Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue May 26, 2020 11:39 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 49 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:34 am 
Offline
Real Swell Guy!

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 4:20 am
Posts: 116
If you are using Win98, that means the check for Windows >= NT4 failed. SheepShaver for Windows will only run on NT4+ kernels. Preferably Windows XP, since I don't have other OSes handy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:23 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Posts: 1217
Location: Ouraion
BTW: Gwenole has also said that SheepShaver requires a P6 family processor or higher due to needing CMOV instructions. So no Mac OS 8.5+ on a Pentium. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: SheepShaver Executable
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 7:39 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:53 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Brasil
Hello,

tank you... I can install WinXP in my computer...

Michel... 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:31 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 7:45 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks to GB for this update. I could never get SheepShaver to run under colinux even though I successfully learned how to compile it correctly. Learning to do that right is a daunting task for a Linux noob such as myself.

This new windows version runs, though it's highly unstable. I find myself having to count to 3 before clicking again. Any faster clicking and it can crash.

I know this is only the second build, but so far, it's great.

I want to ask.

Is there hope for improvement from GB? Or is the improvement based upon other parties developement?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:07 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Posts: 872
Location: UK
So why doesn't it work in Windows 4?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 12:30 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:45 pm
Posts: 21
Hey, will the Windows Exe support MacOS 8 like.. the Linux Exe do. ?

/M


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:29 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:14 pm
Posts: 360
It supports Mac OS 8.5 through to 9.04, I understand


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:16 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:45 pm
Posts: 21
Marc wrote:
It supports Mac OS 8.5 through to 9.04, I understand


To bad, cose i only got 8.0 .. and it works perfektly in Linux.. :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:56 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
well you dont need sheepshaver to run 8.0 just use basillisk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 9:02 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:49 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Woodway, Texas, USA
Marc wrote:
It supports Mac OS 8.5 through to 9.04, I understand
No! You can run 7.5 on it... Any MacOS PPC compatible will run except OSX and 9.2.2, 9.2.1, 9.1. I am Installing 7.5.3 w/o JIT (sloooow..... but very stable) I will tell you how it goes.

>Neospy 8)

EDIT: Sorry, 7.5.3 does the happy mac and the "Welcome to Macintosh". What's the problem???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:21 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:14 pm
Posts: 360
I think it is just a bug with the Windows version

Hopefully gb will sort it out soon enough :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: No Boot
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 3:11 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
Hi there

Am new to this forum, a merry Christmas to all first!! :D I have been trying real hard to make SheepShaver work in Windows but zilch! I got the executable, then i saved my PowerMac 7300 rom and transferred it to Windows (4MB), the darn thing was not good.. I then followed the procedure to extract the rom from the 8.5 CD. That went OK. I got no error messages, i got all Mac OS'es from 7.5.3 upwards, i tried them all, i even compared my prefs file to other people's from this forum, i even tried booting with Yellow Dog, plus tried even the BeOS... No results. I first thought it would take some time to boot. But waiting more than 4 hours, is more than enough. I only get a black window, no errors, no smiling Aaron, no nothing. It isn't a matter of horsepower if you suspect that. (P4 @ 2.8 512 MB RAM) Anyclue as to what goes on? The machine isn't frozen. It just sits like waiting for something. I even tried a pre-formatted .hfv image from my Basilisk setup just in case it would boot, but no result.. :cry:
Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:45 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 85
Location: Utah, USA
If I read the forum correctly, SheepShaver for Windows only supports new world roms. GB has removed support for the Old World ones. This means that you can only use Mac OS 8.5-9.0.2 with SheepShaver. However under the linux side it seems that old world roms are still supported


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: no boot continues...
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:29 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
Well, maybe i'm not getting this clear to you: as i said, my PM 7300 rom did not work, thus, i used the one from the 8.5 CD as described in the guide. That didn't give me any errors. And as i stated, i tried all the OS'es i got 7.5.3 upwards, which means i also tried 7.5.5, 8.0, 8.1, 9.0, and so forth, even up to 10.3 Does this cover my attempts? All i'm saying, is why don't i get even a start-up image, say just the smiley Aaron, to let me know something's being read from the CDs.. My Oses are original, the CD-ROM drive seems to be reading something at the start, but the SheepShaver window remains black.. Any idea?
Thanks once again,

