Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:04 pm

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:56 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:54 am
Posts: 1
I am trying to run a cd-rom on sheepshaver. When clicking the installation file on it I get this error: "application was unable to start due to an error. Please contact customer support"

I imagine this means I've run into a sheepshaver limitation or is there something I should know to run cd-roms?

thanks and best,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:25 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5019
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Please give more information about your setup: Which host system? Which SheepShaver build? What kind of CD-ROM with which software? Did the error have a number?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:26 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
I've got a problem too with the Reading of a CD rom on sheepshaver. Not exactly the same as said in the first post but, when I put the CD on my computer (a MacbookPro version 10.12.6 (16G1314)) and launch Sheepshaver, it recognizes it as a hard disk I guess, in fact, it asks me to initialize it, as it did at the first start of sheepshaver. It doesn't just make it appear on the MacOS9 desktop.. I don't know how to do to open this game, I'm kinda desperate... can you help me please ?
Thanks
Alice16341


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:04 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5019
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
As is explained in the setup guide and in many topics in this forum: OSX 10.8 and later, so also macOS 10.12, prevents mounting of physical CD-ROMs in SheepShaver. You will need to make a disk image from the CD and use that. See the instructions in the setup guide.
(I am not sure if the volume that OS9 wants to initialize in your case is indeed the CD-ROM as SheepShaver should not be able to "see" that disk at all.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:19 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
It does that only when i previously inserted a CD-ROM on my computer so...
I didn’t find any answer in the forum which gave me a precise answer about my problem
How can I find the topic which talk about that ?
Thank you so much for your reply


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:26 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4337
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

See here:
https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sh ... own_issues

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:08 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:18 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks, it worked! but now I installed the game in macOS9 and when I try to open it, it closes sheepshaver.... what is the problem now ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:49 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:15 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,
I have also tried to load a CD in sheepshaver (on Mac OS X 10.11.6), following your advices.
Now I am stuck at the last step: "Use the SheepShaver preferences editor to add the image to the volumes list. Shut down and restart SheepShaver. The CD will show up on the desktop".
As I cannot choice the preferences directly I started MacOS9 with the option key so to get the menu.
Here is what I get:
1) Set MacOS9 s... en size options
2) Select OSX/m...9 Unix folder
3)Create/manage...data disc image
4)Restore default....references file
5)Copy MacOS9 macOS desktop
6) open user-spe.... folder Finder
7Open MacOS9....folder in finder
8)Quit without opening MacOS9

When I select now number 3) I am asked: "Delete existing user data disk image, or delete and replace with a new one". Obviously it's not what I need.

Maybe you have an advice for me so to see my Cubase VST image CD on the OS9 desktop.
Thanks for any help,
Romain


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:13 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:24 pm
Posts: 5019
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
You apparently do not use a regular SheepShaver setup. What do you use and where did you get it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:33 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:15 pm
Posts: 2
Hello,
It is SheepShaver MacOS9 (2014.12.22).
Honestly, I can't remember where I have found it as I am desperately trying to run my Cubase, or on my old original Mac G4 or on my 2 years old MacBook, reading a lot and looking for solutions wherever possible. Maybe on one of the OS9 Forums I found it, but I am not sure about that.
So, shall I download another version of Sheepshaver? It would be a pity if somebody copied your work, maybe there is another explanation for the behaviour. When I choose "preferences" in Sheepshaver I receive an message saying: This system does not use the standard SheepShaver preferences pane.
To set preferences, hold down the Option key when starting the application and use the menus.
Also see the detailed instructions: http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/macos9osx.html
Romain


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:56 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:47 pm
Posts: 1114
Location: Germany
I´m not wanting to scatter anybody´s illusions, but I don´t think that Cubase VST 24 will run in SheepShaver.
I had a short look at this: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/cubase-vst24-40
The app hangs in demo mode, after complaining about missing SCSI HHDs.

Image

Basilisk II build 142 and Fusion PC do have SCSI and floppy support, but both can´t run PPC apps.
Another downside, there is no MIDI support in Basilisk II or SheepShaver.
It seems that Cubase VST needs a special floppy for unlocking, but we can´t use floppies with SheepShaver.
Maybe an image of such a master floppy would work, but I doubt it.

Cubase Audio 2.X is said to be working with SheepShaver and Basilisk II.
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/cubase-audio-20
However there is this hint on the above page:
Warning: This software is copy protected, only users with the Cubase Audio hardware key (red) *AND* the Master Disk will be able to use this software.
The hardware key likely was a ADB dongle, so thats another dead end, I´m afraid.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group