How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShaver?

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Post Reply
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShaver?

Post by martinLA »

Hi guys, could you tell me how to set up the internet connection under SheepShaver? I have installed MacOS 9 in the most recent version of SheepShaver under macOS Catalina 10.15.4.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

In preferences, set Ethernet interface to slirp (as instructed in the setup manual).

In OS9, set the TCP/IP control panel to Ethernet and DHCP (as instructed in the setup manual).
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by martinLA »

Yes I did the same settings, but under the IE5 of OS9, it always says
"Security failure. The server reply is invalid."

And under the TCP/IP setting, what DHCP Client ID should be input?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

IE in OS9 is old and will not work with most current websites.

Try Classilla, it is a more modern browser, specifically for OS9: https://www.floodgap.com/software/classilla/

If slirp networking is enabled at setup and if TCP/IP is set to Ethernet and DHCP server, the slirp network addresses will be obtained automatically as soon as you try IP network access (for instance with a browser):

IP Address: 10.0.2.15
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Router address: 10.0.2.2
Name-server address: 10.0.2.3

The Client ID field can be left empty.
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by martinLA »

Thank you Ronald for your reply.

However, when I try to open Classilla, it says "There is not enough memory to open Classilla (zero K needed, 1,013,760K available)". In the virtual machine settings of SS, I allocate 1,024M RAM for OS 9. It cannot access this size of memory?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Probably either you tried to run the app from the Unix disk, or you tried to run it from the desktop after moving it directly from Unix to the desktop. The application will not run that way. The message is misleading, it has nothing to do with memory.

Read about how to use of the Unix disk / shared folder feature in our setup manual: https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sh ... _unix_disk
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by martinLA »

Thank you so much Ronald. I did the real copy of Classilla to the OS 9 volume, and it all works fine.
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by martinLA »

Hi Ronald, one more question please.

Is there any way to have two copies of Sheepshaver folder working, one with classic ROM and the other with new ROM, so that I can switch between System 7 and OS 9 without replacing the ROM and Hard drive image file each time?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

You can set up .sheepvm virtual machines, each with its own setup. See the setup manual here: https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sh ... l_machines
User avatar
24bit
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1409
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by 24bit »

There is nothing wrong with sheepVM, but why not use the 4MB OldWorldROM all the time?
The OldWorldROM does boot images made with NewWorld, you may also use the Start Volume Control Panel
to switch from say, 8.6 to 7.5.3 - at least thats what I am doing all the time.
My host OS is Mojave, other hosts may behave different.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Yes, the oldworld rom can be used with all System/MacOS versions that can run in SheepShaver.

The Startup Disk control panel will only work when the emulated machine is subsequently restarted. When SheepShaver is launched again it will always start up from the topmost bootable volume, regardless the choice made in the control panel.

(I did not try to use the Startup Disk control panel in years because it would crash SheepShaver in OSX. Not anymore, apparently.)
martinLA
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShave

Post by martinLA »

Thank you very much Ronald. The .sheepvm solution works perfectly.
NLEZE0
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:32 am

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShaver?

Post by NLEZE0 »

Hi,

I have set-up SheepShaver with Mac OS 8.6 and configured 'slirp' as the Ethernet Interface in the SheepShaver preferences.
However, when I select to configure TCP/IP under Mac OS 8.6, the system immediately crashes.
I'm running SheepShaver 2.5 under Mac Catalina 10.15.7.

What do I need to do to get Internet to work properly under SheetShaver?

Thanks
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6345
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShaver?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Does SheepShaver crash when you open the TCP/IP control panel? That is unusual. In the other thread you mentioned that you deleted the prefs file, so you needed to setup SheepShaver again. Did you follow the setup guide? Specifically, did you make sure to enable "Ignore Illegal Memory Accesses"?
NLEZE0
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:32 am

Re: How do I set up the Internet connection under SheepShaver?

Post by NLEZE0 »

Ah, I did not disabled the memory access. Did that now and indeed, it works!!!
Thanks again for your help.
Post Reply