Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue May 26, 2020 3:26 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 40 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 10:36 pm 
Offline
Student Driver

Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:28 pm
Posts: 14
Mmmm, installing. Screenshot documentary located here: http://student.andover.edu/~tegeril/pearpc


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2004 10:54 pm 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 8:41 pm
Posts: 61
Location: Stirling
I may be thick but the binary for Darwin 7 mentions x86.

If that is the case and it supports intel as well as apple then... couldnt i just install Darwin like er linux x86 distro and still get the gui like er mac osx?

I live in hope.

I have a Dell 2400 p4 with 512mb but at present am using a compaq 2400 cel with 223 mb ram

Both are laptops.

(BTW I have 183 kps on my adsl from the darwin d/l site)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 2:32 am 
rcwire wrote:
I may be thick but the binary for Darwin 7 mentions x86.

If that is the case and it supports intel as well as apple then... couldnt i just install Darwin like er linux x86 distro and still get the gui like er mac osx?

I live in hope.


Not a chance. The only reason you can get Darwin for x86 is because it's all based on BSD. Because of the opensource licence for BSD, Apple are making it available.

But there are a number of parts that make up Mac OS X - the Darwin/BSD layer at the bottom, then on the top you have the graphical environment, which is only available with Mac OS X on PPC.


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Can Pear run mac os 9
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 2:46 pm 
Can pear run mac os 9?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 2:46 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
not for now


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 3:36 pm 
It's great thing. But under Windows XP and computer with 256 RAM, 2.6 GHZ it's not running very good. Even my mouse is freazing!


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 3:39 pm 
Offline
Master Emulator

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 377
Location: Canada
what do you mean its freezing do you mean you cant move it in the installation screen of mac osx if this is the problem then one of the possibility is that you might be using a skinning software like windowblinds try unloading it if this is the case


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Apple's Response...
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2004 4:45 am 
So uh, has anyone heard of Apple having any type of response to this?


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2004 8:52 pm 
Image

by Xavyiy


Top
  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 6:33 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 542
Location: Arizona
Merry go round


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 6:56 am 
Offline
Forum All-Star
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 7:41 am
Posts: 549
Location: MY
Wow , cool OSX Screenshots......I wonder if someone posts with Photoshop CS running...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 10:26 am 
Offline
Tinkerer
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 83
Location: São Paulo - Brazil
ClockWise wrote:
Fark. I can't make it work. I have made an IMG with Gemulator explorer, and an ISO with a bunch of different programs.

No bootable partitions.


How did you managed to do that? In my Gemulator Explorer all my options to create an IMG are dimmed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 10:42 am 
Offline
Granny Smith
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Posts: 116
Location: Norway
Mike5555 wrote:
It's great thing. But under Windows XP and computer with 256 RAM, 2.6 GHZ it's not running very good. Even my mouse is freazing!


Hm, working good on my AthlonXP 2000+ with 256mb ram...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:17 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2
Location: USA
ataxy wrote:
follow the pearpc doc
make a partition true darwin
reboot with mac osx13
remake your partition with the disk utility
and thats it
oh and also like jazzman said add"#" to the the nic card to blank it out in the ppccfg file
and as he said i guess you have to take out the "-v" from the verbose setting ounce you finish your installation before rebooting
also if you have the advantage of having tons of mem on you comp change the mem setting from #memory_size=0x8000000 to memory_size=0x24000000 then well i dont know what to say except be patient cuz it takes from 2:30hour to 5hour to install so dont expect to run osx as a second os soon it will surely take a bit before it runs at resonnable speed


I tried doing that but every time i run ppc it boots to just after the apple screen loads up then closes automaticly.. it only does that when i have the memory_size=0x24000000 set. Can someone help me with this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
 Post subject: Darwin Needed?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:42 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2
Location: USA
Do i have to use darwin to get it to speed up a little or can i do it the way they say in the install without darwin forum.. I am very confused.. lol HELP!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 40 posts ]    Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group