Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:40 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 4 of 4 [ 83 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:43 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4522
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
When setting PearPC to use the rlt8139 network card, it finds that tun.kext has not been loaded.
So perhaps when loaded it can use the tunnel. I cannot try, my Hackintosh has become too unstable ;-)

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:40 am 
Offline
Apple Corer

Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:25 am
Posts: 289
Location: Hong Kong
apparently the stumbling block on OS X is the binutils is ancient and out of sync. Although I'm not sure you can really drop in a new 'as' ... Maybe some other as can pre-parse the macros? I really don't know.

_________________
don't do today what you can put off until tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 4:38 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2466
Location: Emaculation.com
What config flags are you guys using for your builds? I'm attempting --enable-ui sdl on the latest github source, and after the output says it has created a window, I still have none. All my SDL libs are up to date (I have brew and native libs installed). I'm trying to compile with --enable-cpu jitc_x86_64 and --enable-debug=no, and those bits appear to be working (and quite zippy) -- but without the UI, it's kind of hard to tell.

Anyone have ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 6:48 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4522
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Indeed, no window. A Ctrl-C in the ppc command window gave me an empty SDL window ;-)

[Display/SDL]: changeRes got called
[Display/SDL]: SDL: Changing resolution to 800x600x15
[Display/SDL]: can use SWSURFACE
[Display/SDL]: can use HWACCEL
[Display/SDL]: changeRes got called
[Display/SDL]: SDL: Changing resolution to 800x600x15
[Display/SDL]: can use SWSURFACE
[Display/SDL]: can use HWACCEL
^C[Display/SDL]: changeRes got called
[Display/SDL]: SDL: Changing resolution to 800x600x15
[Display/SDL]: can use SWSURFACE
[Display/SDL]: can use HWACCEL
CoreAnimation: warning, deleted thread with uncommitted CATransaction; set CA_DEBUG_TRANSACTIONS=1 in environment to log backtraces.

I tried with X and that does show a window, although I cannot type in it.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:22 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:57 pm
Posts: 7
I just found this thread, and I'm interested in running the OG (original gangsta lol) Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah for nostalgia's sake. I don't have Windows installed on any of my machines, and I prefer to keep it that way. I'm currently running a Hackintosh, and I think it'd be so cool to run 10.0.0 a top 10.12.3. Such a huge leap.

So, when I try this in generic CPU mode using the binary that Cat_7 provided I can never reach the OS X installer. Can someone help me with that?

I've also PM'd nirvanai asking him if he could repost his jitc enabled binary, as well as his source patch so I can attempt to compile PearPC myself on my own hardware.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Shiggitay


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 1:06 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2466
Location: Emaculation.com
PearPC only emulates 10.2.0 through 10.4.11 PPC (although I once wedged 10.1 onto it with a LOT of difficulty).

You want to use Qemu to emulate 10.0 (and the public beta and Developer Previews). See the Qemu section for more info; 2.8 will run Mac OS 9.0.4 through 10.5.6 PPC with the correct builds and tweaks. Includes networking and rudimentary audio, runs on OS X and Linux.

[edit] also, I've always found that running PearPC Windows in WineSkin results in better JIT performance than the OS X build -- but of course, Tun/Tap networking won't work in WineSkin.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:05 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:57 pm
Posts: 7
adespoton wrote:
PearPC only emulates 10.2.0 through 10.4.11 PPC (although I once wedged 10.1 onto it with a LOT of difficulty).

You want to use Qemu to emulate 10.0 (and the public beta and Developer Previews). See the Qemu section for more info; 2.8 will run Mac OS 9.0.4 through 10.5.6 PPC with the correct builds and tweaks. Includes networking and rudimentary audio, runs on OS X and Linux.

[edit] also, I've always found that running PearPC Windows in WineSkin results in better JIT performance than the OS X build -- but of course, Tun/Tap networking won't work in WineSkin.


Ah awesome! Thank you for that. Also, Don't you post to MacScene as "_Em"? I recognize that stoplight avatar.

EDIT: Not to go too far off topic, as this is the PearPC forum, but I got it working! Thanks again!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:37 pm 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Posts: 2466
Location: Emaculation.com
You'll see my avatar in a number of places :) It's a reference to my old Hotline icon.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 4 of 4 [ 83 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group