Advice on OS Classic Emulation in Linux

Anything about Mac emulation that does not belong in the above categories.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

604e
Space Cadet

Advice on OS Classic Emulation in Linux

Post by 604e »

I'm currently using the first PC I have owned in years. I can't stand win7, so I decided to try Linux, something I've never done before. I'm in my early twenties and was brought up on Macs from System 6 to Mac OS 9, my first computer being a Performa 6320. Even though I feel comfortable using the GUI, I am completely alienated by the thought of using a command prompt. I look at the instructions for downloading SheepSaver and it just seems like another language I've never learnt.

I was wondering if someone would be able to give me further assistance, any help is much appreciated.
24bit
Forum All-Star

Post by 24bit »

Hi,
like you, I am a command line hater! I disliked shells since the Amiga days :-)
Luckily, modern GNU-Linux OS can be run absolutely without command line interfaces.
I have to admit though, that the CLI is the most powerful tool on GNU-Linux.

First, I would try whether your PC could boot the iBoot CD from tonymacx68.com .
If yes, you might succeed in installing Snow Leo. Some old ASRock and many newer
Gigabyte boards could be recommended for 10.6 and Apple´s software is only $29.
Tonymac has recommendations at his site.

If that is not an option, I would take a look at http://www.mandriva.com/en/downloads/free/
The Installer will usually set up a dual boot system with a bootloader for Windows and Mandriva,
as Windows is already on your HDD.
The Mandriva DVD is bootable, so you may take a look whether you like it, before installing.
Once installed with Windows on one HDD, it may be complicated to remove GNU-Linux again.
After installation, the emulators can be easily added to the system from Mandriva´s server.
No need for CLI here. The install is done with a nice GUI. There is a "Emulators" entry to select some.