using Dropbox for file transfer?

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

etkins
Inquisitive Elf

using Dropbox for file transfer?

Post by etkins »

I've been using Sheepshaver successfully for a few years now on a desktop, and I'm so happy to have my old OS 9 Mac Classic applications to use again.

I have one new question about furthering my use. Is there any way to get files - just documents, work files - in and out of Sheepshaver using Dropbox? Or is there any other way to use the web/cloud to get files in and out?
adespoton
Forum All-Star

Re: using Dropbox for file transfer?

Post by adespoton »

I'm not sure that DropBox will work from OS 9; the SSL implementation is likely too old. That said, Classilla is pretty up to date, so it's possible you could use DropBox/etc. on it.

DropBox, of course, isn't all that secure, so ensure you encrypt your stuff before sharing it on there.

You could also run a Hotline/Web/whatever server on OS 9, and use any other system to pull the files off -- or use the shared folder.
etkins
Inquisitive Elf

Post by etkins »

Can you (or can anyone out there) provide some specifics in how to do this? I've got good skills, but I'm something of a noob when it comes to exploring and expanding my use of Sheepshaver.
adespoton
Forum All-Star

Post by adespoton »

There's already a guide on here for setting up a Hotline server; as far as Classilla goes, it's got its own website, and you can just download and install it.

For encryption, PGP is likely the way to go: http://www.pgpi.org/products/pgp/versions/freeware/mac/ -- for older Mac OS installs, you'll need PGP 2.6.3; for newer ones (including 7.5.5), you can use PGP 6 or 7.