Login  •  Register


The time is now: Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:14 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 40 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:05 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 760
[Edit: Deleted message that became irrelevant before I posted it.]


Last edited by emendelson on Sat Jul 21, 2012 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:05 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4836
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
podolsky wrote:
All is fine again. So, what are the constraints in changing the Prefs? I feel now that I just cannot mess them at all for fear of causing me to have re-config everything.

Well, normally there is no need to fear changing preferences settings as long as you do not do something stupid (sorry :wink: ) like entering a negative value for ram size.

Apparently you still had a (different) problem after correcting the ram size setting (this time a floppy icon with question mark). Do you know why SheepShaver could not find the system volume then?

If you cannot access preferences settings in SheepShaver itself, like when you are in full-screen mode or when SheepShaver keeps crashing at launch, you can use the stand-alone prefs editor (also mentioned in the setup guide). The stand-alone editor is older, has a slightly different interface, and does not have all the settings that the built-in editor has, but it can help to get out of such situations.
http://www.xs4all.nl/~ronaldpr/sheepsha ... rPrefs.zip


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 4:38 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 4:03 am
Posts: 9
Can someone review this sometimes my unix disk does not show up on mac desktop is something wrong? Will usually show up after couple restarts of sheepshaver. Different matter but perhaps related printing is not working in os8.3

disk New.dsk
disk sheepshared/I386/_DEFAULT.PI_
disk macos9
cdrom /dev/poll/cdrom
extfs /Users/precision/Desktop/
screen win/1024/768
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Modem
serialb /dev/null
rom Mac OS ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 536870912
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv false
ignoreillegal false
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
ether
keycodes false
keycodefile
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv false
idlewait true


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 6:43 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4836
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
From your posts in other topics I understand that you run SheepShaver in OSX 10.8, Mountain Lion, now possibly 10.8.3. Better include such information next time.

Quote:
Different matter but perhaps related printing is not working in os8.3

Are you referring to OSX 10.8.3? All printing options as described in the printing guide work fine here in OSX 10.8.3, without the issues you describe in the other topic. (To be continued in that other topic.)


Comments on your settings:

- Is macos9 a install disk image and did you install MacOS 9 onto "New.dsk"?

- Weird path and image file name for your second disk, but you may have a reason for that.

- Better do not use your Desktop as shared folder (Unix Root). The setup guide advises to create a separate folder. You can create a folder for that purpose on you desktop if you wish.

- Personally I would set the frame rate to a higher value. On a machine that can run Mountain Lion a refresh rate "Dynamic" would be fine.

- Better enable "Ignore Illegal Memory Accesses".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:31 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:10 am
Posts: 1
I just wanted to post some information for compiling SheepShaver and BasiliskII on FreeBSD 10.x with clang. It was driving me nuts but after bouncing some ideas off another bsd junkie I finally got it to compile and run.

For SheepShaver, after you cd to the src/Unix directory and run autogen.sh you need to re-run the configure script like this:

./configure --enable-addressing=direct

This will get rid of the error about mapping global memory invalid argument. I left the rest of the default values. Also you can not do the --disable-vosf option like some of the other guides say, SheepShaver will crash every time it starts the PPC emulation.

Now for BasiliskII, after you run the autogen.sh then you must re-run the configure script as such:

./configure --enable-sdl-video --enable-sdl-audio --enable-jit-compiler

If you get an error after you configure and click 'start', then you should try adding --disable-threads to the configure line. Don't forget to make sure you have the sdl1.2 libs.

And that is that, I hope this information helps someone running FreeBSD. I haven't had many crashes with these configures and I don't have to run the program as root.

Enjoy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:11 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1843
Thanks! This line:
./configure --enable-addressing=direct
should be useful for other OSes when compiling using CLANG too. That's a headache that has been preventing compilation on many platforms.

With this reconfiguration, will SheepShaver compile, for example, on OS X 10.7+?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:26 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:31 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I just got SheepShaver working:) I'm using a 2009 MacBook with OSX 10.9.5. I used a CD disk image instead of the real install CD. I got the boot ROM and the MacOS9 boot image from RandomRobot. I used this YouTube video as a walk through:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qqgw4z_r2sE

But when I launched SheepShaver, this part didn't happen:

"During startup, the system will encounter the newly created volume and offer to initialize it"

SO I have a volume titled Unix and another titled OS9 but not the third one titled MacOS9HD.

I take it that this is an issue because my system doesn't have a hard drive now:(

My one thought is that I didn't lock the CD disk image (in its "get info" window) before I installed it—the video instructed against following that part of the SheepShaver instructions.

Without having locked the CD disk image, would it mount in OSX? Is that my problem?

Should I just uninstall and start again? Or is there a way I can initialize the volume at this stage?

If what I'm saying makes sense, could someone please help me understand why having the disk image mount in OSX prevented me from getting that prompt—the one asking if I wanted to initialize the newly created volume?

Thanks for your help and for having such an awesome community!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 1:58 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 760
Start over and follow the instructions exactly and in every detail. If you follow the instructions exactly, they will work correctly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:43 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4192
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

You can fix this issue without re-installing. As you have SheepShaver running, you can start the preferences editor.
On the volumes tab, create a new volume of 1000Mb and the desired name.
After it is created, you will see it in the Volumes list. Close the preferences editor, shut down Mac OS and restart SheepShaver. The new volume will appear with the question to initialize it.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:27 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4836
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Note that the redundant robot OS9 boot image is a (limited) installed system, not an install CD image. It should not be locked in the Finder as an install CD image should be.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:00 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:31 am
Posts: 2
Thank you!

I'm using SheepShaver for my doctoral research on the history of software.

Just got a file from 1999 running after thinking about it for years.

Your help means a lot.

Sincerely,

Will


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:34 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1843
Let us know if you need any first-hand experts on software history :)

I just got OS X 10.0.4 working -- ended up getting a Mini G4, which handles the "missing operating systems" we can't emulate under a modern computer. That means I can now run all Apple-related software from 1978 through 2015! I haven't tried the Public Beta or 9.1/9.2 yet, but I've got 10.5.8PPC running too :)

If I ever get some of that imaginary time to tinker, I'm thinking of running up the same image on SS and the Mini to figure out where some emulation is breaking and what the responses should be. When all else fails, brute force it :)

[edit] Grr... the Mini won't actually *boot* off of OS 9, nor will it boot off of 10.0 or 10PB. Too new I guess :( It's a "Mac mini PowerMac10,1 PowerPC G4 (1.2) with boot ROM 4.8.9f1." Someone will have to attempt this with older hardware if we're going to do it at all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:59 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:51 am
Posts: 3
I've attempted to follow the Installation Guide as directed, getting all the way to the point where I am directed to start the SheepShaverGUI. Initially, the GUI did not seem to be able to find the libg****.dll files, so I copied them to the syswow64 and system32 directories. Then I get the following error message:

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application."

I have had this issue with both SheepShaver and Basilisk II. I am currently on a 64bit Windows 10 system (Toshiba laptop) so I would love some guidance as to where to start fixing the issue.

My suspicion is the installation of the gtk setup. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

James


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:07 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:51 am
Posts: 3
Very frustrated. Cannot get SheepshaverGUI to start at all. Continue to get error message as mentioned before. I've tried installing and reinstalling the GTK+ 2 a few times, and so far, no luck. Running 64bit Windows 10. Please, any thoughts?

James


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:36 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1843
I'd recommend doing it without the GUI; just edit the text file manually instead. There are lots of sample files on here to guide in the understanding of how they work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 40 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group