Login  •  Register


The time is now: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:09 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:34 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:10 am
Posts: 2
hi
I am new to all this. I am on Sierra 10.12.6
My Shhepsaver only seems to load once when I switch my mac on. It will not load again.
Assuming it is already loaded, how do I access the Mac os 9 desktop
Ed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:12 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4872
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
ed brumby wrote:
My Shhepsaver only seems to load once when I switch my mac on. It will not load again.

Exactly what do you mean? SheepShaver does nothing when you switch on your Mac. SheepShaver is an application that needs to be launched.

- Did you download SheepShaver from our download post here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=7360 ?
- Did you perform the workaround for Sierra that is described there under "Compatibility notes"?
- Did you follow our setup manual here: http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/she ... os_x_setup ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:14 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:10 am
Posts: 2
Hi
sorry for my misleading post. I meant it won't launch twice.
I am a bit confused by the instruction:
- macOS 10.12 (Sierra)
There is an issue with macOS 10.12 Sierra (in fact with an additional new security feature in Sierra) that prevents a newly installed SheepShaver to run. The procedure to get it running is simply to copy the program (only the SheepShaver application itself!) to the desktop, remove the old program in the SheepShaver folder and move the new copy from the desktop to the SheepShaver folder.

Do you mean copy the newly downloaded copy to the desktop, and move this to replace the old copy?
Do I have to do this every time I run sheep shaver?
Ed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:54 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 4872
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You need to be more specific about which files you use and what you do with them. There are many variation of SheepShaver floating around. The instructions are for the recommended February 2014 SheepShaver build. Do you use that build?

The workaround for Sierra needs to be done only once. Copy SheepShaver from the SheepShaver folder to the desktop, delete the original SheepShaver from the SheepShaver folder and move the copy from the desktop back to the SheepShaver folder.

I do not understand what you mean when you say that you cannot launch SheepShaver twice. I suppose you have a compatible ROM file named "Mac OS ROM" installed. Without that ROM file in place, you would not be able to launch SheepShaver at all. At first launch of SheepShaver, without further configuration, you will see the window with floppy icon and blinking question mark. At that stage, when you do not proceed with configuration and installing a Mac OS system, you can only quit SheepShaver by using control-escape. After that you can launch SheepShaver again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 24bit and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group