help with sheepshaver for windows

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Post Reply
n2zstik
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:34 am

help with sheepshaver for windows

Post by n2zstik »

Hi..I keep getting this error message : Cannot map Low Memory Globals : Bad file descriptor

My config is as follows:
extfs c:\
rom c:\sheepshaver\rom.rom
cdrom f:\
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
bootdrive 1
bootdriver 0
ramsize 16777216
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
ignoresegv true
idlewait true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs false
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true

I'm trying to install OS8.5. May I know what's wrong?
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

Marc and yyyc186 have reported the same problem in this thread: http://www.emaculation.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=2368

Perhaps one of you will stumble upon the answer. :wink:

Gwenole mentioned low memory globals in his instructions for would-be porters of SheepShaver to Windows via Cygwin: http://forums.delphiforums.com/MacEmula ... sg=5001.46

My first guess would be to raise your alloted RAM from 16 MB to at least 24 MB if you want to install Mac OS 8.5 (unfortunately, I don't own anything currently between OS 8.1 and 9.0.4 to test this out). Try changing some of your prefs around, maybe look at my prefs posted below which is capable of booting up to the (buggy) desktop using the Mac OS 9.0.4 CD.

No one is probably an expert at this yet besides Gwenole. We are blindfolded in a large room full of chairs and with other people all trying to fumble our way outside. After much hard work, Gwenole is the only one not blindfolded and he (pretty much) knows the way. :lol:

Perhaps once he gets some bugs worked out and we figure out how to get things going, some of us could "donate" to him to show our graditude for developing a Windows port and to reward him for his patience to help us? :!:

extfs
disk 904.HFV
cdrom r:\
rom ROM
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala FILE
serialb FILE
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 33554432
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui true
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
idlewait true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs false
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true
n2zstik
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:34 am

Post by n2zstik »

i still have the problem..is it a the rom image file prob? :?
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5103
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Post by Cat_7 »

Hello,

the rom image I was successfull with is the one from " mac os rom update 1.0" from apple. it's version 1.6.

Furthermore you could try to change the next line in your config file:

enableextfs true

Best wishes

Cat_7
n2zstik
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:34 am

Post by n2zstik »

the error message disappeared but when i double-click the sheepshaver.exe nothing happen..sigh :(
gb
Real Swell Guy!
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 4:20 am

Post by gb »

People have reported to have it working provided they build their own version of SDL (simply at ./configure && make). I haven't checked why yet.
robotintestines
Tinkerer
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 4:16 am

Post by robotintestines »

I am getting the same error.

A Google search for the error brought up one result, which is code from Basilisk:

Code: Select all

// Try to allocate all memory from 0x0000, if it is not known to crash
	if (can_map_all_memory && (vm_acquire_fixed(0, RAMSize + ROMSize + TTRAMSize) == 0)) {
		D(bug("Could allocate RAM and ROM from 0x0000"));
		memory_mapped_from_zero = true;
	}
	
	// Otherwise, just create the Low Memory area (0x0000..0x2000)
	else if (vm_acquire_fixed(0, 0x2000) == 0) {
		D(bug("Could allocate the Low Memory globals"));
		lm_area_mapped = true;
	}
	
	// Exit on failure
	else {
		ErrorAlert("Cannot map Low Memory Globals.\n");
		QuitEmulator();
	}
provided they build their own version of SDL (simply at ./configure && make)
I'm not sure what this means, so I downloaded the SDL source and compiled the SDL.dll in VC++. I placed this dll into my SheepShaver folder, but I still get the "Low Memory globals" error.
Jack Hair
Student Driver
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Nuth - Netherlands

Post by Jack Hair »

I got the mem error too, but i solved it by using the SDL.DLL i compiled on cygwin (/usr/local/bin/SDL.DLL)

After installing MacOS 8.5 from iso image, im trying to use some Mac cd's i got, but every time i insert a cd i get the message the filesystem is not supported and MacOS wants to initialize the disk. Ive tried booting SheepShaver with the cd already in the drive, but that didnt work either.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5103
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Post by Cat_7 »

Jack Hair,

How did you create an empty hd to install the OS on?

EDIT: forget this question, HFV-Explorer does the trick....

Cat_7
n2zstik
Space Cadet
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:34 am

Post by n2zstik »

:D Problem solved! I did the same thing as Jack Hair i.e. I compiled the SDL.dll file using cygwin. Thanks!
trexplorer
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by trexplorer »

Could someone post a copy of the SDL.dll file as compiled ... Thanks.
User avatar
PPC_Digger
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1053
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:02 am
Location: Israel

Post by PPC_Digger »

trexplorer wrote:Could someone post a copy of the SDL.dll file as compiled ... Thanks.
Here it is.
Hope it helps.
trexplorer
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by trexplorer »

PPC_Digger wrote:
trexplorer wrote:Could someone post a copy of the SDL.dll file as compiled ... Thanks.
Here it is.
Hope it helps.
Thanks for the SDL file, Boots fine - works great ....

Anyone know if:

1) Screen resolution be changed to greater than 800x600 ?
2) Anyway to get "My Computer" on Mac desktop (like B2) ?

Cheers

(p.s. can get better GUI response aan animation if frameskip is set to 0)
Post Reply