Visual C++ Runtime Library hates SheepShaver. (Windows)

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

User avatar
PPC_Digger
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1053
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:02 am
Location: Israel

Post by PPC_Digger »

Jack Hair wrote:
Marc wrote:I think the lowest we can boot in Windows is OS 8.6
Guess not, i installed of an OS 8.5 ISO and updated to 8.6.
So I guess 8.5 is the lowest, since currently no old-world ROM is supported on the windows version.
robotintestines
Tinkerer
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 4:16 am

Post by robotintestines »

Update #2:

I am now able to boot to OS 8.6 (installed) with extensions on, jit=false. I was able to change my desktop picture, theme, and run simple text. It is working well :)

Clicking the "Get Quicktime" icon caused SheepShaver to quit without error.
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

i get a similar error here it simply freezes when i click get quicktime
robotintestines
Tinkerer
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 4:16 am

Post by robotintestines »

During one of my installations (I think it was 8.5), The OS ran some kind of first-run config utility. It asked me what my time zone is, my name, company name, etc. At one point it wanted to setup (or check) my network connection. This caused it to hang indefinetly.

Perhaps anything that attempts to connect to the internet or network crashes?

Also, accessing the "Monitors and Sound" control panel in 8.5 caused a quit without error message. I have not yet tried this in OS 8.6.
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

robotintestines wrote:During one of my installations (I think it was 8.5), The OS ran some kind of first-run config utility. It asked me what my time zone is, my name, company name, etc. At one point it wanted to setup (or check) my network connection. This caused it to hang indefinetly.
it did it to me to when i clicked to finalized the setup process it also hanged
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

still can't boot sheepshaver.
new world rom + os8.6 iso

Image
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

what windows version are you trying to boot it on
templest
Tinkerer
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:33 am
Location: London, ON.

Post by templest »

Unrelated to the post above me, but, I've noticed that SheepShaver won't work for me when jit is enabled If I try to use jit normally, it hangs during boot.. But it -will- work when I disable extensions (Mind you, no text is visible. Anywhere, as in, it works, but no text), or turn jit off. Is this inherent in SheepShaver's code? Or is it a problem of incompatability with my CPU, or, what? Just trying to pin-point exactly what's causing this behaviour.

EDIT: If you skip loading modules, you don't get the run-time errors.
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

inherent to sheepshaver i dount that it as something to do with cpu
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

ataxy wrote:what windows version are you trying to boot it on
win2k sp4
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

ok can you post your prefrence file
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

sure! here it is:

extfs g:\
rom MacOSROM1
disk os8.6.hfv
cdrom n:\
windowmodes 3
screenmodes 63
seriala COM1
serialb COM2
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 0
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
ignoresegv true
idlewait true
keycodes false
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
enableextfs false
debugextfs false
extdrives CDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
pollmedia true

btw: "extfs"? what does it mean?
ataxy
Master Emulator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ataxy »

switch jit to false
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

oh my! you are very fast!

i'v tried this, it doesn't work.
Post Reply