Sally


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:39 pm 
Offline
Mac Mechanic
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:49 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Woodway, Texas, USA
I have a question. Why does 9.1 not work?? i mean it works on my PowerMac 5500/250 which is OldWorld. The It installs and doesn't boot and the cd says "This startup disk will not work on this macintosh model"

Why do I only have 8.5, 8, 9.1, 10.2, 10.3!!! I wish I had 9.0.....

>Neospy 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:12 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4886
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
@sal54:

The rom off the 8.5 cd doesn't work in windows. You need the Mac OS Rom file from the rom update from the apple site to get your video correct.

Best wishes

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: boot problem
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 7:35 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks for the detail Cat,
I'll get the update bin, and if it works i'll let you know. Hope that's all thats left to it...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 6:23 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:33 am
Posts: 78
Location: London, ON.
Cat_7 wrote:
@sal54:

The rom off the 8.5 cd doesn't work in windows. You need the Mac OS Rom file from the rom update from the apple site to get your video correct.

Best wishes

Cat_7
Does the ROM For MoL work? That's the one I'm using. :?
EDIT: I mean does it work for other people, because it doesn't for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 7:46 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
yes from what i heard its working


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 3:11 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
It finally was the ROM version. As Cat said, the one from the Apple site was the one that worked in Windows..
That said, i easily installed the 8.5 OS, which took about 10 minutes to finish, and off i went. I now seem to have another problem. For the first couple of times, the emulator worked fine. Now, if i don't turn the extensions off at startup, i get to a point where i get a Visual C++ Runtime Error and the emulator quits :cry: Any idea?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 3:43 am 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
sal54 wrote:
It finally was the ROM version. As Cat said, the one from the Apple site was the one that worked in Windows..
That said, i easily installed the 8.5 OS, which took about 10 minutes to finish, and off i went. I now seem to have another problem. For the first couple of times, the emulator worked fine. Now, if i don't turn the extensions off at startup, i get to a point where i get a Visual C++ Runtime Error and the emulator quits :cry: Any idea?


post your current config:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:52 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
H, what is it exactly you mean by current config? Would you mean the prefs file, or the hardware setup of my PC?
if prefs is what you want, here goes:
extfs
disk Boot.hfv
rom Mac OS.rom
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala FILE
serialb FILE
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 65554432
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet true
nosound false
nogui true
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
jit false
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
idlewait true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs false
debugextfs false
cdrom g:\
ignoresegv true
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true

if hardware is what you mean, it's a P4 @ 2.8Ghz with 512 RAM, the hard disk is a 500 MB file, and the current OS is 8.5 Anything else?

Thanks again,

Sally


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:16 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 6
Hi there,
Quite some time without posts.. Well, SheepShaver has been running now the last few days, it appears experimenting with the settings in the _prefs script gives various results. The last thing i recall is trying the jit false jit true switch, which actually changed the emulator's behaviour. The program isn't very stable, but when it runs, it is quite sat.
What i am trying to do now is use Toast to burn CD's has anyone managed? I suspect this has to do with SCSI drives, so if anyone has a SCSI CD-R let us know..

Sally


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:42 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:26 am
Posts: 1
I found that if you use the sheepshaver and have a lot of instability, just enable normal JIT but disable JIT 68k emulation, while it does slow it down some, it's 1000% more stable, I've been able to play a bunch of my old mac games on it (Might & Magic III, and other games), not the 30 seconds or 2-3 clicks that I tend to see a lot of messages about locking it up. While it's not perfect, it's MUCH more usable. Now all we need to do is incorporate networking into the Windows version, and possibly use the sound driver from SS for PearPC. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 49 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group