E-Maculation
https://www.emaculation.com/forum/

No "Browse" button in Prefs editor
https://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=9993
Page 1 of 1

Author:  RatedRKhan [ Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:47 pm ]
Post subject:  No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

Im trying to setup an older copy I had of SheepShaver, but there's no "browse" button for me to locate my ROM file or Unix root.

What am I doing wrong?

https://imgur.com/a/AaQnR2x

Author:  Ronald P. Regensburg [ Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

You are doing nothing wrong. In this older version of the prefs editor you need to enter the path to the files manually. For files that are in the same folder with SheepShaver, the file names will suffice.

Why do you try to use this older version? Newer SheepShaver builds with built-in prefs editor (with Browse buttons) are available that will run in MacOSX 10.4 (Tiger), PPC and Intel.

Author:  RatedRKhan [ Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

Ronald P. Regensburg wrote:
You are doing nothing wrong. In this older version of the prefs editor you need to enter the path to the files manually. For files that are in the same folder with SheepShaver, the file names will suffice.

Why do you try to use this older version? Newer SheepShaver builds with built-in prefs editor (with Browse buttons) are available that will run in MacOSX 10.4 (Tiger), PPC and Intel.


I thought I had the new one... I'll try redownloading it and get back with you.

Author:  RatedRKhan [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

Looks like the SheepShaver application has a preferences within the application, which is what your guide was referring to. Somehow I have a separate preferences editor that does not have the browse feature.The situation seems to have resolved itself.

Thanks for the assist, my friend. Escape Velocity is back, baby!!!

Author:  classicmacreborn [ Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

It would be nice if there were a standalone SS prefs editor (is there one already?). Or a prefs swapper/manager. I'm always having to change the drives around because I'm constantly breaking OS9 meddling with system files and have to load the install cd and go back and move everything back around. It's not much of a hassle, but it is for me because I'm having to change it around once a minute sometimes.

Actually the nicest solution would just be to have an entry to choose a mac os install cd. Then you click a checkbox that says "boot next time with install cd" and then boots once and resets the prefs when the application is closed.

Should be pretty easy to implement. Another idea to add to my scrapbook.

Author:  Ronald P. Regensburg [ Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: No "Browse" button in Prefs editor

The old standalone prefs editor is still available: http://www.xs4all.nl/~ronaldpr/sheepsha ... rPrefs.zip
It is a (PPC and 32-bit Intel) "fat" application. Some settings that were introduced later are missing.

A simple way to choose whether or not an image is loaded at startup in SheepShaver, is to move it in the host Finder to a different location or back again. SheepShaver will ignore an invalid path.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/