AWay For Using 2 Hard Drives

About PearPC, a mostly obsolete PPC Mac emulator for Windows and Linux to run MacOS X 10.1 up to 10.4. Using QEMU is now recommended.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Locked
$tealth
Student Driver
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

AWay For Using 2 Hard Drives

Post by $tealth »

Simpley just do this

pci_ide0_master_installed = 1
pci_ide0_master_image = "macosx_6gb.img"
pci_ide0_master_type = "hd"

pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
#pci_ide0_slave_image = "c:\test.iso"
pci_ide0_slave_image = "Mac Os 9.iso"
#pci_ide0_slave_image = "/dev/cdrom"
pci_ide0_slave_type = "cdrom"

thats the real one now you just do this

pci_ide0_master_installed = 1
pci_ide0_master_image = "macosx_6gb.img"
pci_ide0_master_type = "hd"

pci_ide0_slave_installed = 1
#pci_ide0_slave_image = "c:\test.iso"
pci_ide0_slave_image = "to a hard drive.img"
#pci_ide0_slave_image = "/dev/cdrom"
pci_ide0_slave_type = "hd"

now there only one thing you will not have a cdrom but you will be using 2 hard drive. i posted this becasue i thought that no one might of know that. :)
CaptainValor
Forum All-Star
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm

Post by CaptainValor »

Nice tip. I assume you've tried this and it works?
Mardagg
Student Driver
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Mardagg »

Yeah it works, I use it all the time. I have a 3gb boot image and a 6gb storage drive.
$tealth
Student Driver
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

Post by $tealth »

Yep it is cool when you done installing mac os x you can get wid of the cdrom and have to drives. We dont need the cdrom after mac osx is on:)
Cybermagellan
Forum All-Star
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Location: Arizona

Post by Cybermagellan »

Very nice.....seeing that this is something people are probably going to want to export programs and files back and forth this should make it into the nightly "one day"
CaptainValor
Forum All-Star
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm

Post by CaptainValor »

Mardagg wrote:Yeah it works, I use it all the time. I have a 3gb boot image and a 6gb storage drive.
How did you format the second drive? Using the Disk Utility inside OS X?
$tealth
Student Driver
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

Post by $tealth »

Yea you just use Disk Utility like normal it should ask you when you start pearpc :) good luck dude
Cyman
Tinkerer
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 2:56 pm
Contact:

Post by Cyman »

Can I edit a Mac formatted image with an ISO tool like UltraISO, add Mac files to it, then save the changes on the image and use it in PearPC, so that I can get some files (like OS X update packages) in my PearPC system?
Cybermagellan
Forum All-Star
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Location: Arizona

Post by Cybermagellan »

I would assume so.....remember the images are touchable however readable by PearPC. So as long as it is in a format that a Mac can read I don't see why not
gucci234
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 7:58 pm

Post by gucci234 »

OK how do you do that in ultraiso because i tryed just opening the file and it said like iso 966 file something error does this mean it cant open .img files in the open thing in the drop down file type box it says it supports .img......so is there something im missing???????

Thanks
Locked