Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:11 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:30 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:41 am
Posts: 7
Hi again, first of all, thank you so much to all those who helped me change the processing speed reported in Sheepshaver recently. The new build allowed my game to work and I am so happy.

I was trying to play a game (M&Ms: The Lost Formulas), which runs on Mac OS 9 but needed a 3D Accelerator card. I know that Sheepshaver does not do this. I tried the game and it gave me an error message saying the 3D accelerator could not be found. So, I am wondering if any other emulators are capable of playing this with the 3D accelerator, or is this not supported at all? I have read that it has to do with underlying system hardware, but my MacBook Pro should have this capability because I've played other 3D games on it.

The game also runs in Windows, so I've been trying to run it in Crossover, but my disc image only has the Mac-compatible installer (no .exe files). My host machine is a MacBook Pro with 10.11.6, El Capitan, Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Sorry for lack of knowledge, I am new.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:33 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2422
Location: Emaculation.com
I'd recommend the hybrid version from the Macintosh Garden run in WineSkin (Crossover's a bit dated).

There is some slow work being done on creating 3D accelerator emulation for QEMU, or at least accelerator passthrough, but there's no emulator that's currently got support.

That said, some OS 9 software was tied strongly to ATi Rage or Radeon cards, and later versions of OS 9 broke compatibility.

Thankfully, most software that required hardware acceleration under OS 9 either have a Windows version that runs with DirectX or have been re-written since then to work under OpenGL and OS X (or iOS).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:46 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:41 am
Posts: 7
Thank you so much, that info was very helpful. I found the hybrid image on mac garden and downloaded it, along with wineskin. The game installed completely, but then gave me an error saying "Insert game disc" when I chose to play it. I tried it on Crossover with the same error. I feel like there must be some way around this. Do you know if there is any way to connect the hybrid iso image with the wineskin wrapper so it recognizes it as a disc? Or, do you know of any alternative method I could try?

I noticed in winecfg that there is a tab for "Drives," where it lists my computer's drives. Do you think I should try mounting the disk image on my computer and then linking it as a drive??

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:08 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2422
Location: Emaculation.com
Yeah; I think for Crossover and Wineskin, mounting the disc on the host would be the way to go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:38 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Germany
You might try the usual virtualisation engines too, but thats needs a full OS running.
Virtual Box 6 has some kind of "hardware acceleration", VMWare Fusion offers DirectX 9 / 10 for some time longer even.
Either way, these features are executed on your CPU - keep an eye on the core temps.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:13 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2422
Location: Emaculation.com
I've been playing around a bit with VBox 6; be careful of the SVGA device in the Graphics Controller dropdown; it tends to do funky things with many guest operating systems; I've had it bail with Windows 7, Windows 10, OS X 10.4 Server and OS X 10.6 Server so far.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:23 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:41 am
Posts: 7
Thank you all for the help. I have never done a virtual machine before, so I may look into that. I’ve tried mounting the hybrid disk image on my host machine, it gets listed as a drive in wineskin and crossover and I put the type as CD rom, but I still get the Insert Disc error; however, I think I know why. The hybrid disk image i downloaded had only mac-compatible files until i used The Unarchiver on it, which then turned it into Windows executables. However, it then became a folder, so I couldn’t mount it as a drive. I am going to try using my disk utility on my mac to make a .cdr image from the folder, and see if that retains the .exes. If that works, I’ll try mounting it and listing it in Wineskin and then running the game. If that fails, I may try the virtual machine. Thank you again for all your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group