Login  •  Register


The time is now: Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:53 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Running in Kali Linux
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:55 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 2
Hi, I am trying to get SheepShaver to work on Kali Linux. I have already gotten it built and installed, I have a ROM file and a disk image for the system install already. I can get the program to launch okay by navigating into the folder where the ROM file is located and launching it.

However, according to the instructions the GUI screen where SheepShaver is configured is supposed to appear when it starts up; however all I get is the default Mac screen with the blinking question mark on the floppy disk icon, indicating no system folder is present. I need to get the SheepShaver GUI to appear so I can mount the system disk, but it does not appear on startup and I can't figure out how to make it appear.

If it helps I currently just have both the ROM file and the System install disk image saved in my Downloads folder and that is where I am launching the program from, since the instructions did not specify where to put the ROM file. I don't know if the ROM file needs to be in a specific location or not or if that has anything to do with the problem. I am running SheepShaver as superuser.

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:23 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4201
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Perhaps you didn't compile with the gui enabled.
Check the build options with ./configure --help

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:37 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1863
It's also worth noting that once you've run it to the blinking question mark, the prefs file will be created, so you can open that up manually and add the path to your boot disk.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:27 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:39 am
Posts: 2
cool thank you guys, I was able to get the disk mounted via the preferences. one more question: is it possible to turn on the fullscreen mode by editing the preferences file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:11 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 1863
kraftycheese wrote:
cool thank you guys, I was able to get the disk mounted via the preferences. one more question: is it possible to turn on the fullscreen mode by editing the preferences file?


Possible, yes... set it to fullscreen instead of window.

However, this can cause problems on some builds in practice so YMMV.

A quick reference to the prefs file can be found here:
https://github.com/sentient06/Medusa/wi ... X-and-Unix

I'm not sure if we've got anything outlining the Linux prefs in the wiki on here, but sentient06's documentation should be accurate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group