Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:46 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 2:26 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 12:10 am
Posts: 3
I have SS set up on my Mac Pro 2012 running High Sierra. I have SS set to open at 1024x768, cause I have a nice big screen and might as well use the real estate? The problem is when I start some apps like Diablo, it shrinks the window back down to the default, and it's really small. Is there a way to make the apps open in the same size window? I'm not sure if this is a SS setting or a MacOS 9 setting.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 3:52 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2602
Location: Emaculation.com
This would actually be a High Sierra/SheepShaver setting: old games only displayed at a fixed resolution. To get it bigger on your screen, you need to lower the SheepShaver resolution (likely to 800x600) and then display it full screen on your host. You'll probably want to enable integer scaling to make it work, with scale_integer true
scale_nearest true


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 9:04 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 12:10 am
Posts: 3
I was afraid of that :( I was hoping to use SS to stream old Mac games on Twitch, but going fullscreen does weird things to OBS (I tend to lose the me-cam and it mucks with the stream size.)

Back to the drawing board!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 9:56 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2602
Location: Emaculation.com
Why not just use the macOS magnification feature to do 800x600 at x2 resolution? Or does Twitch automatically downsample that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 12:27 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 12:10 am
Posts: 3
That was it! It looks good, now having sound issues, should I create a separate thread for that? (SS won't output to the headphones, but everything else on the Pro is going out to the 'phones.)

OBS isn't grabbing sound from the virtual machine, but I think that's an OBS problem I have to solve.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:07 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5420
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Did you enable sound in SheepShaver?
From the setup manual:
Quote:
Enable sound in SheepShaver
In "Sound" control panel, select "built-in" for the output device. In Mac OS 8.5/8.6, and sometimes in 8.1, the Sound control panel is installed in the "Apple Extras" folder. You can use it there to select the built-in output device. In Mac OS 9 the Sound control panel is again installed with the other control panels and can be accessed in the Apple menu. If the "Apple Audio Extension" happens to be installed in the Extensions folder, remove it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 5:49 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2602
Location: Emaculation.com
If you're still having sound problems, try installing SoundFlower, and route all the sound through that. OBS shouldn't have any problem getting a feed from SoundFlower, and I know SheepShaver can output to it, because that's how I do my recordings :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group