Login  •  Register


The time is now: Mon May 21, 2018 2:47 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2  Next
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 7:40 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I made a new SheepShaver for OSX build for testing that has a number of interesting new features that are made possible by our member "vasi". The build is created from cebix-macemu master source on May 10, 2013.

Edit: Download below is now a newer test build (July 26, 2013) that allows adding .sparsebundle disk images by the built-in preferences editor.

This build is Intel only, should run on 10.4 (Tiger) and 10.5 (Leopard) as 32-bit only application and it can run in both 32 and 64-bit mode in 10.6 (Snow Leopard), 10.7 (Lion), and 10.8 (Snow Leopard). It defaults to 32-bit mode. In 10.6 it has the nasty bug in 64-bit mode when run in full-screen mode that existed in previous builds. (But you can easily get out of full-screen mode now. See below.)

New features:

1. Sparsebundle support
It supports disk images in sparsebundle format. See explanation by vasi in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=7974

2. Cursor grabbing toggle (Ctrl-F5)
This feature existed before but now works correctly in MacOSX. Ctrl-F5 will make the emulator grab the mouse cursor and keep it inside its window. Especially useful for some games. Again pressing Ctrl-F5 will release the cursor.

3. Window-Fullscreen toggle (Ctrl-Return)
Pressing Ctrl-Return will toggle between window mode and full-screen mode.

Small issue: When you go from window to full-screen mode without having used the mouse cursor in the emulator at least once since starting the emulator, you will loose the cursor. One click on the desktop suffices.

Many thanks to vasi for creating these amazing and awesome new features.

Reports welcome. Please mention relevant information with your report, at least your host system (machine and OSX version) and MacOS version installed in SheepShaver.

Edit: If you loose the cursor after going from window to full-screen mode, you can make the cursor reappear if you make the cursor image change, e.g.: by holding the control key so it turns into the special contextual-menu cursor.

Edit: There was an issue with SDL.Framework. I changed the library's install name in SheepShaver and this build should now work fine also when no SDL.Framework is present in either /Library/Frameworks/ or ~/Library/Frameworks/

Edit: Although this build supports sparsebundle images, the built-in prefs editor does not yet allow adding sparsebundle images to the volumes list. It opens the bundle instead of adding it.

Edit: Now (test build July 26, 2013) the built-in prefs editor allows adding sparsebundle disk images to the volumes list. (It will add any selected folder or bundle if you click the "Open" button. To open a selected folder in the Open dialog, double click the folder.)

This build is created from cebix-macemu master source on July 26, 2013, edited to include a not yet added change by vasi to enable adding bundles to the volumes list in the built-in preferences editor.

Download: http://www.xs4all.nl/~ronaldpr/sheepshaverforum/SheepShaver_Intel_20130726_test.zip


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:35 pm, edited 5 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 8:00 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 814
It refuses to load under OS X 10.8.3 on a 2012 MacBook Air. The crash report says this:

Quote:
Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries

Dyld Error Message:
Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL.framework/Versions/A/SDL
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Desktop/SheepShaver.app/Contents/MacOS/SheepShaver
Reason: image not found


I tried moving the unix executable to a working copy of SheepShaver (a 2012 build) but got the same result.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 8:23 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Strange. I did not expect this as SDL.Framework is included in the application. But you are right, it does not work without SDL.Framework in /Library/Frameworks.

For now, you can copy SheepShaver.app/Contents/Frameworks/SDL.Framework to /Library/Frameworks/ to make this build work.

In the meantime I will try to figure out why SDL.Framework does not work when included in the application. It used to work fine before in some other builds.



Edit: I am sure I used
./configure --enable-sdl-framework --enable-sdl-video --enable-sdl-audio --disable-vosf
so why does it not work?


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Sun May 19, 2013 8:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 8:41 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 814
It will also work if you copy SDL.Framework to ~/Library/Frameworks. It doesn't need to be in the root level Library.

I've never tried to build SheepShaver, so I'm afraid I can't help with solving this!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 9:56 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4309
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I built with --enable-sdl-static instead of --enable-sdl-framework and created a folder Frameworks in the app bundle/Contents folder and copied the SDL.framework there. This seems to work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 5:00 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:23 am
Posts: 20
I just tried the latest build.

It works fine on my iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, OSX 10.6.8

Thank you for your efforts.

