Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed May 27, 2020 12:01 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:29 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
Alright, I have:

- SheepShaver
- Rom 1.0
- OS9 Installer Disk
- SimTower (A game)

So I manage to get SheepShaver to bootup off the CD and I'm up and running that basic version of OS9 that they put on these install CD's. I navigate on the Unix drive on the desktop to the SimTower game on my HD and..

Three things -

SimTower gives me a message saying 'There is not enough memory to open "SimTower" (zero K needed, 235996 K available). How do I resolve this?

Secondly, could someone give me a step by step idots guide to get a bootable OS to run off the HD so I don't need to have the CD in the drive?

Thirdly, if I have OS 9 installed on an old machine and am able to connect to it via ethernet is it possible to copy this over the network into a bootable source on my OSX HD? If possible, ignore above question and explain how I'd do that (idiot friendly please).

Thanks in-advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:38 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5961
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You should start with installing MacOS. It should be installed on disk image file that will appear on the MacOS desktop as a volume.

Here is a topic where I explained it step by step for MacOS 8.5. Most of it applies to MacOS 9.0
http://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3179


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 5:14 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
Excellent, thank you Ronald. I had done a search for help but none of the topic titles stood out that they'd provide the information.

Anyway, I'm up and running and it's all good accept one more thing (hopefully)..

To have it recognize a CD in the computer on the old OS do I always need to Add it to the Volumes list in SheepShaver Settings before I startup?

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:45 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5961
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
No, it does not need to be in the volumes list. When a CD is mounted in MacOSX, SheepShaver will see it and mount it on the MacOS desktop. If that does not work, try mounting the CD in MacOSX before you start SheepShaver.

Note: Do not unmount a CD (not in MacOS and not in MacOSX) while SheepShaver is running, SheepShaver will freeze if you do that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:41 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
I'll continue to post any problems I personally have here instead of starting up new threads:

Loading up Caesar 3 in 8.5 and it seemed to take a disliking to quicktime files but I was able to get past the start menus before it just froze up.

So I've updated the OS to 8.6 and Quicktime to v.5 now and when I run Caesar 3 it loads up, first movie that was skipped before plays for about a second and then SheepShaver gives me a error msg:

Your Mac program made an illegal word write access to address 0x259d01x. (pc0x2d255ac4, 68k pc 0x0, sp 0x2f1c65d0)

Wondering if that makes sence to anyone otherwise I'll ignore it and give up with this old game.

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:38 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5961
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You could try to check the option "Ignore illegal memory accesses" in SheepShaverGUI, Memory/Misc tab, but it will probably not help to play the game.

Unrelated but important: If you updated to 8.6, make sure "Font Manager Update" version 1.0 is present in the Extensions folder.
If it isn't, download it here http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60444 and follow the included instructions for repair and installation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group