Cannot map RAM: File already exists

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

Erik Carlson
Space Cadet

Post by Erik Carlson »

Edit From 2009: An updated version of SheepShaver fixes this problem: http://emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5722

Dear All,

I'm a newbie here so apologies if i say anything dumb.

At the weekend i upgraded two machines to leopard, a dual g5 and powerbook g4. As leopard arbitrarily nixes support for classic on ppc machines, I decided to install sheep shaver to carry on running an old scientific app that my wife doesn't want to lose. So here's the wierd thing. I have got sheepshaver working with what i think is an old world rom and both 7.5.3 and 9.0.4 images on my G5. Yet when I use the exact same setup on the G4 it doesn't work.

The error is "Cannot map RAM: file already exists"; If I launch via the GUI this appears in an X11 like dialog, if I launch the app directly it bounces in the dock then disappears, but the same error shows up in the system console. I can't find this error on the web anywhere.

I have tried both the PPC and UB august builds from this forum, no difference, tried removing and redoing my prefs file, launching the app from different locations, and different ROMS.

Any ideas?

In addition I have observed that Sheepshaver GUI is unstable on both platforms under leopard, I get a beachball when chosing file paths for either ROM, keyboard map, or Volume, but if I type the path it creates the prefs file fine. The new sheepshaver prefs doesn't seem to have the same problem.

Thanks very much.

Erik Carlson

Edit From the Future: An updated version of SheepShaver fixes this problem: http://emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5722
Erik Carlson
Space Cadet

more data

Post by Erik Carlson »