Following this great page: http://emaculation.com/doku.php/basilisk_ii_setup

My now momified Powerbook (hard disk dead) did not even have 7.5. Was still 7.1

I have some observations (not critics). Maybe some of you have answers for.

1) I'm European and here we use different keyboards.
Yep we need those for all our silly accents and umlauts we put everywhere :lol:
My defunct Powerbook (I still have it) has a Azerty keyboard. Not a Qwerty.
We don't use WASD keys.
They are not in same place so we must redefine those keys in any Anglo-saxon game.

I found out when typing my first URL in iCab 2.99 webrowser.
Went mad at finding Qwerty characters in a AZERTY keyboard just to type a simple URL.

Question: Is there a way to map a Azerty keyboard somewhere in Mac utilities?
Forgot if case as my Powerbook came with AZERTY BE from shop back in 1991.

2) I see many pics where the screen background (the "dekstop") has color. Mine is grey.
And stays grey even after setting colors in Basilisk II GUI.

Question: How did you get your color backgrounds? I'm jealous.

3) I tried to install Netscape Version 4.08.
Got a message I needed to be on 7.6.1 (which is not available for download).
And yes I did first install CFM-68K Runtime Enabler. Or maybe I did it wrong?

Question: Can you recommend another browser than iCab? No old Firefox for this?

That's it for the moment. I may try some games later. Now I stare at my emulated Mac screen.
And mutter to myself...
'Hello Buddy Mac. Where have you been all this time I had to suffer Gates?"

:mrgreen:

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:59 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
AZERTY would be a French keyboard, right?
Keyboard mapping with emulators can be a pain, but the basic keys should not be a problem.
Did you specify the RAW keycodes in the BII GUI? Cat_7 provided a keycodes file with the "always start with this" download.
As you got this, select your desired keyboard on the Mac side.
Go to "Control Panels - Input" to select your setting.
For the coloured desktop there is "Control Panel - Desktop Background".
The available backgrounds will vary depending on the MacOS you are using.
(I don´t have the exact names for English or French using a German setup, QWERTZ.)

Do you want/have a French localised MacOS?

Off topic:
Don't miss to set up SheepShaver on your Windows host.
The MPC604 emulator just flies on recent X86 hardware and Apple´s built in 680X0 emulation is good enough to run the greater part of the 68k apps.
A bootable image for SheepShaver is here: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators
I´ll add a French 7.5.3 soon, as I was planning to add some languages anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:43 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
First of all thank you for replying.

AZERTY is for French speaking Belgians and... French.
Why AZERTY BE and AZERTY FR do exist on PC's
Yes I know Germans and Letzeburgichs use QWERTZ, and Swiss still another.

I have no idea where keycodes file with the "always start with this" download is, here or on the emaculation.com Basilisk II setup page. But I have seen that field "RAW keycodes" in Basilisk II GUI. Just did not know why it was there.

As I type my emulated Mac has now a nice Scottish tartan colored background. Fun!
Thanks to you. Was in Control Panel - Desktop Patterns

No I don't want a French localised MacOS. As a former IT Consultant I always did use all my software in English, including OS for Mac and Windows, or Linux I use also on my laptop. I just define the keyboard I need at OS install.

You read my mind remotely. My next steps are:

1) To go as high possible in OS versions on this 68x emulator. I'm now in 7.5.5
Just found CD images on Macintosh Garden that could enable me to go up to 7.6.1 and run Netscape. (http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macintosh-mac-os-76). Don't know yet what to do with those (BIG) .img files I got.

1a) Run (again after 20 years) my copy of SimEarth on this emulator and in color this time!

2) To look at SheepShaver. Was planned.
I have a strong Win-7 64 bits Tower with 12MB Ram. Should fly.
I did install Basilisk II on my SSD. Never seen a Mac restart that fast.

3) Maybe look later at how to emulate a true MAC OS/X on windows.

4) Look on e-bay for a cheap Apple hard disk to resurect my Powerbook 170. But I wonder if worth it seen I can run all on my PC now.

I feel like doing software archeology. Is big fun!
Thanks for your help and any tips you feel I should know.

I speak 4, alas not German, but Danke Schön! <-- with the umlaut :smile:

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:38 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
nemo_007 wrote:
I have no idea where keycodes file with the "always start with this" download is, here or on the emaculation.com Basilisk II setup page.

