Post Your System Specs..

About PearPC, a PPC Mac emulator for Windows and Linux that can run MacOS X up to 10.4.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
User avatar
chelios
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:36 am

Post Your System Specs..

Post by chelios »

..and let us know how PPC performs on it.

I myself have 2 machines that iv'e run ppc on:
P4 2.4Ghz
512MB DDR 2600
Radeon 9700Pro
ATA HDD 7200RPM

Runs pretty good on this computer on the latest builds, slows down when it needs alot of disk access though.

Athlon 64 3200
1GB DDR 3200
Radeon 9800XT Pro 256MB version
S-ATA HDD 10K RPM

Runs pretty much perfectly, but stull stutters at some points. I can work on it on this machine, all thanks to the RAM. Corsair is lovely.
rudefyet
Granny Smith
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:07 am

Post by rudefyet »

and now for the POS

Dell Latitude CPt-C
650Mhz Celeron
128mb PC100
Neomagic 256ZX w/ 4 meg video memory
14.1" LCD
60gib Fujitsu IDE 4200rpm
Windows XP/Slackware Linux

No differnece in cpu emulation between the 2 oses...but it crawls in windows due to the lack of free memory (likes to flood my virtual memory)

In linux it's quite usable believe it or not...i'd say reminiscant of a 233 G3 :wink: (maybe a little slower)

not fast but by all means...it works!
CaptainValor
Forum All-Star
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm

Post by CaptainValor »

Here are the specs for my custom rig...


AthlonXP 2500+
Radeon 9500 Pro 128mb (softmodded to 9700 and overclocked)
512mb DDR333
60gb 7200rpm Western Digital (OS drive)
80gb 7200rpm Maxtor (data drive)
17" vpr Matrix CRT
Creative SB Extigy
Windows XP Pro

I'm satisfied with my performance on this machine. Only thing I might do is add more RAM to get it to a gig. :)
prasys
Forum All-Star
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Location: MY
Contact:

Post by prasys »

Althon XP 2400+
ABIT NFS-7S Motherboard
nVidia GeForce MX 440 SE 64 MB
40 GB of HDD
8 GB of HDD (2nd HDD)
17 inch Philips CRT Monitor
nVidia SoundStorm and Altec Lansing Speakers (2:1)
Windows XP Pro


I have to tell you , it can smooth and slow
jbartone
Space Cadet
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 1:08 am

Post by jbartone »

Athlon XP 2400+
Epox 8RDA+ nForce 2
2 x 256MB DDR333 in Dual Channel mode
160GB 8MB HD
crappy old 15" HP Pavilion monitor
GeForce 3 ti 200
Windows XP Professional SP1
scriptkiddie
Student Driver
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 2:03 am

Post by scriptkiddie »

Primary Desktop:
Athlon 64bit 3400
2 x 512MB DDR333 (Dual Channel)
7200 RPM 120GB Hard Drive (8 meg buffer)
Dell Ultra Sharp 15" LCD
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
WinXP SP1a and Gentoo Linux

Primary Laptop:
Inspiron 9100
Pentium 4 (Hyper Threading) 3.2ghz
2x256 Dual Channel RAM
7200 RPM 60 Gig Hard Drive
ATI Mobility Radeon 9700
Windows XP SP1a, Slackware, and BeOS

I have only tried setting up PearPC on my inspiron, but I'm thinking I really should try it on my desktop some time in the near future.
Mac Emu
Forum All-Star
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 11:50 am
Location: Ouraion

Post by Mac Emu »

Desktop:

AthlonXP 2500+
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU (32 MB System RAM)
512mb DDR333
40gb 7200rpm Western Digital
17" Philips 107S CRT
NVIDIA nForce Built-in Audio
Windows XP Pro SP1 & SUSE 9.1 Personal


Laptop #1: ThinkPad 600e

PII 366MHz
NeoMagic MagicMedia256AV video chipset (4 MB of SGRAM)
224 MB RAM
12 GB hard drive
13.3" TFT with 1024 x 768 resolution
Crystal Audio CS4239 Sound Chipset
Windows 98se, Mandrake 9.2, Windows 2000 Pro SP4

OS X took about 16 hours total to install in PearPC on the ThinkPad. Basilisk II and SheepShaver work fast enough though.
Last edited by Mac Emu on Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Cat_7
Expert User
Posts: 5103
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands

Post by Cat_7 »

2 identical desktops:
-Asus p4c800 deluxe
-Intel PIV 3ghz hyperthreading
-1 Gb
-160 Gb Maxtor sata HD
-Nvidia GeForce FX5200
-IIyama Prolite LCD E431s 1280x1024
-Creative AudigyII
-Intel 1Gb Nic

One running Mandrake 10
One running Windows 2003 advanced server

Depending on what build I use sometimes the linux machine seems faster, sometimes the windows machine. But both run reasonably fast.

