No Folder?

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Post Reply
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

I am on on mac OSX El Capitan (it's the max OS my MacBook can run), and whenever I download sheepshaver, the folder does not come up. I have tried downloading it many times and mltiple different places. Any tips of hot to fix?
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6317
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: No Folder?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

For El Capitan you will download the 4 May 2019 build. There is no folder in that download.
Read the information below the 4 May 2019 build download link. You will see a separate download link for the SheepShaver folder.
On your Mac, move the SheepShaver application into the SheepShaver folder.
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

that worked for a little while, but then stopped again. here is a video https://youtu.be/XpmvPF-oGP0
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6317
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: No Folder?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

I can think of two different reasons why it will not work, but in both cases it would have never worked. You say that it did work. Could you actually launch SheepShaver and see the grey window with blinking question mark?
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

no, i still can’t. i us3d to be able to actually get into mac os 9. but, i then tried to download a game. it said there was not enough storage, so i created another drive, with more storage. but, that just froze sheepshaver, and when i force quit and tried to go back in, it didn’t work, like shown in the video.
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6317
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: No Folder?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Show us here the content of your prefs file:

Launch Terminal (in /Application/Utilities/) and type at the prompt

Code: Select all

open ~/.sheepshaver_prefs
followed by a return.
The file will open in your default text editor. Select all content and copy and paste it here in your reply.
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

here is my prefs file

(i also deleted the original of all sheepshaver applications and installed brand new of all the folders and roms i need, still no luck. anyway, here is the terminal with the command typed in)

https://photos.google.com/photo/AF1QipP ... AfcPpFzV2-
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6317
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: No Folder?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

Please do what I asked, copy the content of your prefs file and paste it here in your reply. No pictures or movies.
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

disk Mac OS 9.hfv
cdrom /dev/poll/cdrom
extfs /
screen win/1440/900
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala
serialb /dev/null
rom
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 2097152000
frameskip 0
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
hardcursor false
hotkey 0
scale_nearest false
scale_integer false
cpuclock 0
yearofs 0
dayofs 0
ether
keycodes false
keycodefile
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true
User avatar
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User
Posts: 6317
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: No Folder?

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

You set the RAM size to 2GB. That is way too much for SheepShaver. 500MB is more than you will probably ever need in SheepShaver.

Edit the prefs file in TextEdit:

change

Code: Select all

ramsize 2097152000
to

Code: Select all

ramsize 536870912
CIvilKink35
Space Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Re: No Folder?

Post by CIvilKink35 »

thanks, that worked! your awesome
Post Reply