Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:07 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 44 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:52 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
On my 2019 iMac I see the following, repeating frequently until I force quit SheepShaver:

1456/0x193a87: psynch_cvwait(0x7FE617C10AC8, 0x3640100036500, 0x36400) = 0 0
1456/0x193a55: workq_kernreturn(0x20, 0x0, 0x1) = 0 0
1456/0x193a54: workq_kernreturn(0x40, 0x70000D63AB80, 0x1) = 0 Err#-2


While this is happening, I look in Activity Monitor under CPU it sits on about 300%.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:46 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:22 am
Posts: 8
Location: Indiana, United States of America
There was discussion about this possibly being related to NVIDIA GPUs. My MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports) and Mac mini (Late 2012) have Intel integrated graphics, Intel Iris Graphics 550 and Intel HD Graphics 4000, respectively.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:27 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
I no longer think it is related specifically to the type of graphics card. This is based on the testing I conducted on my 2013 and 2019 iMacs, one being Nvidia and the other AMD. Your tests now show it occurs on Intel graphics as well. It is also not tied to whether it is a desktop or laptop, as it is manifesting itself on iMacs, MacBooks and a Mac Mini. Lastly, it happens in both Mojave and Catalina.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:37 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
So it happens on a variety of Mac models, but it does not happen on all Macs. I never saw this happen on my iMac and apparently it does not happen on emendelson's Mac. So what makes it happen on some Macs and not on other Macs? And what makes it happen on all three of your (almeath) Macs?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 5:06 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
So what makes it happen on some Macs and not on other Macs? And what makes it happen on all three of your (almeath) Macs?


Perplexing. :???:

I have posted an issue in kanjitalk755's Github repository.

At least I am not the only one out there experiencing this issue. If we can gather more feedback from others users perhaps we can narrow it down further.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 6:38 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2719
Location: Emaculation.com
Mojave introduced some changes in how the display is composited; Is there a difference here between Retina and non-Retina displays?

Also, does adding

Code:
scale_integer true
scale_nearest true


in preferences make any difference?

How about:

Code:
cpuclock 200


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:48 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
We already established about this issue with launching in full screen mode:
- that it happens on both Retina and non-Retina displays
- that on some machines it never happens
- that on the machines where it happens it sometimes does not happen
- that launching SheepShaver in window mode and then using control-return to switch to full screen mode always works correctly


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 11:11 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:22 am
Posts: 8
Location: Indiana, United States of America
I'm using the self-contained virtual machine setup. How about everyone else experiencing this symptom?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:28 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 1092
fahlman wrote:
I'm using the self-contained virtual machine setup. How about everyone else experiencing this symptom?


If you're referring to the SheepShaver Wrapper, that was briefly updated with SDL2 2.0.10, but the current download again uses SDL2 2.0.9. There's probably no easy way to know which version is the build that you're using.

Of course if you're NOT talking about the SheepShaver Wrapper, then ignore this message!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:53 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:22 am
Posts: 8
Location: Indiana, United States of America
I'm talking about this –> https://emaculation.com/doku.php/sheeps ... l_machines


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:28 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
fahlman wrote:


I get the problem with both my own virtual machines, and also emendelson's wrapper. I decided to test with the wrapper because I wanted to make sure I did not have a problem with my own files, perhaps a corrupt install or ROM etc.


Last edited by almeath on Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:43 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
adespoton wrote:
How about:

Code:
cpuclock 200


That did not seem to do anything. What does this specifically do, and what number ranges could I try?

When SheepShaver freezes and pinwheels, this is all I see in Activity Monitor:

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:14 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
almeath wrote:
adespoton wrote:
How about:
Code:
cpuclock 200

That did not seem to do anything. What does this specifically do, and what number ranges could I try?

It does indeed not do anything to the emulator. It just changes the reported figure. From the setup manual:

Quote:
• Changing reported CPU speed (16 January 2019 and later builds)
SheepShaver identifies itself as a 100MHz machine to software running on it. Although the reported 100MHz is unrelated to the actual speed, some software may show a message that it will not run because it needs a faster machine. The reported CPU speed can be changed by adding a cpuclock item to the preferences file:
Code:
cpuclock 200
This line wil make SheepShaver identify itself as a 200MHz machine.
Note: This setting does not change the actual speed!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:31 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
fahlman wrote:
I'm using the self-contained virtual machine setup. How about everyone else experiencing this symptom?

I use both a classic SheepShaver setup and a variety of .sheepvm virtual machines with different MacOS installations and different prefs settings. I have not experienced the issue with any of these setups. Tried them all with dga settings to make them launch full screen. This is on Mojave 10.14.6 that is reported earlier in this thread to show the issue.
(As always, I will not upgrade to a new macOS version until at least 6 months after its release.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:06 am 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
So I just gave up for now and decided to design a work-around.

I set my window preference to "win" instead of "dga". Then I created a bash script with the following AppleScript commands:

osascript -e 'tell application "/Applications/SheepShaver.app" to activate'
osascript -e 'tell application "System Events" to keystroke return using control down'


When I launch that script, the switch to fullscreen happens so fast that it is essentially indistinguishable from launching the SheepShaver app directly.

This entirely avoids the freezing problem on all my iMacs.

Treating the symptom rather than the cause, but at least it works. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 10:34 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:58 am
Posts: 12
Hello all, I am currently experiencing an issue very similar, except in my case it freezes every time (I am on 10.15.1). I saw that a possible solution to this problem was to run it in windowed mode, but I can't seem to access that from the Menu Bar and the ctrl-enter command isn't working. How can I change it to windowed mode in the .sheepshaver_prefs file?

Thanks,
CamSox


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
Edited topic title and merged topics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:02 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You can edit the prefs file in a text editor.

- In the Finder, open your Home folder.
- Then press command-shift-. (command-shift-period). Hidden files will become visible, among which .sheepshaver_prefs
- Double click that file. It will open in TextEdit
- find the line that will look like this:
Code:
screen dga/1280/800
- Change dga to win:
Code:
screen win/1280/800
- Close the file and save the changes.
- Press again command-shift-. to make hidden files invisible again.


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Edited topic title and merged topics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 9:35 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: Australia
I highly encourage anyone experiencing these full screen freeze ups in Mojave and Catalina to report it on these forums and provide information on what Mac hardware you are using.

I am trying to determine an underlying common factor which results in it (seemingly) only affecting certain machines and configurations.

Unfortunately, no one with any knowledge on programming/building SheepShaver seems to be affected .. so far.


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Edited topic title and merged topics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:57 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5617
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I merged the two topics about this subject, changed the topic title, and made the topic 'sticky' in order to have it appear always among the top topics in the SheepShaver forum.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 44 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group