Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sat Mar 28, 2020 6:16 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:23 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4809
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hello,

anyone succesfull in getting networking going in sheepshaver for linux? the tap/tunconfig keeps giving me errors.

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:00 pm
Posts: 47
Location: la la land
In the source there is a directory (SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/networking...or was it sheepnet?), type make, and then su to root and then type make install (I think, I've never actually done this). Kernel 2.6 breaks this module at compile time, thus you will need 2.4. To this end you will also need the kernel headers/source installed, if you're using a binary based distro.

Those of you using source-based distros need not worry about isntalling the source, you most likely compile your own and thus it's already installed.

Of course if you are the latter, then you already knew that >_>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:29 pm 
Offline
Real Swell Guy!

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 4:20 am
Posts: 116
sheep_net also works in 2.6, at least on x86_64 with 2.6.8.1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:45 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:00 pm
Posts: 47
Location: la la land
I'm on 2.6.9 under gentoo, and it's a no go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:27 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4809
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
This is what I get when using the make command in the NetDriver directory:

VMC:/cvs/SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver # make
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.8-24.11-smp/build M=$PWD modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/i386/smp'
make -C ../../../linux-2.6.8-24.11 O=../linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/i386/smp modules
CC [M] /cvs/SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.o
/cvs/SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.c:29:31: linux/modversions.h: No such file or directory
make[4]: *** [/cvs/SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [_module_/cvs/SheepShaver/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver] Error 2
make[2]: *** [modules] Error 2
make[1]: *** [modules] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/i386/smp'
make: *** [sheep_net.ko] Error 2

Best wishes
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:08 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:55 am
Posts: 16
Location: Nuth - Netherlands
im having the exact same error when trying to compile sheepnet on SuSE 9.2 X86_64

/usr/src/BasiliskII/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver> make install
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.8-24.11-default/build M=$PWD modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/x86_64/default'
make -C ../../../linux-2.6.8-24.11 O=../linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/x86_64/default modules
CC [M] /usr/src/BasiliskII/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.o
/usr/src/BasiliskII/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.c:29:31: linux/modversions.h: No such file or directory
make[4]: *** [/usr/src/BasiliskII/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver/sheep_net.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [_module_/usr/src/BasiliskII/src/Unix/Linux/NetDriver] Error 2
make[2]: *** [modules] Error 2
make[1]: *** [modules] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.8-24.11-obj/x86_64/default'
make: *** [sheep_net.ko] Error 2

Ive been trying the TUN setup too (got TUN working for PearPC) but i cant get it to work either?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:20 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4809
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Maybe networking with SheepShaver doesn't work in these parts of Holland :lol:

I've got the "tun" solution running.

1. Make sure you have the following preference items set up correctly in ~/.sheepshaver_prefs:
-ether tun
-etherconfig /path/to/tunconfig (most likely like "your path to"/BasiliskII/src/Unix/tunconfig)

2. Disable the gui, because settings for network could overwrite your preferences

3. Make sure you have sudo working for your user for the following binaries:
/sbin/ifconfig
/sbin/iptables
( I had to copy one of these files from /usr/sbin to /sbin on SuSe 9.2)

Or you will have to run SheepShaver as root. (I run as root)

4. Check the IP of the tun0 device with /sbin/ifconfig.
(Most of the time it will report 172.20.40.1)

5. Next, on the MacOS side, set up a static IP address in this form: 172.20.XX.2 , where XX is generally 40 as you might have found with "ifconfig".
Use the ip address of the tun device as router address and enter your isp's dns ip-address as dns entries.

6. Start "ifconfig" when SheepShaver has started, and check for packages being RX-ed and TX-ed from the tun device.

7. If not, you might also need to issue the following command(s) to get the network going:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
(try this one first)
or even these:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/eth0/proxy_arp
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/tun0/proxy_arp

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:51 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:55 am
Posts: 16
Location: Nuth - Netherlands
Cat_7 wrote:
Maybe networking with SheepShaver doesn't work in these parts of Holland :lol:
Cat_7


Lets hope not :P

Anyway thx very much for the explanation on tun, i finaly got internet on SheepShaver :!: :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:49 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 12
I followed the instructions, above, for the 2.6 kernel and 'tun'.

In MacOS 9.0.4 I entered the following into the TCP/IP control panel:

IP address : 172.20.40.2
Subnet mask: 255.255.248.0
Router address: 172.20.40.1

<my ISP's name servers>

This lets me see pages I serve off my Linux box, when accessed by IP address (hooray!), but it will not resolve names.

I have an actual router through which I get to the greater Internet. It is at 192.168.0.1. The control panel whined when I tried to enter that address for the router address, saying that the router must be on the same subnet as "this computer". I tied giving it a 192.168.0.xxx address and the physical router's address, but was unable to see anything, even the local machine.

Is there further configuration I need to do?

More information:
I can enter http://216.239.37.99/ and get to Google, so I guess it is not the router situation. I have double-checked the name server addresses, and they are correct.

Curiouser and curiouser.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:05 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4809
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Have you tried the new networking support gwenole has come up with, using slirp from qemu?
Just enter "slirp" in the ethernet preference and try.

On the Mac OS side, set ethernet to dhcp and restart.

Best wishes,

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:34 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 12
Wow! That was easy! The slirp technique works great.

Thanks for the tip.

More info: but it is VERY slow, about 6 kilobits per second. I wonder why?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:54 pm 
Offline
Real Swell Guy!

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 4:20 am
Posts: 116
If you are using FTP, is your client using passive mode? If so, that may be the reason. In other words, that's the only case I came up with.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:49 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 12
More data on speed (or the lack thereof).

Using Mozilla 1.2.1 I did an FTP download on the (3200+) 64-bit system, and got 4.4 kbps.

Using the same Mac hardfile on the 32-bit system (which has a 1.2 GHz Via CPU) I measured 13 kbps.

I'm out of time right now. Later I'll test with BasiliskII and see if they have similar performance.

What sort of performance do the rest of you see? Do you run at the full speed of your connection?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:59 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4809
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I too have terrible slow performance using slirp, comparable to the before mentioned speeds.

I run Suse 9.2 as host on a PIV 1.7 Ghz. Speed is very slow no matter what I use the network for.

At work I run Suse 9.2 on a PIV 3.0 Ghz, and it doesn't matter a single "bit" ;-)

So for me, only the ease of getting networking running with slirp is a big advantage, not the speeds it delivers.

Best wishes,

Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group