Internet on Windows XP. Need Help!!!

Anything not about Mac emulation.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Internet on Windows XP. Need Help!!!

Post by Stephen Coates »

I have recently borrowed a laptop computer from school running windows xp pro.

I need it to connect me to the internet.
It has a TOSHIBA software modem installed and set up, but no internet connection.

I know how to set up an internet connection, but i can't, i think this is because I can only login as a guest and it keeps saying that I do not have sufficiant privlages.

I then go into the internet explorer folder (C:\program files\internet explorer) and go into inetwiz.exe

I then go ahead and create an internet connection. It works until I get I get to the screen where it tells me to give it a name. I have tried lots of different names, but each time I get an error saying that the name is not valid, as shown in the screenshot.

I have even tried copying the dial-up networking file from my windows 98 computer, but it won't work (do i copy it to the network connections folder???)

Is there a way round this.

And DO NOT tell me to login as an administrator. I CAN NOT do that
Last edited by Stephen Coates on Sat Dec 27, 2003 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

screenshot

Post by Stephen Coates »

Here is the screenshot

Why won't this forum let me upload the image?

The Internet connection wizzard
Image

The Network Connections folder
Image
rcwire
Tinkerer
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 8:41 pm
Location: Stirling

Post by rcwire »

Cable Modem link eh? Maybe you need a full admin account on the laptop.
grayfox
Tinkerer
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 2:42 am

Post by grayfox »

if u wana be admin on that book pop in a copy of knopix steal the sam file off the windows system32 directory then remove the hash codei useing notepad then pop in the hash code into lc4
Stephen Coates
Expert User
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Stephen Coates »

It is a dialup modem.

I don't have the laptop any more, (i borrowed it from school), but i might try that next time i have a windows xp computer that i only have limited access to.

What is the hash code and lc4?


stephen
Slice
Student Driver
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 6:00 am

Post by Slice »

Next time, use this:
http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html

LC4 is L0phtCrack, a "security auditing" tool used to decrypt the passwords for Windows NT user accounts.
Post Reply