Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:51 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:47 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
Hi,

I just installed and set up SheepShaver using the online instructions but, whenever I try to launch it it starts up as a gray screen and ejects my Mac OS 8.5 CD and a floppy disk with a blinking "?" comes on the gray screen. I can't figure out how to fix this problem so any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:29 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

What is your host system?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 5:48 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
I am running 10.11.6 right now on an iMac using an external super drive for the CD, sheepshaver version is 2.4, hosting OS 8.5


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:47 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

As of Mac OSX 10.8 you can't access real CDs anymore. You will need to make a disk image of the CD and add that to the volumes list, using the preferences editor.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:31 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
I made a disk image of the CD and added it to the volumes list but I still get the floppy disk with the ''?''.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:01 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

Please check that you made the cd image read only by locking it in the finder.

Can you post a copy of your sheepshaver preferences?
Just open a terminal and type "open .sheepshaver_prefs" (no quotes, and mark the dot) and paste the content in your answer.

Is your CD known to boot a real mac?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:51 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
The CD image is read only and I can boot a mac off of it.

SheepShaver preferences:

disk /Volumes/Mac OS 8.5 2
disk Mac OS 8.5.dsk
floppy /dev/disk3
cdrom /dev/disk4
extfs Shared
screen win/640/480
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala
serialb
rom Mac OS ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 104857600
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal false
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
ether slirp
keycodes true
keycodefile keycodes
mousewheelmode 0
mousewheellines 1
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:26 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Please also make sure non of the disk images you are going to use are mounted on the desktop. If they are, unmount them before starting SheepShaver.

It seems strange to have the first disk at:
disk /Volumes/Mac OS 8.5 2

I'm assuming this is the disk image on which you want to install Mac OS?
Please put the disk image in the same folder as the sheepshaver program. The pref should then read:
disk Mac OS 8.5 2

next, assuming the 2nd entry is your cd image, put it as first entry in the list.
disk Mac OS 8.5.dsk

As SheepShaver always starts from the first entry in the list, the prefs should read:
disk Mac OS 8.5.dsk
disk Mac OS 8.5 2

You can edit the prefs through the editor. Also check that you have "Boot from" set to CD-ROM

Finally, what type of disk image did you choose when you made the CD image?
You should make sure to use either “read/write” (.dmg) or “DVD/CD Master” (.cdr)

For comparison, here is my prefs file allowing boot from CD image:
disk MacOS8.5.iso
disk MacOS85_500.img
cdrom /dev/poll/cdrom
extfs Shared
screen win/1024/768
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala
serialb
rom MacOSRom
bootdrive 0
bootdriver -62
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 1
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
ether
keycodes false
keycodefile
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true


Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:53 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
I did what you said and my preferences now look like this:

disk Mac OS 8.5.dmg
disk Mac OS 8.5.dsk
floppy /dev/disk3
cdrom /dev/disk4
extfs Shared
screen win/640/480
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala
serialb
rom Mac OS ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver 0
ramsize 104857600
frameskip 8
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal false
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
ether slirp
keycodes true
keycodefile keycodes
mousewheelmode 0
mousewheellines 1
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true


The first disk is my cd image which is a .dmg and the second is where I want to install OS. I am still having the same problem so I'm not sure if I made a mistake changing my preferences since some their are some differences between your preferences and mine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:01 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Try to use my prefs with your disks. Just copy the content below into your .sheepshaver_prefs file and try again.

disk Mac OS 8.5.dmg
disk Mac OS 8.5.dsk
cdrom /dev/poll/cdrom
extfs Shared
screen win/1024/768
windowmodes 0
screenmodes 0
seriala
serialb
rom Mac OS ROM
bootdrive 0
bootdriver -62
ramsize 67108864
frameskip 1
gfxaccel true
nocdrom false
nonet false
nosound false
nogui false
noclipconversion false
ignoresegv true
ignoreillegal true
jit true
jit68k false
keyboardtype 5
ether
keycodes false
keycodefile
mousewheelmode 1
mousewheellines 3
dsp /dev/dsp
mixer /dev/mixer
ignoresegv true
idlewait true


From where did you get the rom file? If it is from the redundant robot site, then it should be OK.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
Your Preferences had no effect. I used the ROM file that came on the Mac OS 8.5 CD.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 11:13 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Ah,

That will not work.
Please download the one from the redundant robot website marked "best for sheepshaver"
and rename it to Mac OS ROM (please make sure the file has no hidden extension).

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:38 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1863
The problem is with the disk image, I think. A proper CD image will be called .cdr; .dmg is for compressed images, which won't boot properly. You can choose Image Format CD/DVD Master from the Disk Utility save dialog.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:47 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4872
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Nog all .dmg images are compressed. A read/write .dmg disk image created with Disk Utility will also work fine. See the setup manual about how to create and use a disk image with SheepShaver.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:56 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:40 am
Posts: 7
Hi,

I swapped out the ROM file but it doesn't seem to make a difference and I did use disk utility to make the .dmg read/write.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:39 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1042
Location: Germany
Maybe an image proven working would clarify things?

The 120 MB image from Redundant Robot should do for a trial:
http://www.redundantrobot.com/sheepshav ... es/OS9.img

Or the 7.5.3 image here, the OldWorldROM would be needed in that case:
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/macos-753-emulators


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group