Page 1 of 1

Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:12 pm
by MRDAAF
Hi,

Today I've installed OS 9 on a Macbook air running on OS Yosemite. As far as I can see everything works well. I've also tried to install Barrack in OS 9. The installation and the registration completed successfully. When I try to run the game, OS 9 opens a new window which remains black. So the game won't run.

Does anyone have a suggestion how to fix this problem? Do you need more information on my settings?

Thanks!

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:27 pm
by Ronald P. Regensburg
The unregistered free trial of Barrack 1.0.4 seems to work fine here. SheepShaver 01 February 2014 build, MacOS 9.0.4, Yosemite 10.10.1.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:59 pm
by MRDAAF
I've tried the trial, but it gives me exactly the same problem. Would the problem be in my SheepShaver settings or would it be something else?

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:13 pm
by Ronald P. Regensburg
I can't think of anything that would cause this issue.

Which SheepShaver build do you run? And with which MacOS version?
Did you follow our setup guide and did you use settings as suggested there?
Which ROM file do you use?
Did you install MacOS yourself in SheepShaver from a retail MacOS install CD?
Did you make any changes to the installed system?
Did you make sure to install (copy) the game onto a volume other than the "Unix" volume?
Which are your settings in MacOS Monitors control panel?

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:58 pm
by MRDAAF
Thank you for helping me!

ScheepShaver build: 01 Febuary 2014
MacOS: 9
SheepShaver installation: I installed SheepShaver using the following tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qqgw4z_r2sE
ROM: New World PPC ROM
MacOS installation: MacOS 9 boot image from www.redundantrobot.com
Changes in system: I only changed the SheepShaver preferences to the preferences recommended in the tutorial
Installation volume: I installed the game onto MacOS9HD

What do you mean by Monitors control panel?

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:27 pm
by Ronald P. Regensburg
The OS9 boot image from Redundant Robot does not contain a full OS9 installation, just the System Folder. It also has hardly sufficient space left for software that installs additional files in the System Folder. Yet, you should be able to run the game that you installed on the larger MacOS9HD volume. You did not lock the OS9.img file did you? Locking the image file, as described in our setup guide, is needed for install disk images, not for a pre-installed system like this one.

The Monitors control panel is, well, the Monitors control panel. MacOS9 has control panels and "Monitors" is one of them. See the Apple menu.

I seem to remember that there is an issue with some Ambrosia games, but I do not remember what it is. Something with the registration file?

Edit: Or was it about plug-ins?

Someone else here who knows?

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:44 pm
by Ronald P. Regensburg
BTW: Which version of the game are you trying run? Is it the same version (1.0.4) that runs fine in trial mode here?

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:54 am
by MRDAAF
The version of Barrack I installed is 1.0.4. I did not lock the OS9.img file, that's right. I have to admit that programming issues are not really my cup of tea. I will try to install SheepShaver using your setup guide and let you know if it worked.

Thank you for your help so far.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:39 pm
by MRDAAF
I got it:D! I followed your setup guide and used the image from http://osvirtual.net/en/macos-9-0-4-wit ... -software/. Barrack runs smoothly now.

I have one question left. I've read in the setup guide that after running the os image successfully one time you can remove the image out of the sheepshaver volumes. Did I misinterpret that part? Because this results in sheep shaver getting stuck in the beginning with the disc and the question mark.

Thank you for your help and time. I'll be playing barrack now:D

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:45 am
by Ronald P. Regensburg
The setup guide describes the setup with an install CD, or an image of an install CD. After installing the system, running the system installer on the CD image to install the system on the other drive, the CD image can be removed. I do not know the download you used, but from the linked page it seems that it is not an install disk but a pre-installed system. Of course that one should not be removed.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:00 pm
by MRDAAF
I understand. Thank you.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:25 am
by Ronald P. Regensburg
For completeness: The setup guide tells you to lock the install CD image file in the OSX Finder. Also that should not be done with the image file with pre-installed system.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:43 pm
by MRDAAF
That's good news, because I didn't lock it. Forgot it:)

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:28 pm
by adespoton
A bit late I guess, but Barrack also runs fine in BII (I never played it on a PPC Mac).

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:55 am
by bigbro
I never got Barracks to work in SS.
In BII (7.5.5 on Mavericks), it does work, but it usually crashes or freezes after a few dozen levels.
Bubble Trouble works fine so I have to stick to that.

Re: Problems running Barrack in Sheepshaver

Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:30 am
by ClockWise
I used to play a whole lot of Barrack in Basilisk II 142. It was crash-free for me.