_________________
iMac 21.5-inch, Late 2009, 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8 GB RAM. OS X 10.12.6


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 8:42 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Cat_7 wrote:
I built with --enable-sdl-static instead of --enable-sdl-framework and created a folder Frameworks in the app bundle/Contents folder and copied the SDL.framework there. This seems to work.
And that worked without using SDL in the build process and without a SDL.Framework in either /Library/Frameworks/ or ~/Library/Frameworks/ ? I only use --enable-sdl-static when I build with SDL (compiling from SDL source and setting path).

I got a PM from vasi explaining the SDL.Framework issue:
Quote:
The SDL.framework issue is due to the install_name being "@rpath/SDL.framework/Versions/A/SDL". You can use install_name_tool to change it to "@executable_path/../Frameworks/SDL.framework/Versions/A/SDL", and it should work well.

I did not succeed in building a PPC version and vasi told me that he also does not know "any good way to build for PPC at the command-line on an Intel machine".

Both SDL.Framework and PPC issues are apparently solved in the XCode project. I did not try the XCode project yet because, as far as I know, the XCode project is not yet updated for the full-screen toggle and improved cursor grabbing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 10:41 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Two edits in the first post in this topic:

1. There was an issue with SDL.Framework. I changed the library's install name in SheepShaver and this build should now work fine also when no SDL.Framework is present in either /Library/Frameworks/ or ~/Library/Frameworks/

2. If you loose the cursor after going from window to full-screen mode, you can make the cursor reappear if you make the cursor image change, e.g.: by holding the control key so it turns into the special contextual-menu cursor.

I did not change the file name:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~ronaldpr/sheepsha ... 0_test.zip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:53 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am
Posts: 239
Unfortunately, in my case, the latest build, if run in 64-bit mode, reverts to causing the "SOMobjects for Mac OS" extension to crash on startup. No crash occurs if run in 32-bit mode. The version I've been running lately (Version 2.4.20120715) works equally well in both 64-bit and 32-bit modes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 1:27 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 814
This is excellent. Thank you!

Two requests:

First, the Ctrl-Return keystroke is already used in some applications. For example, WordPerfect for the Mac uses it to create a new outline heading (I., II., etc.). Is it possible for your build to use something like Shift-Ctrl-Return instead?

Second, I know that you are building, not writing code, but is there any hope of fixing the problem in which color changes when switching back from hidden to visible?

Thank you again!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 2:43 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
PeterHolbrook wrote:
Unfortunately, in my case, the latest build, if run in 64-bit mode, reverts to causing the "SOMobjects for Mac OS" extension to crash on startup. No crash occurs if run in 32-bit mode. The version I've been running lately (Version 2.4.20120715) works equally well in both 64-bit and 32-bit modes.

There must be a more complex cause for the crash you experience. SOMobjects for Mac OS 2.0.8 is installed by default with MacOS9. I have it in my Extensions folder and I do not experience a crash with it, not with this test build nor with any previous build in either 32-bit or 64-bit mode. This must be true for most users. Apart from your reports, we have had only one other report of this problem. That was with the 25 October 2009 build that is 32-bit only.

SOMobjects for Mac OS is a shared library, so it cannot cause a crash by itself. It must be something else that uses the library and that will not load with SOMobjects for Mac OS disabled.

It is strange, though, that you do not experience the problem with the 15 July 2012 build and now again in this build.

Do you have "Ignore Illegal Memory Accesses" enabled in SheepShaver preferences?


Last edited by Ronald P. Regensburg on Mon May 20, 2013 3:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 3:05 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
emendelson wrote:
First, the Ctrl-Return keystroke is already used in some applications. For example, WordPerfect for the Mac uses it to create a new outline heading (I., II., etc.). Is it possible for your build to use something like Shift-Ctrl-Return instead?
It is not something I can change. That is for the programmer.

Quote:
Second, I know that you are building, not writing code, but is there any hope of fixing the problem in which color changes when switching back from hidden to visible?
The color shift problem is an issue with SDL. As far as I know, it cannot be solved in the BasiliskII/SheepShaver code. Some convoluted workarounds were suggested in developer discussions some time ago, but those would not improve the user experience much. We will have to wait till people working on SDL solve the issue. (But they mostly work on SDL 1.3 rather than solving remaining problems in 1.2.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 3:38 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am
Posts: 239
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
Do you have "Ignore Illegal Memory Accesses" enabled in SheepShaver preferences?


Yes, I do. "Ignore Illegal Instructions", however, is unticked (but ticking it doesn't solve the issue).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:40 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
New test build July 26, 2013.

The built-in prefs editor now allows adding sparsebundle disk images to the volumes list.

