Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:04 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 9 of 10 [ 233 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:47 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4865
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Well, if that game cannot be used with QT 4 and indeed needs QT 6, it will not run in SheepShaver.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 6:02 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:56 pm
Posts: 27
Is there something like list of Sheepshaver compatible games?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:13 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4865
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Check the software on the Macintosh Garden site. Many games there that will run in SheepShaver and/or BasiliskII. If a game is known to work in SheepShaver, it is labeled as "This game works with: SheepShaver".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:31 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1859
I'd call it The Macintosh Garden :)

Any game that requires Quicktime 6 is likely Carbon friendly though, and so will run under OS X 10.2 through 10.4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:28 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:56 pm
Posts: 27
adespoton wrote:
I'd call it The Macintosh Garden :)

Any game that requires Quicktime 6 is likely Carbon friendly though, and so will run under OS X 10.2 through 10.4.


What it measn real Mac only or is possible to use some emulator?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:29 pm 
Offline
Inquisitive Elf

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:56 pm
Posts: 27
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
Check the software on the Macintosh Garden site. Many games there that will run in SheepShaver and/or BasiliskII. If a game is known to work in SheepShaver, it is labeled as "This game works with: SheepShaver".

Yeah i know it, but it is different thing, click games one by one and have something like compatibility list as for other emulators.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:49 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
Before I try to reinvent the wheel, has anyone developed a standalone package of SheepShaver for Windows - one that would include its own internal GTK instead of relying on a runtime installed in Windows itself?

This seems like an interesting problem, but if it's either (1) impossible or (2) been done already, then I won't waste time trying to solve it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:33 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
emendelson wrote:
Before I try to reinvent the wheel, has anyone developed a standalone package of SheepShaver for Windows - one that would include its own internal GTK instead of relying on a runtime installed in Windows itself?

This seems like an interesting problem, but if it's either (1) impossible or (2) been done already, then I won't waste time trying to solve it.


To answer my own question, it turns out that this isn't exactly possible, but it's certainly possible to pack up everything (including the GTK runtime) into a single folder and run it from there. The only requirement is that the GTK runtime be in the path. So it's possible to write (using a scripting program like AutoIt) an installer that would install everything except the ROM file and make sure that the right folder for GTK is in the path.

If anyone has any plans to do this with something more advanced than AutoIt, I won't spend time doing it badly. But if anyone's interested in one-stop installer, it's something I might want to do as an exercise.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 4:37 am
Posts: 3566
Location: Uiwang
I'd be interested, and would be happy to add it to the guide in the wiki, if it is really user friendly I've been meaning to update both the Basilisk II and SheepShaver guides to make them easier to follow and with fewer steps. I'll certainly test out your proposed installer since I have more time on my hands now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:16 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
ClockWise wrote:
I'd be interested, and would be happy to add it to the guide in the wiki, if it is really user friendly I've been meaning to update both the Basilisk II and SheepShaver guides to make them easier to follow and with fewer steps. I'll certainly test out your proposed installer since I have more time on my hands now.


I won't get around to it for at least a few weeks, but it shouldn't be hard to do. I've done similar things for the vDos and DOSBox emulators.

What I have in mind now is an Inno Setup installer that would install SheepShaver.exe, SDL.dll, a keycodes file, a prefs file, the GTK runtime, and maybe an empty disk image for installing Mac OS. Then the installer would run a compiled AutoIt Script that add the GTK folder to the path, prompt the user for a ROM file, and prompt for the location of either a pre-existing Mac OS system disk image or an installer disk.

Questions: Where should the folder with SheepShaver, etc., be located by default? What settings make the most sense for RAM, screen size, etc.?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:36 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:12 am
Posts: 17
Location: Argentina
emendelson wrote:
Where should the folder with SheepShaver, etc., be located by default?
Easy one, "C:\Program Files ((x86) in a 64 bit machine)\SheepShaver".
emendelson wrote:
What settings make the most sense for RAM, screen size, etc.?
For the screen size, I would suggest leaving it at 640x480 and RAM wise, I suggest 512 MB.

Edit: YAY! I got a new rank!

_________________
Compact Macs will rule supreme for all eternity! :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:58 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
macplus wrote:
emendelson wrote:
Where should the folder with SheepShaver, etc., be located by default?
Easy one, "C:\Program Files ((x86) in a 64 bit machine)\SheepShaver".
emendelson wrote:
What settings make the most sense for RAM, screen size, etc.?
For the screen size, I would suggest leaving it at 640x480 and RAM wise, I suggest 512 MB.


I ended up going a different route, as described here:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=9358


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:28 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:21 pm
Posts: 1
Hey Cat_7, I have a bit of a problem with the sheepshaver GUI on windows 10...
there are apparently 3 missing .dll files, and here's the list of the ones listed in the errors...

libglib-2.0-0.dll
libgobject-2.0-0.dll
libgtk-win32-2.0-0.dll


If there's any way to fix this, I would really appreciate some help.

