Can PearPC read DMG images?

About PearPC, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows and Linux that can run MacOS X up to 10.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

User avatar
Yukon Kid
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:27 pm

Post by Yukon Kid »

so what do I need to run this app?
do i have to have perl or is it a stand alone?

glad you made it, thanks
User avatar
kybernaut
Apple Corer
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:25 am
Location: Germany

Post by kybernaut »

vu1tur wrote: hm... you mean it doesn't boot if converting with dmg2iso, and does boot if converting in MacOSX ?
I'm talking about the DMG images that were distributed to beta testers. They were only able to boot a (real) Mac when burnt with the OS X built-in burning application... Anyway that was probably a kind of 'dirty hack' from Apple's side :P Unfortunately, I dont have these images anymore...
vu1tur
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:39 pm

Post by vu1tur »

Yukon Kid wrote:so what do I need to run this app?
do i have to have perl or is it a stand alone?
glad you made it, thanks
Yes, you need to have perl installed.
kybernaut wrote:They were only able to boot a (real) Mac when burnt with the OS X built-in burning application... Anyway that was probably a kind of 'dirty hack' from Apple's side Unfortunately, I dont have these images anymore...
oh, I see... Maybe I even know what the hack was. They have a copy of first sector in the end of the dmg image, which usually differs from the one in the iso image. :wink:
Jackalo
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Location: Illinois, USA
Contact:

Post by Jackalo »

Code: Select all

while (perl_script == true)
{
     MacOS_X_warezDownloads++;
}
User avatar
kybernaut
Apple Corer
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:25 am
Location: Germany

Post by kybernaut »

Jackalo wrote:

Code: Select all

while (perl_script == true)
{
     MacOS_X_warezDownloads++;
}
I own my Mac OS X Install CDs.

I'm sorry that I brought up the beta DMG issue, but I thougt it could be of technical relevance. The 'unbootable' betas were something that was broadly discussed a year ago. They were even unbootable when burnt with Toast, the #1 burning application for Macintosh.


--kybernaut
User avatar
charnov
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:42 pm

Uh..shared folder

Post by charnov »

I just share a folder on the PC side and mount it on the OS X side and run dmg files directly from the shared drive. Actually, I run a lot of software from the share.
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

can NOT visit http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/, any suggestions?
vu1tur
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:39 pm

Post by vu1tur »

felixding wrote:can NOT visit http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/, any suggestions?
what do you mean can't visit? Does it say smth? Here's a direct link: http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/dmg2iso.zip
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Post by robojam »

Take note of the comma you put in the URL...
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
Undertaker
Space Cadet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 12:37 pm

Post by Undertaker »

vu1tur wrote:
felixding wrote:can NOT visit http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/, any suggestions?
what do you mean can't visit? Does it say smth? Here's a direct link: http://vu1tur.eu.org/tools/dmg2iso.zip
the link is down.
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Post by robojam »

The link is not down, it is just an invalid URL.
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

robojam wrote:
Take note of the comma you put in the URL...
faint..

i mean i can't connect to this web server(209.25.134.190)
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Post by robojam »

No, I can't connect to 209.25.134.190 either, as it is the web root and so I don't have the privileges to connect.

However, I can use the link given and connect to it if I remove the comma.
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
vu1tur
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:39 pm

Post by vu1tur »

felixding wrote: i mean i can't connect to this web server(209.25.134.190)
the server doesn't have his own ip. It's a virtualhost.
Probably your proxy doesn't work as it supposed to...
Cybermagellan
Forum All-Star
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Location: Arizona

Post by Cybermagellan »

vu1tur: If this program works go ahead and send it to me and I'll serve it for you on my site...send me a E-mail to let me know what you wanna do. If DMG's are really considered warez for the install there are some people that have failed updates...prehaps taking the 80MB download and changing it to a .iso will work for them. Anyone know?
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

vu1tur wrote:
felixding wrote: i mean i can't connect to this web server(209.25.134.190)
the server doesn't have his own ip. It's a virtualhost.
Probably your proxy doesn't work as it supposed to...
thanks, from the domain you posted i know this ip, i pinged this but got no replies. perhaps you are right, it's not my fault and i can do nothing to go further.
btw, of course, i guessed it would be a virtualhost :)
vu1tur
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:39 pm

Post by vu1tur »

felixding
pm me with your e-mail, I'll send it if you still need it.
PS: your connection is really weird. Go do something about it :)
Cybermagellan wrote:vu1tur: If this program works go ahead and send it to me and I'll serve it for you on my site...send me a E-mail to let me know what you wanna do.
no, thank you. This is the first time someone has problems accessing my site.

2All: but if anyone else does, pm me with your e-mail I'll just send it to ya.
User avatar
Yukon Kid
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:27 pm

Post by Yukon Kid »

vu1tur
from above posts

your first addy give code 404 not found
your 2nd addy with the direct link to the tool gives the dl of the file no problem.

not sure what you think should be seen from the first addy.
ps using safari on my g5 with cable modem connection
User avatar
kybernaut
Apple Corer
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:25 am
Location: Germany

Post by kybernaut »

felixding unintentionally put a comma at the end...
felixding
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by felixding »

kybernaut wrote:felixding unintentionally put a comma at the end...
yeah, i konw it. :lol:
i of course know this comma, i'm not so silly to make this kind of mistake, anyway, thanks for your advice
Post Reply