Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:58 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Network Help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:29 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:58 am
Posts: 11
Hello all, I'm trying to get online using SheepShaver. I have "slirp" entered in the prefs, and have entered these in the TCIP/IP control panel:

IP Address: 10.0.2.15
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Router address: 10.0.2.2
Name-server address: 10.0.2.3

However, it still won't work. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in Advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Network Help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:57 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2685
Location: Emaculation.com
If you're using SLiRP, TCP/IP should be using DHCP.

If you want to assign a manual address for some reason, you can use the values you provided, but I'd change the Name-Server address to 1.1.1.1.

Is your problem that you can't resolve domains, or that you can't access IP addresses?

If you use those settings and point a web browser at 216.58.204.46, do you get the Google search page?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Network Help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:00 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1305
Location: Germany
Internet is working on my side with Classila.
SheepShaver 2.5, slirp, MacOS 8.6 on macOS Mojave.

TCP/IP is set to "Ethernet" and "DHCP Server" in the two pulldown menus in the upper part of the control panel. Usually you donĀ“t need to specify a fixed IP or anything, but you may do that of course.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Network Help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:42 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:58 am
Posts: 11
Thank you for the replies everyone. Whenever I open up IE it just says "Security failure. The server reply is invalid" If I'm using DHCP, what should I enter in the "DHCP Client ID"?.

Thank you,
CamSox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Network Help
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:07 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2685
Location: Emaculation.com
Ah; don't use IE; it's crashy (it was on real hardware too). Use Classilla.

But even then, you'll possibly get the same error: that error is due to the fact that the web site IE is attempting to access uses an encryption token IE doesn't recognize. I don't think Classilla does either.

This is because modern web servers use a version of TLS encryption that didn't exist back then. You'll have no issues connecting to http sites that don't auto-redirect you to https sites.

As for DHCP, you leave the client ID blank. All you should need to do is select "Use DHCP" and the rest is automatic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: Network Help
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:25 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:58 am
Posts: 11
It works! Thank you so much


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group