See: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5282
You probably already downloaded the archive. It contains the BasiliskII folder with all needed files, among which the file "BasiliskII_keycodes" . Choose that file for "RAW keycodes" in the GUI.


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:32 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
nemo_007 wrote:
I have no idea where keycodes file with the "always start with this" download is, here or on the emaculation.com Basilisk II setup page.

See: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5282
You probably already downloaded the archive. It contains the BasiliskII folder with all needed files, among which the file "BasiliskII_keycodes" . Choose that file for "RAW keycodes" in the GUI.


Looks like I followed that from day one.
I found out now that BasiliskII_keycodes came with archive BasiliskII_15_01_2010 (start with this first), archive BasiliskII_20-02-2015 contained only BasiliskII (installed). So I went in GUI and assigned that file in "use Raw Key codes", then fired emulator and went into Control Panel - Keyboard.
There I found choices for only Australian - British - Canadian CSA - Canadian ISO - Swiss French - Swiss German - US - US System 6.

None of those gives me a AZERTY. Swiss French is a QWERTZ. All others are QWERTY.
Yes I did restart after keyboard changes.
:shock:

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:20 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
When you update 7.5.3 to 7.5.5, you will get more keyboard choices, among which three azerty keyboards: French, French numeric, and Flemish.

When you search for "7.5.5 update", you will find several places where you can download the 7.5.3 to 7.5.5 updater.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:38 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
I may very well occur that only limited keyboard files are installed with a default install.
I did upload some keyboard settings from one of my installations here:
https://mega.nz/#!s4tBgCaT!ZWaFDyC1W98X ... dXonhFuECU

The file is sit compressed, so you will need Stuffit Expander 4 or better on the Mac side to use them.
After inflating, drop the needed ones onto the closed System folder.
The MacOS should put them into the System file. If that should fail, you may also add them manually.

Ronald was too fast for me. Either way...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
When you update 7.5.3 to 7.5.5, you will get more keyboard choices, among which three azerty keyboards: French, French numeric, and Flemish.

When you search for "7.5.5 update", you will find several places where you can download the 7.5.3 to 7.5.5 updater.


As I said earlier in my posts I already am in 7.5.5.
I do not have more keyboard choices than what I indicated

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:58 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
24bit wrote:
I may very well occur that only limited keyboard files are installed with a default install.
I did upload some keyboard settings from one of my installations here:
https://mega.nz/#!s4tBgCaT!ZWaFDyC1W98X ... dXonhFuECU

The file is sit compressed, so you will need Stuffit Expander 4 or better on the Mac side to use them.
After inflating, drop the needed ones onto the closed System folder.
The MacOS should put them into the System file. If that should fail, you may also add them manually.

Ronald was too fast for me. Either way...


TY did download this .sit file and will feedback.
Solving this would be key for all AZERTY keyboards users.

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:19 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Ok I did the above. Did drop 3 files on closed system folder.
And still had only the choices I indicated earlier when going into Control Panel - Keyboard.
Nothing else shows as choice.

When opening system in system folder I see it has a list of almost all keyboards (!), including those that I dropped from your .sit (german names).

ie: "französhisch" (from your .sit file) has it's equivalent "french" file and "französhisch, numerisch" has it's equivalent "french, numeric". So they were already there....

But none of those were in choice drop down in control panel - keyboard.
I'm stuck with Qwerty and Qwertz.

Will try to drop those files directly in keyboard and see what happens. Nothing to loose.

Edited: That did crash Basilisk II. Took them out of control panel where they landed after a restart. Also took the 3 "germanic" files out of system folder.
Restarted.

Still have initial choices only in control panel - keyboard.
While ALL keyboards are in sysetm folder. This is truly annoying.

Off topic: Did install Kaleidoscope and am running aqua scheme. Very nice!

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
This is really strange. All keyboards that are installed in the System file should be available in Keyboard control panel. I thought that it could be a corrupt preferences file that is associated with the keyboard settings. But I can't find any such file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:07 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
One possible solution I can think of:

- Open the System Folder
- Drag the "System" suitcase out of the System Folder onto the desktop. (You will notice that all folders inside the System Folder will loose their specific icons.)
- Drag "System" back into the System Folder. (The folders inside the System Folder will get their icons back.)
- Close the System Folder.
- Maybe stop and start again BasiliskII (not sure if that is needed).

