Page 1 of 1

OS 8.5 Install freezes whilst loading.

Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2004 9:31 pm
by templest
Er, ok. I have the OS 8.5 install CD, though it keeps freezing at a certain point and won't go any further. I successfully installed it a while ago on the Linux version of SheepShaver, so I don't know why It's not working now. Either way, this is what always happens, (hangs there):
Image
Ideas?

Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:40 pm
by ataxy
switch jit to false.
the linux version is alot more stable then the win one since it as been worked on alot more this is why you may experience some bug with it

Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2004 11:19 pm
by templest
Thanks, that did the trick. :)
EDIT: BTW, I have an AMD 2200+, if that matters. :? You know, for bug fixing or, whatever.

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:55 am
by DittoBox
I managed to get my hands on 8.5, and it does the same with jit enabled...uner linux.

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 4:36 am
by ataxy
templest wrote:Thanks, that did the trick. :)
EDIT: BTW, I have an AMD 2200+, if that matters. :? You know, for bug fixing or, whatever.
yeah i think the bug is common to people using amd as all those that have been able to go further with the jit enable seemed to have intel cpu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:44 pm
by trygvebw
ataxy wrote:
templest wrote:Thanks, that did the trick. :)
EDIT: BTW, I have an AMD 2200+, if that matters. :? You know, for bug fixing or, whatever.
yeah i think the bug is common to people using amd as all those that have been able to go further with the jit enable seemed to have intel cpu
I have an AMD (2000+), and i'm able to start Mac OS 8.5 with JIT on in Windows.

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:46 pm
by ataxy
weird then how come some can and some dont
i wish i could

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:40 pm
by DittoBox
ataxy wrote:weird then how come some can and some dont
i wish i could
Hmm, it happens at the same spot, yet I'm on linux and templest is on windows XP- This is quite odd. I also have an athlon Xp, mine being a 2400+. It's possible that gcc (assumung both are built using gcc, mine is, not sure about windows builds) is calling on a faulty instruction in the athlon XP chips.

Or I'm just full of crap...either way something's not playing nice.