Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:12 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:28 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:16 pm
Posts: 3
A program i want to download requires quicktime to run, however when i try to run quicktime after installation i get this message:

Image

When i click "update" i get this message

Image

I've tried using the Quicktime updater in the quicktime folder and though it say's it successfully updated, i still get the same messgaes when trying to open it.

I know Sheepshaver only runs up to quicktime 4, which is the version im trying to run.

I'm not sure how to fix this. sorry i am very new


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:21 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5856
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Remember that you are working with old software. "Updating" will not work, those functions may refer to servers that have long ceased to exist.

The latest version of QuickTime that is compatible with SheepShaver is version 4.1.2. Note that it is not possible to downgrade QuickTime by simply installing an earlier version. If you happened to have installed a later version, you will need to remove all QuickTime related files first, specifically files in the Extensions and Control Panels folders in the System folder.

QuickTime 4.1.2 can be downloaded here: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/quicktime-4


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:24 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:16 pm
Posts: 3
I deleted all quicktime files and re-installed 4.1.2 but i'm still getting an error message whenever i try to run the program
Image

thanks so much for your help :smile:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:49 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5856
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Did you restart the emulated machine (or quit and relaunch SheepShaver) after QT installation? The newly installed QT files in the System folder will be loaded at startup.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:22 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:16 pm
Posts: 3
turns out i made a mistake really early in the setup & when i fixed it i was finally able to get everything to install and run just fine
thanks so very much for your time and help :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group