Cat_7
CaptainValor
Forum All-Star
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 11:57 pm

Post by CaptainValor »

jbartone wrote:Epox 8RDA+ nForce 2
That's my motherboard, too! Awesome! :D
User avatar
chelios
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:36 am

Post by chelios »

CaptainValor wrote:
jbartone wrote:Epox 8RDA+ nForce 2
That's my motherboard, too! Awesome! :D
Geeks, you gotta love em.
micky
Space Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Post by micky »

That's my mother board too :)
Athlon XP 2400+ (2004 Mhz)
512 DDR
80 GB Maxtor
Ati Radeon 9200 SE DualHead (It does wonders for 2 simultaneous users) :)
2 Dell P790 17" Displays

XP/sp1 / Fedora Core 2 / Redhat 9 / Mandrake 10
Linux Rulz`
User avatar
charnov
Student Driver
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:42 pm

Post by charnov »

eMachines 6805 Laptop
1.8 GHz Athlon 64 1MB cache
512 MB DDR
Radeon 9600
40 Gig slow (4200 RPM) HD
XP Pro

I can run OS X in PPC pre.3 set to use 256 MB at a decent clip doing things like browsing and word processing, etc. while running other large apps on the XP side. I wish I had a gig in the lappy, though as I am pushing that 512 for usage. On most apps that are not either AltiVec or FPU bound in OS X, it is nearly as fast as my friends 333 MHz G3 iMac (?). In stuff that is memory or disk bound, I blow him away. If PPC can get to 800 MHz G4 speeds, then it will perfection ;-)
User avatar
Yukon Kid
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 6:27 pm

Post by Yukon Kid »

main computer G5 Dual.. 'nuf said?
haha

Ok the PC
K7S5A PRO board
amd 2100+ xp
ATI 9200 se video
512meg ram
40 gig wd hd
1 gig wd hd
panasonic 106 dvd r/w (same as the drive in the G5)
can't remember the other dvd reader.
serial touch pad mouse
optical ps2 mouse
firewire card
running XP Home.

Lan has these 2 computers plus a printer server.
The router is a Linksys DSL router (4 connections)

I also have a 6200CD Performa that I sometimes turn on and connect to the lan. All the computers "see" each other, and the printer server works well.
I had 2 17" monitors and I share the monitor on the G5 with the 6200CD.
Jackalo
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Location: Illinois, USA
Contact:

Post by Jackalo »

Primary Desktop:

Asus P4PE-BP
Pentium 4B 2.53GHz w/ 533FSB
1.5GB PC2700 DDR (512MB x 3)

Western Digital 40GB 7200RPM
Western Digital 60GB 7200RPM
Western Digital 200GB 7200RPM w/ 8MB Cache x 2

Iomega ZIP100 Internal Drive
IBM Diskette Drive
TDK 48x32x48 CD-RW
LG 16x DVD-ROM

21" NEC MultiSync 5D CRT
17" NEC MultiSync FE771SB CRT x 2

ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
3DFX Voodoo3 3000 PCI x 2
SoundBlaster Audigy PCI
SIIG ATA133 IDE/RAID Controller PCI
Logitech Cordless Bluetooth Keyboard & Mouse

I don't have any reference point outside of this desktop, but I do know that it could probably run faster if I had a better motherboard. This Asus has way too many instability issues.



Primary Laptop:

Compaq Presario 3045US w/ 16" LCD
Pentium 4B 2.4GHz w/ 533FSB
1GB PC2700 DDR (512MB x 2)
60GB 7200RPM Hitachi
24x12x24x12 Slim CD-RW/DVD-ROM
SiS 650M Onboard Video

For some reason, I couldn't get PearPC to finish installing OS 10.2, it always seemed to lockup just right before the last few files. I had more luck with OS 10.3. Things are quite zippy on this laptop, mainly due to the fact of a full breed Pentium 4 inside of it, not some restricted version.



I'm about to upgrade to an Intel D875PBZ motherboard and a Pentium 4 3GHz Prescott on my desktop. Yum.
Last edited by Jackalo on Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Neospy
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Woodway, Texas, USA
Contact:

my system

Post by Neospy »

Totally custom built (by me)

Motherboard: GIGABYTE K7 Triton Series Nvidia NForce 2 chipset
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1500+
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce 4 4200Ti
Audio: Integrated Motherboard Audio AAC 97'? I am going to install my new Audigy 2ZS Gamer card, though
Speakers: Klipsch THX Promedia 2.1
Monitor: Sony SDM-M81 18.1 in. viewable.
HD: 2 WD hd's
Winxp Pro



>Neospy 8)
Neospy
Mac Mechanic
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Woodway, Texas, USA
Contact:

Oh,

Post by Neospy »

My laptop.

Sony Vaio Picturebook C1XS (Basilisk II Runs great!)

CPU: 400MHZ P2
Speakers: Sony integrated
No CD (have external)
No Floppy (have external)
IR port
TV/VGA extender
WinXP Pro (Really slows down the system)
Graphics: Forgot, no D3D acceleration.



>Neospy 8)
Post Reply