Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:16 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:24 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 14
Cat_7 wrote:
Shivers is reported to run in BasiliskII, not in SheepShaver.

Best,
Cat_7


Trying to setup BasilliskII, but BasilliskIIGUI doesn't seem to open in Lion. What should I do?


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:52 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
BasiliskII, the 4 October 2009 build, will run in Lion (though not in full-screen mode). But you need a second application to set it up. That used to be BasiliskIIGUI.

BasiliskIIGUI does indeed not run in Lion, it is replaced by a new BasiliskIIGUI application for 10.6. and 10.7, created by "vasi". See first post in this sticky topic: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7100

In the same topic is a discussion about building a BasiliskII for Lion that would again run full-screen. In this topic is a link to a build, also by "vasi", that does that and has better performance. So best use that BasiliskII build: viewtopic.php?p=40593#p40593

(Note that at setup in the GUI, in the "JIT Compiler" tab all options must be checked and the translation cache set a little higher to 8192 KB for best performance.)


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:10 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 14
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
BasiliskII, the 4 October 2009 build, will run in Lion (though not in full-screen mode). But you need a second application to set it up. That used to be BasiliskIIGUI.

BasiliskIIGUI does indeed not run in Lion, it is replaced by a new BasiliskIIGUI application for 10.6. and 10.7, created by "vasi". See first post in this sticky topic: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7100

In the same topic is a discussion about building a BasiliskII for Lion that would again run full-screen. In this topic is a link to a build, also by "vasi", that does that and has better performance. So best use that BasiliskII build: viewtopic.php?p=40593#p40593

(Note that at setup in the GUI, in the "JIT Compiler" tab all options must be checked and the translation cache set a little higher to 8192 KB for best performance.)


Thanks. Everything is installed OK. But I have another problem. There is no Unix icon on my 'desktop'. So I can't see "those 19 files". What did I do wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
With some early System versions the Unix 'disk' does not appear. If you use the DiskTools_MacOS8.image as startup volume that should not be the problem. The most common cause for the Unix icon not appearing is not having entered the correct path to the shared folder in the GUI app. Unlike with SheepShaver, for BasiliskII it must be the full path.


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:01 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 14
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
With some early System versions the Unix 'disk' does not appear. If you use the DiskTools_MacOS8.image as startup volume that should not be the problem.


Yes, I use this one.

Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
The most common cause for the Unix icon not appearing is not having entered the correct path to the shared folder in the GUI app. Unlike with SheepShaver, for BasiliskII it must be the full path.


Thanks! The problem was in quotes in the path.

BTW I used the second (fullscreen) version of the GUI app and, unfortunately, Mac OS 7, The Shivers, everything went in black & white. Why so?


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:12 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 14
Ohh, I've just found out. The screen resolution should be set to 640x480 in the GUI app. Thanks anyway!


Top
 Profile  
Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group