Script Error: Handler not defined #fileName

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

worldofhair
Space Cadet

Script Error: Handler not defined #fileName

Post by worldofhair »

Hello! I am extremely new to sheepshaver and I'm having issues with a game I'm trying to play with it. I installed sheepshaver and set it up according to redundant robot/a youtube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qqgw4z_r2sE) and it seems to be running great. I'm able to open the game by adding the disk image as a volume in sheepshaver's preferences and it runs fine up until where you would create a save file. Several times I get hit with the error message:

Script error: Handler not defined

#fileName

and after that there's no way for me to proceed. I'm able to say Continue to the error message but it leaves me with the clock cursor and all I can do from there is go backwards and quit the game.

Am I missing anything? To me it seems like it just cannot find a place to put the actual save files, but I am just starting out with this stuff. The game I'm trying to play is here http://www.myabandonware.com/game/stay-tooned-3xw

thanks for reading! please help!
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Re: Script Error: Handler not defined #fileName

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

The video instructions you followed, use the OS9 pre-installed MacOS system from Redundant Robot. It is not a full installation as described in our setup guide, it only contains the System Folder, and it has little room left for further installations or additional files.

If you can not get hold of an image that was created from a true retail MacOS install CD, you need to at least put the system folder onto a larger volume. You can simply copy it to a larger volume within SheepShaver: