E-Maculation
https://www.emaculation.com/forum/

Apeiron mouse problem
https://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=9711
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Tooncinator [ Thu May 17, 2018 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Apeiron mouse problem

Hello again.

I am running a version of Sheepshaver acquired from columbia.edu, and I am running it on Windows 7, 64-bit. I think the version from there is mostly a standard installation with some scripts to make file transfer lazier.

The link for that download is here: http://www.columbia.edu/~em36/macos9win.html

Anyway, I, once again, have a problem with Apeiron, a game I wish to run. The game launches fine, and it runs perfectly except for one "small" problem. When actually *playing* the game, the mouse will no longer move your ship around. It will still fire, and you can clear some waves that way by just being a little stationary turret, but it's not as much fun as playing it. In addition, the mouse does not work properly when adjusting the controls. I can't actually click anything in the controls interface, it will just verify that I am indeed pressing the mouse one button, but it won't adjust any sliders or tick any boxes. I have to use the keyboard to get out of that screen. Keyboard works fine, by the way.

Assistance would be greatly appreciated! This game is crucial to my grandmother's continued (happy) survival.

Author:  adespoton [ Thu May 17, 2018 6:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Did you ever try it under Mini vMac II as suggested? That mouse glitch is going to be hard to get past on Windows SheepShaver.

Although you may also want to use the versions of the emulators linked from this site, as they tend to be the most tested/documented.

Author:  Tooncinator [ Thu May 17, 2018 6:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Do you know of a guide to getting Mini vMac II to work? I downloaded it, but I'm kind of lost on getting it to actually work. Sorry about that.

Edit: Did some serious detective work and discovered a guide right here on Emaculation.

Author:  24bit [ Thu May 17, 2018 6:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

I think I can put something together later.
I´ll have a look at my MEGA cloud too, if you may use something there.
MiniVMac just needs the app, ROM and boot disk.

Fusion PC either in DOSBox or on real hardware (Pentium III, Windows 98) may be worth a try too.

Author:  Tooncinator [ Thu May 17, 2018 6:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Ooh, Fusion PC. I'll look into that, too. Man, how many Mac emulators are there? Thanks!

Author:  24bit [ Thu May 17, 2018 11:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Seems this is an oddball really.
I tried game sprockets 1.7.5 and MacOS 8.6 and there is a controls button on the main screen.
However, I can´t seem to configure anything.

Image

If the keyboard settings could somehow made working, that might be a solution.
Why the mouse is misbehaving just with this game is a mystery to me.

Author:  Tooncinator [ Thu May 17, 2018 11:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

It certainly is odd... works everywhere else except in-game and in the controls. I hope it can be fixed! Otherwise, I might have to acquire an old Mac somewhere.

Author:  24bit [ Fri May 18, 2018 10:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

From a short look, the mouse issue persists with MinIVMac II, unfortunately.
BII Build 142 and Fusion are still to try.
I´m afraid the game is not using mouse system calls as recommended,
but wants to talk to the ADB mouse directly.

Edit: The obvious combo DOSBox/Fusion30 fails sadly.
Not sure if anybody is willing or able to configure DOSBox with 12MB RAM or so.
DOSBox default RAM is 4MB.

Image

Edit2:
Basilisk II Build 142 shows the same unmovable mouse problem.
FusionPC 3.0 handles the mouse for Apeiron correctly!
I only have a Virtual Box installation to try right now where sound is not working.
As mouse is working, I´m positive Apeiron will be fully working with Fusion on matching hardware,
e.g. a Pentium III or Pentium 4 rig with Windows ME or lower running in DOS mode.

If somebody would fix the non working SoundBlaster output in VirtualBox with the VBox instance here,
it would be much appreciated: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/fusion-pc (6th DL)

Here is a screenshot, please note the black square. :)
Apeiron/MacOS6/FusionPC/DOS/VirtualBox

Image

Author:  Cat_7 [ Fri May 18, 2018 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

I got Apeiron 1.02 working with mouse in Mac OS 9.2 using the qemu screamer build and the 256 colour vga driver.
The usb mouse and keyboard should not be used.

Best,
Cat_7

Author:  24bit [ Fri May 18, 2018 10:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Great!
I thought that someone should try Qemu.
Much better than tinkering with DOS.

Author:  Tooncinator [ Sat May 19, 2018 6:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Apeiron mouse problem

Thank you!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/