See first post in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=8021


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:29 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2108
Location: Emaculation.com
Thanks Ron!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:43 pm 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:56 am
Posts: 239
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
New test build July 26, 2013.

The built-in prefs editor now allows adding sparsebundle disk images to the volumes list.

See first post in this topic: http://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewto ... =20&t=8021

Seems to work fine. Many thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:22 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 814
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
New test build July 26, 2013.

The built-in prefs editor now allows adding sparsebundle disk images to the volumes list.

See first post in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=8021


Excellent! Thank you.

One oddity - sometimes, unpredictably, the prefs "Add" button tries to open the contents of the sparsebundle file (as in previous versions). If I cancel out and then try again, it correctly selects the sparsebundle. Strange!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:24 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
emendelson wrote:
sometimes, unpredictably, the prefs "Add" button tries to open the contents of the sparsebundle file (as in previous versions).

I cannot reproduce this behavior. Are you referring to the "Open" button in the dialog? Double clicking a folder or bundle in the dialog will open it, clicking the "Open" button will add it. (I suppose that it would be more intuitive if this button were named "Add".)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:59 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:12 am
Posts: 814
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
emendelson wrote:
sometimes, unpredictably, the prefs "Add" button tries to open the contents of the sparsebundle file (as in previous versions).

I cannot reproduce this behavior. Are you referring to the "Open" button in the dialog? Double clicking a folder or bundle in the dialog will open it, clicking the "Open" button will add it. (I suppose that it would be more intuitive if this button were named "Add".)


Sorry - I was writing from memory. Yes, I meant the "Open" button. As I said, this is intermittent. The problem occurs perhaps once every five or six times I try it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:02 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,

when installing MacOS 9.0.4 on a sparsebudle disk image (using the 26 July build of SheepShaver), after a while the installer quits with the error message "cannot copy BigSystemMorsels". Disk images created by SheepShaver (extension DSK) work fine.
The sparsebundle image was created with DiskUtility.

Any ideas what could be wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 4
Did this from memory. Inevitably, I got the message wrong.
Here's what the log says:

Code:
Disk Verification
The disk "Macintosh HD" appears OK.

Mac OS 9 Installation
Installation of Mac OS 9 was stopped due to an error.
Reason:  Problems were encountered reading the source file "Big System Morsels".  Installation cannot continue.


The installation was stopped due to an error.


I used the latest MacOS X build (26/7/2013) of SheepShaver on OS X 10.9 with an image of a MacOS 9.0.4 Installer CD which, as I wrote, works fine if used with a disk image created by SheepShaver as the target volume for installation.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:35 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I waited to see if someone else has an explanation, but no one so far.

I get the same error message trying to install OS9 on a OSX 10.8.5 host. When I use a larger image to start with (500MB) and erase the volume from the MacOS Finder before starting the installation, the installation succeeds. However, I do not know what that initialization by MacOS does to the specific properties of a sparsebundle image. It may turn the image into a 'normal' fixed size image.

I used sparsebundle images with SheepShaver for storage, I do not recall if I ever used such images to install a system onto.

Our member 'vasi' created the sparsebundle compatibility. Maybe he can shed some light on this issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:16 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:46 pm
Posts: 53
Hmm, interesting bug! I can't seem to reproduce it, unfortunately. Some information that may help:

- What parameters are you using in the Disk Utility "New Image" dialog? That includes "Size", "Format", "Partitions" and "Image Format".
- Are you erasing the disk inside SheepShaver before you install OS 9 on it? I believe this is necessary for boot disks: OS 9 wants an "HFS wrapper" in order to boot, but Disk Utility creates HFS+ filesystems without a wrapper.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:28 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:46 pm
Posts: 53
I've just verified that I can indeed install OS 9 onto a sparsebundle created in Disk Utility:

- In the New Image dialog, I choose:
Size: 500 MB
Format: Mac OS Extended
Partitions: No partition map
Image format: Sparsebundle disk image.

- After booting the OS 9 ISO, I select my disk in the Finder, choose Special -> Erase Disk.., and choose Format: Mac OS Extended.

- Then I run the OS 9 installer with default options.

Try that, see if it works for you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:32 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4963
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Yes, as I wrote above, creating a 500MB image and erasing it in the MacOS Finder worked for me also:
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
When I use a larger image to start with (500MB) and erase the volume from the MacOS Finder before starting the installation, the installation succeeds. However, I do not know what that initialization by MacOS does to the specific properties of a sparsebundle image. It may turn the image into a 'normal' fixed size image.

Will the sparsebundle properties of the image be preserved when the volume is erased in OS9?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]    Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group