Are the keyboards now available in Keyboard control panel?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
Sorry for the mischief.

Option three: Try the keyboard files from the 7.5.3 images here:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators
The keyboard files go into the System file, not the System folder or anywhere else.
Open your System file and add the French keyboard mappings.

Image

Or maybe just create a new installation with custom install?
Check all boxes or look for "International"or "Keyboard".
If you want to use your hard files for SheepShaver too, be sure to check "Installation for every Mac".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:07 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
24bit wrote:
Sorry for the mischief.

Option three: Try the keyboard files from the 7.5.3 images here:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators
The keyboard files go into the System file, not the System folder or anywhere else.
Open your System file and add the French keyboard mappings.

Image

Or maybe just create a new installation with custom install?
Check all boxes or look for "International"or "Keyboard".
If you want to use your hard files for SheepShaver too, be sure to check "Installation for every Mac".


I had followed all steps religiously. And made custom install "universal". Will redo all today and look closer at options.

I have only seen now you gave a different link for 7.5.3 files.
will get them first. Those I have came from a link in setup page.

But what I will do first, before I even then upgrade to 7.53 and 7.5.5, will be to look what keyboards are already available in 7.1

I really want to tackle this before I go to Sheepshaver.
For the Azerty users.
Redoing all install a third time just will give me more experience :-)

off topic: On my SSD Where I did download all needed files, and where where I installed Basilisk II in a subdirectory, I now .finf folders I don't see on my other disks and I had never seen before.

It contains a list of all my subdirectories, all of type file, created same date.
This looks fishy to me ....
Will delete and see what happens.

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:16 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
A bunch of dot-something files is the result if a Mac accesses a non HFS directory.
Those are the hidden files where the OS stores preferences like window position, window size etc.
With HFS volumes such files are there just the same, but hidden by Finder.
I do agree that its a bit annoying and you may usually delete the files.
Next time the MacOS sees that directory the "hidden" files will be created again though.
Same procedure BTW for FAT32 USB thumb drives plugged in at OSX.

Maybe you can hide the dot files in the folder settings of Windows?
I did not investigate about options hiding dot files on Windows.

Totally forgot about browsers. Cameron Kaiser´s Classilla is the only project with ongoing support.
You may recall WaMCom on the Mac, which laid the grounds for Classilla.
The downside is that Classiilla expects MacOS 8.6 or 9 to work, so put that aside until SheepShaver is up and running.
iCab and ancient versions of IE may be the only choice for browsers with OS7.
Not advisable for several reasons.

What are the specs of your W7 tower BTW?
Do you have other computers around except of your disabled PB?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:24 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
24bit wrote:
A bunch of dot-something files is the result if a Mac accesses a non HFS directory.
Those are the hidden files where the OS stores preferences like window position, window size etc.
With HFS volumes such files are there just the same, but hidden by Finder.
I do agree that its a bit annoying and you may usually delete the files.
Next time the MacOS sees that directory the "hidden" files will be created again though.
Same procedure BTW for FAT32 USB thumb drives plugged in at OSX.

Maybe you can hide the dot files in the folder settings of Windows?
I did not investigate about options hiding dot files on Windows.

Totally forgot about browsers. Cameron Kaiser´s Classilla is the only project with ongoing support.
You may recall WaMCom on the Mac, which laid the grounds for Classilla.
The downside is that Classiilla expects MacOS 8.6 or 9 to work, so put that aside until SheepShaver is up and running.
iCab and ancient versions of IE may be the only choice for browsers with OS7.
Not advisable for several reasons.

What are the specs of your W7 tower BTW?
Do you have other computers around except of your disabled PB?


1) Found out this morning that yes those .finf folders were created after I first accessed my PC from within the emulator to copy some files. Now that I know what/who created those I'm less suspicious and anxious. Will let them live.

2) I redid my entire installation from scratch. From 7.1 to 7.5.
Did a custom install "universal" of 7. 5.3 as first time but also did tick "international" box this time. No change.

I have all the keyboards in system folder but still the keyboard tool in control panel shows only those I did indicate earlier. I passed all my morning on the web and found nothing. Except a question about Azerty with Basilisk II in a sourceforge.net forum asked in 2003 that never got a reply...