MrThrall


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:26 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4199
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Did you follow the guide here:
http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sheepshaver_setup

It contains a link to the suggested version of GTK you need to install to use the GUI.
The errors you report stem from a GTK installation that wasn't performed correctly, or not at all.
Or do you perhaps already have a GTK installation needed by some other software you installed?

ps: you do not need the gui to run SheepShaver, you can also edit sheepshaver_prefs manually and set the paths to rom, cd and hard disk image, etc.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:57 am
Posts: 13
Dear All,

I am stuck in trying to use sheepshaver. When i try to start it one of my screens goes black and my PC freezes compleetly resulting in having to cut the power. See underneath for some more back ground info. I am on Windows 10.0 x64.

i might have a different situation then most on this form. My dad still has a functioning MAC with 9.0,9.1 or 9.2 on it. The most important part is that this OS supports ArchiCAD 6.5. He stopped updating resulting in him only being able to work with this version of ArchiCAD. I want to emulate Mac OS 9.0 to install Archicad 6.5 on it so he can keep working on it. I am a total noob on emulators, all help is welcome.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:26 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4865
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Did you follow the setup guide? Specifically, did you make sure all needed additional files are installed* and did you configure SheepShaver using the SheepShaverGUI before trying to start SheepShaver itself?

* About the additional files, note at the beginning of the setup guide the sentence:
"You should probably use the release from May 6, 2013. Make sure to first download the archive listed under "To get started, always download this" so that you have a complete package."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:47 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:57 am
Posts: 13
the only part i did not understand 100% is this:

just extract and put the file SDL.dll in the directory containing SheepShaver

What is meant with the directory. i understood it as just place the dll in the folder where i extracted the files. i gues this is wrong?

i did not use GUI

I DID IT! thx for the guide, only thing what would be nice to add is what the directory means door the noobs like me that didn't know.

next up how to install something on this emulated mac program.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4865
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
"Directory" is a common term for a way to group files in a file system. In the graphic interface on your screen, a directory is represented by a folder. For everyday use you can read "directory" as "folder".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:05 pm 
Offline
Student Driver
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:51 pm
Posts: 21
Hey, I'm trying to install it, but I'm a bit confused... How am I supposed to name the ROM file so that SheepShaver is able to find it?

Anyway, ty for your help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:48 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 10:02 pm
Posts: 10
GarkGarcia wrote:
Hey, I'm trying to install it, but I'm a bit confused... How am I supposed to name the ROM file so that SheepShaver is able to find it?

Anyway, ty for your help!


Code:
Mac OS ROM


In other news, I think that the 2013 build functions better for games (Barrack is fixed, something a previous build had major problems with and reported to MECS; plus audio seems all-around cleaner). One thing that still is missing that I wish SS had is the "more complete ADB mouse emulation", as that is what appears to prevent Apeiron from running.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:09 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
A few months ago, I had no trouble building SheepShaver in MinGW under Windows, but I'm getting various errors with the current code - but they seem to be errors in my build system, saying that the C compiler can't create executables. Is there any hope that the build instructions on the wiki might be checked and updated? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
emendelson wrote:
A few months ago, I had no trouble building SheepShaver in MinGW under Windows, but I'm getting various errors with the current code - but they seem to be errors in my build system, saying that the C compiler can't create executables. Is there any hope that the build instructions on the wiki might be checked and updated? Thanks!


Wait - I entirely forgot that dadreamer had solved this. First, follow these instructions for cleaning the configure file:

viewtopic.php?p=56022#p56022

Then, as dadreamer says in another message, replace the CC etc. command in the wiki with this one:

CC='gcc -mwin32 -std=gnu++11' CXX='g++ -mwin32 -std=gnu++11' ./configure --with-gtk=no --enable-jit=no

And that builds SheepShaver for Windows. I haven't tried this with current code (I'm still using the code from March 2017), but will try it again later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:55 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
And further to this, it seems that this method only works with rakslice's fork, and I haven't figured out any way to build current SheepShaver code for Windows...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:06 pm
Posts: 18
I have moved from GitHub.

How to build rakslice's code

(1) checkout rakslice/macmeu:windows_build_script branch
(2) cd SheepShaver
(3) make links
(4) cd src/Windows
(5) ln -s ../Unix/m4
(6) NO_CONFIGURE=1 ../Unix/autogen.sh
(7) ./configure --with-gtk=no --disable-jit
(8) delete sysdeps.h#L28, following line
Code:
#define min(x,y) ((x) < (y) ? (x) : (y))

(9) delete "-lpthread" at Makefile#L40
(10) make

This version can run, but may be unstable depending on RAM amount.
I recommend following setting.
ramsize 67108864

EXE file is here.
http://fast-uploader.com/file/7068474027148/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 798
Thank you for the exe file and the instructions. Unfortunately, when I run ./configure etc, I get this error message:

Quote:
checking whether VirtualProtect works... no
configure: error: Sorry, Windows VM functions don't work as expected on your system.


I have never figured out how to fix this error. I'm running under Windows 7 32-bit, but I've seen the same error under 64-bit Windows. Possibly I need to change some BIOS settings, and I will experiment. EDIT: All virtualization features are enabled in the BIOS. So I'm baffled by this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 9 of 10 [ 233 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group