SheepShaver Windows Executable

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

SheepShaver Windows Executable

Post by Stephen Coates »

Are there any Pre-compiled versions of SheepShaver for Windows?
I have absolutey no idea how to compile things, so unless someone makes a VERY simple illustrated guide to compiling it, then compiling it is definatly something I won't be doing.

Does this programme work on MS-DOS based versions of Windows, or only on NT?
trygvebw
Granny Smith
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Norway

Post by trygvebw »

Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Stephen Coates »

It says I need a .dll called SDL.DLL. How can I get this file? The only file that Stuffit Expander extracted was 'sheepshaver.exe'

Thanks
Stephen
TheBigB
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 3:25 pm
Location: the macintosh states of apple
Contact:

Post by TheBigB »

download pearpc sdl from richard goodwin's site. it includes sdl.dll.
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

you can get just the dll here
trygvebw
Granny Smith
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Norway

Post by trygvebw »

kryten2000
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:17 pm

Post by kryten2000 »

Ok I have the executable and the dll file but where exactly do I need to place the .dll file to get sheep saver to run?
trygvebw
Granny Smith
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Norway

Post by trygvebw »

In the same directory as the SheepShaver executable.
kryten2000
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:17 pm

Post by kryten2000 »

so I made a folder on my c drive called sheepsaver. I then put both the executable and the .dll file into that folder yet when i run sheepsaver I still get that error message, any ideas?
kryten2000
Space Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:17 pm

Post by kryten2000 »

ok got that figured out but now I'm getting this error
can not load low memory globals bad file descriptor
trygvebw
Granny Smith
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Norway

Post by trygvebw »

kryten2000 wrote:ok got that figured out but now I'm getting this error
can not load low memory globals bad file descriptor
There is a lot of threads about that error,
liquex
Student Driver
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:05 am

Post by liquex »

There is a lot of threads about that error,
i've searched on google and i have received only one site and it is in japanese. unfortunately my education is lacking and i haven't learned japanese just yet, so can you please point me in the direction of a thread?

(no i'm not being lazy, i've searched for a good 20 minutes on this forum and google, no worthy hits)
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

These two threads mention the "low memory globals" problem:

http://www.emaculation.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=2368

http://www.emaculation.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=2390

The error might be caused by using a SDL.dll that hasn't been created using Cygwin.
Marc
Master Emulator
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:14 pm

Post by Marc »

Could you poost your 'working' SDL.DLL file for those of us who get this error to try?
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

trexplorer
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by trexplorer »

Mac Emu wrote:PPC_Digger posted it here: http://www.geocities.com/superdiggerus/sdl.dll.zip
Thanks for the SDL file, Boots fine - works great ....

Anyone know if:

1) Screen resolution be changed to greater than 800x600 ?
2) Anyway to get "My Computer" on Mac desktop (like B2) ?

Cheers
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

1. Change windowmodes 3 to windowmodes 4.

2. I don't know.
trexplorer
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by trexplorer »

Mac Emu wrote:1. Change windowmodes 3 to windowmodes 4.

2. I don't know.
Thanks Jim - It works, (but need to change colour in control panel).

Tony
trexplorer
Tinkerer
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by trexplorer »

trexplorer wrote:
Mac Emu wrote:1. Change windowmodes 3 to windowmodes 4.

2. I don't know.
Thanks Jim - It works, (but need to change colour in control panel).

Tony
windowmodes 7 provides several screen modes that can be set in the Mac control panel.

Also found that frameskip 0 results in smoother graphics/GUI
robotintestines
Tinkerer
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 4:16 am

Post by robotintestines »

I've tried PPC_Digger's sdl.dll, but I still get the memory error.

I've downloaded and intalled cygwin, and I have the SDL source, but I have no idea how to compile sdl with cygwin.

Does anyone have any pointers?
Jack Hair
Student Driver
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Nuth - Netherlands

Post by Jack Hair »

robotintestines wrote:I've tried PPC_Digger's sdl.dll, but I still get the memory error.

I've downloaded and intalled cygwin, and I have the SDL source, but I have no idea how to compile sdl with cygwin.

Does anyone have any pointers?
Taken from the BasiliskII for windows thread:
Cat_7 wrote:How to install SDL in Cygwin:

Step 1. Run the Cygwin setup program, install the default packages and
the development packages (adding any extras you want, like vim).
Step 2. Run the Cygwin shell. Further instructions assume you're in this shell.
Step 3. Extract the SDL source into a directory and run:
./configure && make && make install
Step 4. When you're ready to build SDL applications, copy SDL.dll from
/usr/local/lib to whereever your SDL application source resides.

From: http://libsdl.org/extras/win32/cygwin/README.txt

Cat_7
robotintestines
Tinkerer
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 4:16 am

Post by robotintestines »

Thank you Jack Hair, that was very helpful.

I was able to successfully build SDL, (my sdl dll ended up being 3 megs), but I still get the memory error when I place it in my SheepShaver directory, and run SheepShaver :)

EDIT: Yay! Gwenole has uploaded a new binary that works with the standard sdl.dll! Thank you!
prasys
Forum All-Star
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Location: MY
Contact:

Post by prasys »

Thanks for the tips ....My god , Sheepsaver rules

Now OSX with Pear

Sheepsaver with Classic
michelmichelon
Space Cadet
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:53 pm
Location: Brasil

One problem!!!

Post by michelmichelon »

Hello, when I click in sheepshaver icon, one error ocurre:
Cannot map first Kernel Data Area: 487.
What is this? Is because I'm using a WIN98SE? The dll is corrupted? Please helpme!!! :evil:
Post Reply