I looked also at the file BasiliskII_prefs that is obviously created by the GUI.
I modified this line: keyboardtype 5 to other values with no results to get a French KB.
What I saw on the web also is that a older version of Basilisk (the one I'm sure I did use in 1995) had a more complete GUI called btw Basilisk Preferences. It had a tab keyboard.
What it did I don't remember.

Switching on or off the use of a BasiliskII_keycodes does not change a thing. Even if I saw in all my searches it was not needed for qwerty keyboards... Well using it does not help.

So I'm in a dead end on this, and will have to limit this emulation to play old games. Maybe Myst? As for browsers on this emulation I will forget about it. What I saw with iCab on modern website was enough to drop it. And I agree that it now must have some serious security issues.

Have plenty of space on my WIN 7 (SSD is not main disk and has 500GB, contains my downloads only and now a running Mac). I could install a old Basilisk in another directory to see what his pref GUI does produce as file that I could maybe reuse (or data thereof).

I also have a laptop under Linux Mint that could be used for Mac emulation. Azerty also.

Will now pass some time to look at apps and games for Basiisk II (saw even 4th Dimension was available!) and then look at SheepShaver.

TY to all for the support. I call it quit on Azerty atm unless I find something new that I will then report here.

I find it very odd to see dozens of keyboards in system folder that the keyboard control panel tool cannot show in a complete list.

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:02 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
If you get back to AZERTY please try the 7.5.3 image from the link I pointed above.
I switched to French layout in Control Panel / Keyboard, restarted and there is AZERTY.

Image

I must admit this was SheepShaver on macOS Sierra, but I´ll try with BII/Windows too.

The old build 142 of BasiliskII is worth a shot if you ever want to write Mac HFS HD floppies for your PB
or when you would have to access a Mac SCSI device.

Did you ever consider swapping the PB HDD with a 2.5 inch SCA2 80pin drive?
Ultra 320 was downward compatible with older SCSI, a PB adapter would have to be self soldered, I presume.
Perhaps grab one of these as long as they are sold.
http://www.ebay.de/itm/IBM-SCSI-Festpla ... SwEK9UDtu5
Fitting HDD and adapter into the PB would be the harder part, I´m afraid.

Edit:
The keyboard setting with BII/Windows 10 is even easier.
Just go to System/Control Panels/Keyboard and double click the desired setting.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:41 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Did you read me above?

"I have all the keyboards in system folder but still the keyboard tool in control panel shows only those I did indicate earlier. I passed all my morning on the web and found nothing. Except a question about Azerty with Basilisk II in a sourceforge.net forum asked in 2003 that never got a reply..."

I redid a "from scratch installation" and already checked while in 7.5.3
I did NOT have more choices than the keyboards I indicated in my OP.
Then went from 7.5.3 to 7.5.5 and now 7.6.1.

And I remain in Qwerty.

I do NOT have the choices you show in
http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?fi ... 926461.png

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:17 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
nemo_007 wrote:
"I have all the keyboards in system folder

To avoid confusion between the System file and the System Folder: Better do not refer to the "System" file as "system folder". "System" is not a folder but a special file. Double-clicking the System file will open a window that shows what is installed in System, normally keyboards and system sounds.

As I wrote before, it is very strange that keyboards installed in System do not show up in the Keyboard control panel. What could possibly be different in your setup?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:05 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1027
Location: Germany
To rule out unknown errors it was always best to start from common grounds.
Thats why I suggested to use the same hard file as I did.

http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators first DL please.
If you still can't select the French keyboard we do at least know that.

Edit:
It just occurred to me thinking at common grounds:
I was using the Z-International for the English 7.5.3, you did maybe get a British or US installer, is that possible? Could be the solution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:15 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1795
Does anyone know: if you get the British or US base installer, does the upgrader limit you to the internationalizations supported by the base? This could be the issue he's experiencing; the actual system file doesn't support the extra keyboards he's trying to add.

I can't say that I ever attempted to add azerty keyboards to those OS versions; I did qwerty-US, qwerty-CA-FR, quertz-CH-FR, dvorak and a few Japanese layouts only... all on top of a US base install.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 9:29 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
adespoton wrote:
Does anyone know: if you get the British or US base installer, does the upgrader limit you to the internationalizations supported by the base? This could be the issue he's experiencing; the actual system file doesn't support the extra keyboards he's trying to add.

