Login  •  Register


The time is now: Wed May 27, 2020 9:24 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 3:06 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:59 pm
Posts: 11
I can't select it from the prom. How do you boot Mandrake Linux?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 2:45 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2951
Location: Emaculation.com
PearPC isn't a generic G3/G4 emulator; it's designed to boot OS X 10.1 through 10.4, with no sound.

You'd be better off using QEMU-PPC which actually emulates the hardware and should boot MandrakePPC.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 4:34 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:59 pm
Posts: 11
But actually when I boot the Mandrake Linux PPC cd in qemu it says no Valid state has been set by load or init-program.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 5:03 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2951
Location: Emaculation.com
Yes; you still need to actually set up an appropriate bootloader or use a manual boot command in OpenBIOS. But unlike PearPC, it's possible to do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 5:51 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4887
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
I don't know how to boot Mandrake with Qemu, but there are various other ppc distros to choose from:

https://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Platforms/PowerPC

EDIT: By now I do know how to boot Mandrake. Add this to your Qemu command line:
-prom-env "boot-device=cd:,\boot\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=cd:,\boot\yaboot.conf"
(perhaps you need to replace the " with ' )

This is my current command line (in Windows)
qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-boot d ^
-m 512 ^
-M mac99,via=pmu ^
-sdl ^
-g 1024x768x32 ^
-prom-env "boot-device=cd:,\boot\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=cd:,\boot\yaboot.conf" ^
-cdrom d:\Linux-images\MandrakeLinux-9.1-CD1.ppc.iso

Booting ends up with half screen graphics....
You can enter "install-text" at the mandrake install prompt.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 6:15 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2951
Location: Emaculation.com
I'll add this discussion thread from PearPC in 2004 for completeness:

https://sourceforge.net/p/pearpc/discus ... /07c0e95a/

This is for Mandrake Linux 9.1 PPC and the issue was never fixed.

Also, Mandrake 9.1 will probably behave somewhat differently than Mandriva... possibly it'll get through the setup process.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:06 am 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:59 pm
Posts: 11
Cat_7 wrote:
I don't know how to boot Mandrake with Qemu, but there are various other ppc distros to choose from:

https://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Platforms/PowerPC

EDIT: By now I do know how to boot Mandrake. Add this to your Qemu command line:
-prom-env "boot-device=cd:,\boot\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=cd:,\boot\yaboot.conf"
(perhaps you need to replace the " with ' )

This is my current command line (in Windows)
qemu-system-ppc.exe ^
-L pc-bios ^
-boot d ^
-m 512 ^
-M mac99,via=pmu ^
-sdl ^
-g 1024x768x32 ^
-prom-env "boot-device=cd:,\boot\yaboot" -prom-env "boot-args=conf=cd:,\boot\yaboot.conf" ^
-cdrom d:\Linux-images\MandrakeLinux-9.1-CD1.ppc.iso

Booting ends up with half screen graphics....
You can enter "install-text" at the mandrake install prompt.

Best,
Cat_7

Does Mandrake need bootstrap partition?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Re: boot mandrake linux
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 7:05 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4887
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
It tells you so, so yes.

Shall I predict your next question? You are in uncharted waters here, so we hope your experience will add to the knowledge gathered here.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group