Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:08 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:35 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:46 am
Posts: 141
Hi,

I use SheepShaver with «Simply Accounting», an OS 9 accounting app. When I forget to quit the app it prevents my Imac to go to sleep. Does somebody have a little script that could quit the app then SheepShaver in order to enable my to go to sleep ?

Thanks in advance.



Robert Lespérance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 3029
Location: Emaculation.com
An alternative solution should be to write an external OS X script to suspend SheepShaver. That way, re-opening SS will bring everything right back up :)

http://osxdaily.com/2013/05/30/pause-re ... -mac-os-x/

Related:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/41 ... 0&tstart=0

Actually, this is making me think that a LaunchService that looks for minimized or hidden apps and auto-suspends them would be neat :) You'd have to ensure that you actually wanted any minimized or hidden app to be suspended, but it could be a really simple solution to use once set up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:58 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6081
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
If I set Energy Saver control panel in OS9 and set Energy Saver preferences in OSX for a longer delay before sleep. My iMac will go to sleep with SheepShaver running.

("Allow Emulated CPU to Idle" is checked in SheepShaver preferences. Not sure if that is needed for this to work.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:49 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:46 am
Posts: 141
Hi adespoton ... I do a little bit of scripting, but almost only by copying instructions and playing around until the job gets done. That being said, it does not have to be very complicated for me to be in pain with scripting. I do my best ... but since practicing and time are the scripter's best friend, I am out of luck, time is seriously missing. It will very difficult to become an expert. I have to relearn back again everytime. But ... I will try more soon.

Hi Ronald ... I don't have the OS 9 Energy Saver control panel. Do you an idea where I can find it ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:27 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6081
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
rlesperance wrote:
I don't have the OS 9 Energy Saver control panel. Do you an idea where I can find it ?

It is part of a normal OS9 system installation and it should be with the other control panels. Is it not in your OS9 installation? Odd. Did you do the system installation yourself? Do you use an English or a French OS9? In OSX the preferences pane is called "Économiseur d'énergie" in French. Doesn't the control panel have the same name in MacOS9?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:30 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:46 am
Posts: 141
My OS 9 is in English and there is no such control panel. I don't recall exactly where the OS came from ... probably from the web somewhere.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:56 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 3029
Location: Emaculation.com
Do you have the install CD? This should have the control panel on it. If you just have the "live" Redundant Robot OS 9 image, that would have this sort of thing stripped out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:57 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:46 am
Posts: 141
I don't have the original install CD.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:46 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6081
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
adespoton wrote:
If you just have the "live" Redundant Robot OS 9 image, that would have this sort of thing stripped out.

The Redundant Robot "OS9.img" contains the Energy Saver control panel. But the system volume inside COI "Chubby Bunny" does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:06 pm 
Offline
Granny Smith

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:46 am
Posts: 141
As Ronald reminded me, my OS 9 probably comes from COI, my first SS install. Thanks ... I now have the control panel.

Quote:
Ronald said: If I set Energy Saver control panel in OS9 and set Energy Saver preferences in OSX for a longer delay before sleep. My iMac will go to sleep with SheepShaver running.


My iMac is set to sleep after 10 minutes and SheepShaver cannot be set for less than 30 minutes. What is it that I have to do exactly ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:32 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6081
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Set your iMac to sleep after more than 30 minutes. I tested it with setting it to 40 minutes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:22 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 3029
Location: Emaculation.com
You can also modify the prefs file to set it to less than 30 min. I remember doing this back in the day, but can't recall the details. It likely involves adjusting a ticks-since-epoch value in a binary file, so it's not for the faint of heart -- but it's doable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:51 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 6081
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I had a look at the Energy Saver preferences file. It has no data fork, only a resource fork. Opened it it ResEdit. Three resources of which one contains a description of the file in plain text. The content of the other two resources do not contain easily recognizable text or numbers that can be related to the settings in the control panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:37 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 3029
Location: Emaculation.com
Yup; that's what I remember. Somewhere in one of those resources is a tick count. You can figure out where by setting the time to 30 min, copying the prefs file, then setting to 60 min and re-copying the prefs file. Open both copies up in ResEdit, and you'll find the bit with the time :)

ResCompare makes this process a bit easier than ResEdit, and also allows you to create a patch file that others can use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 67
Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
Set your iMac to sleep after more than 30 minutes. I tested it with setting it to 40 minutes.


I set the OS9 Energy Saver panel to sleep in 30 minutes, and OSX to sleep in 45 minutes. With Sheepshaver running, the Mac did not sleep.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group