I can't say that I ever attempted to add azerty keyboards to those OS versions; I did qwerty-US, qwerty-CA-FR, quertz-CH-FR, dvorak and a few Japanese layouts only... all on top of a US base install.


I think Mr adespoton has a point here....

To make it clear for all I will redo a 4th full install from scratch today (in another directory) starting from base and 7.5.3 files I was indicated. I doubt I will have azerty keyboards.

Despite original Basilisk II had azerty supported it seems it's not case today. Which is very blocking. If I can deal with WASD "mind mapping" I'm not going to stick labels on my keyboard to know where M m ; , ? . : + = $ µ % ù ö â à é è ! & @ § ( à are ...

I will feed back.
I hope not same issue with Sheepsaver or I can stop digging the past this week-end.

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:01 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:05 am
Posts: 17
Follow up and what I did this morning. Redoing a install in another directory.

Following http://emaculation.com/doku.php/basilisk_ii_setup

Except this time I do not install http://www.emaculation.com/basilisk/os753/ in 753 volume
but made use of: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators one indicated in post by 24bit.

GTK Lib was already installed since day 1.

1) Zip extract of BasiliskII_15_01_2010 (from "Always start with this download:" ... )
2) Zip extract BasiliskII_20-02-2015
3) Accept overwriting Basilisk II (made it explicit to ask first in winzip)
4) Zip extract of System70_boot
5) Zip extract of SDL-1.2.13-win32 (where sdl file is one hour later, same date, as file in BII directory)
6) Accept overwrite
7) Zip extract of MacOS753.dsk_
8) Prepare setup with BIIGUI (I now set use raw keycodes at first setup)
volumes are System70_boot and MacOS753
9) Run BII in 7.1 OK
10) I check keyboards in system file on 7.1... (did not do this until now)
Interesting result: I see 7 keyboards layouts: Deutsch, Deutsch Schweiz, Español, France, France - numérique, Italiano, Suisse Romand
Note: NO US, UK keyboards! NONE.
Note: All keyboard files are named in native language, not English.

11) I shutdown, go to BIIGUI and remove System70_boot. Leave only MacOS753
12) Restart BII and boot in 7.5.3 (so doing this I do not make the update but use 7.5.3 dsk provided)
13) I go check keyboards in system file on 7.5.3...
I see them all but all named in English.
The original keyboard files of 7.1 were not preserved whoever made this 7.5.3 update.
But their equivalent are there.

So I test if I can now switch keyboards.
Go to system folder - control panel - keyboard and ....
I see same list of keyboard as in all my other attempts in scroll down choice!

Note: I see this box (ticked) "Use Command-Option-Space bar to rotate trough keyboard layouts" I saw before.
Could it be that using this command (what is equivalent on PC??) would give me the "next" list of keyboard choices?

IS THIS the point where I'm blocked since the begin?

The keyboards are there, but maybe none of you BII experts realized dummy user me did not know how to Use Command-Option-Space bar to rotate trough keyboard layouts??

I see only the list of FIRST EIGHT? (1 bit per keyboard?) and how you do rotate this list and see the others?

And where do you do this command?
Here in system folder or when in a text to type?
And how on a Windows PC?
This is not clear at all and very Apple.

EDITED: I found this https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... -macintosh

And applied CTRL+ALT+SPACE BAR when in keyboard tool. Nothing did happen.

I stop here and wait for your feedback.
Must be THIS the issue. :cool:

Cheers,
Nemo

_________________
Feel lucky we cannot put idiots in orbit. It would mask the Sun.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4812
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
nemo_007 wrote:
Note: I see this box (ticked) "Use Command-Option-Space bar to rotate trough keyboard layouts" I saw before.
Could it be that using this command (what is equivalent on PC??) would give me the "next" list of keyboard choices?

IS THIS the point where I'm blocked since the begin?

No, this option is unrelated. When the box is checked, one can use a key-combo to rotate between the available keyboards. That can be usefull when one wants to switch between keyboards frequently without the need to open the control panel each time. It does not give you more keyboards layouts. Most will use only one keyboard and leave the box unchecked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 24 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group