Guitar effects and amp modeling

Anything not about Mac emulation.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Guitar effects and amp modeling

Post by robojam »

The posts about guitars all disappeared pretty quickly. I am thinking about buying an FX processor with some good amp modeling. Can anyone suggest any good units?
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
Jackalo
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Location: Illinois, USA
Contact:

Post by Jackalo »

Digitech makes cheap, but very good model processors. I started out with an RP100, but later upgraded to an RPx400 and couldn't be happier. A quick search on eBay shows how cheap you can find them for.

Either of these would be my suggestion for your purchase.
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Post by robojam »

I've been looking on www.samash.com as they have a store where I am, but I'm tempted just to go in and look sometime. Yamaha make some good ones, but I don't really know what the amp modeling sounds like on them.

Maybe I should just go in for a few hours and play...
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
Jackalo
Granny Smith
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:23 pm
Location: Illinois, USA
Contact:

Post by Jackalo »

That's how I came to the purchasing decision that I made with my Digitech. =)
robojam
Forum All-Star
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 10:52 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC. USA

Post by robojam »

I only have a small Vox amp at the moment, and although I like the sound, it's not good for everything.

I'm just looking for that combination of good amp modeling and good effects that aren't mostly cheesy presets.
Once you've made something idiot proof, they go and invent a better idiot!
Post Reply