Can't figure out how to mount a disc in volumes

About SheepShaver, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux that can run System 7.5.3 to MacOS 9.0.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg, ClockWise

jabba60000
Space Cadet

Can't figure out how to mount a disc in volumes

Post by jabba60000 »

I am brand new to sheep shaver and am unsure how to get it to play a game. I have read through the setup guides and think I am doing it right but it is still not working. I am running Mac OS Sierra 10.12.1 on a 2015 iMac. I have Sheep Shaver running from COIV4.0.1. It opens and runs OS 9 just fine and all the pre installed applications like word perfect work. I have a shared folder on Mac OS X which opens in OS 9 under the name Unix.

My issue is that I am trying to mount a disk image to the volumes folder under preferences in sheep shaver like the guides say but the image does not stay in the volumes when I restart sheep shaver. I am opening preferences in sheep shaver and clicking the add button, then navigating to the image, then clicking save. I shut down sheep shaver and when I open it again, the disc is not on the desktop like it is supposed to be. If I look in preferences again, it is gone from the volume list. Why is it not staying? I don't know enough about this program to figure out if I am even doing it right. The image is a disc image made using OS X disc utility in the .cdr format. I have also tried a .iso version I downloaded with the same results. Help!
Ronald P. Regensburg
Expert User

Re: Can't figure out how to mount a disc in volumes

Post by Ronald P. Regensburg »

jabba60000 wrote:My issue is that I am trying to mount a disk image to the volumes folder under preferences in sheep shaver like the guides say but the image does not stay in the volumes when I restart sheep shaver.