Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:30 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 20 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:56 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
Some of the games i have require a double speed cd drive. How can I emulate it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:08 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
It's already done for the most part. When they say "2x CD-ROM drive or later needed" that's because a 1x CD-ROM drive would be too slow to feed the data fast enough. Not a problem with disc images :)

If you can't just load the disc image into BII as a virtual CD rom (due to copy protection etc), there's a virtual CD extension linked somewhere in the forums that you can load into your BII OS, and then mount the CD image internally. You can also use the image mounter from an old 68k compatible version of Toast.

All that said, any software that requires a CD drive would probably run better under SheepShaver with OS 9 than BII with 7.6.1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:59 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
adespoton wrote:
It's already done for the most part. When they say "2x CD-ROM drive or later needed" that's because a 1x CD-ROM drive would be too slow to feed the data fast enough. Not a problem with disc images :)

If you can't just load the disc image into BII as a virtual CD rom (due to copy protection etc), there's a virtual CD extension linked somewhere in the forums that you can load into your BII OS, and then mount the CD image internally. You can also use the image mounter from an old 68k compatible version of Toast.

All that said, any software that requires a CD drive would probably run better under SheepShaver with OS 9 than BII with 7.6.1.


I have put this as an iso and it still says the 2X cdrom requirement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
That means you'll need to mount it internally:
http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/she ... own_issues


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:01 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
I want to do this with basilisk2. Does the same guidelines apply?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:20 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
It should. It's possible that you want to be using SheepShaver for this however.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1010
Location: Germany
Just to confirm, yes http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/virtual ... cd-utility
worked in Basilisk II last time I tried. ;)

Which game do you want to run btw?
If it is on a hybrid Windows/Mac volume, virtual DVD will usually mount the Windows partition.
If it is a mixed mode CD with audio tracks, sound may be not working with emulators at all.
Except for these two, virtual DVD is a perfect workaround.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:17 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
I can't open the virtual cd imager program. I get a .sit download and then it won't open. What do I need to do?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:39 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
You need to open it inside BII using Stuffit Expander.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:15 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
What do I need to do exactly? I installed the stuff it expander yet it doesn't do anything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:04 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
Either drag the .sit file over the expander icon, or open Expander and do File...Open to select the .sit file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:58 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
All it does when I drag the file over the expander is create a folder with an icon that can't be opened. I tried opening the expander program and it won't open. What am I doing wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:05 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
Do you actually have Stuffit Expander installed? Icon looks like Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:16 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
Yes I installed it. I even reset afterwards and still nothing comes up when I click on the icon.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:30 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
Double clicking the icon should launch Expander. Maybe you have a PPC-only version and not the older version that works with 68k Macs?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:11 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
I double clicked it and it didn't open. I do have Stuffit expander 5.5. Is that the right version I'm using?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 7:46 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1753
5.5 is PPC only IIRC. You'll most likely need 3.1 or 2.6. I can't remember if there's a version of 4 that's fat.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:03 pm 
Online
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4799
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I have Stuffit Expander 5.5 working fine in BasiliskII, so it can't be PPC only.

Maybe the fact that Stuffit Expander does not have a window is confusing. When launched, you will see no window, only the menu bar changes. You can choose Expand... from the File menu and navigate to the file you want to expand.


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:12 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:53 pm
Posts: 9
I tried to open the cd virtual mounter image file and all it does is take me to the explanatory document.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:14 pm 
Online
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4799
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Which download did you use from Macintosh Garden? The smaller one (VirtualCD_Imager_v1.0d0.sit) contains a folder with the original Virtual CD/DVD-ROM Utility and a note that "This program is pretty self-explanatory", the larger one (virtualcd-imager-mod-img.sit) contains an .img disk image that contains a modified version of the Virtual CD/DVD-ROM Utility, as well as the Virtual CD Auto Typer application and a ReadMe-1st SimpleText document. If you do not see all files, you may need to open the window wider or scroll to see more of the window content.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 20 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group