Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Anything not about Mac emulation.

Moderators: Cat_7, Ronald P. Regensburg

Post Reply
coaklnic
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:58 pm

Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by coaklnic »

Hi I was wondering if there is any possible way to play the game sim Farm on a Macintosh 128k thanks
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3063
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by adespoton »

Nope; Sim Farm requires System 7+ and the 128k only goes to 3.4. It does however run in B&W mode.

So the 128k is the one classic Mac that Sim Farm won't run on.

Works fine under Mini vMac, PCE/macplus, SoftMac, Executor, Basilisk II, SheepShaver and QEMU though :)
coaklnic
Space Cadet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:58 pm

Re: Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by coaklnic »

Oh ok so I suppose it won't run on a 512k
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3063
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by adespoton »

Nope; it'll run on a 512ke and higher, but not the 128 or 512. Most 512s were upgraded to 512ke though, so if the one you're thinking of was upgraded, you just need to boot it with System 7 and the game should work.
User avatar
macplus
Inquisitive Elf
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:12 am
Location: Argentina

Re: Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by macplus »

I wasn't aware of the 512Ke being able to run System 7. Huh. I guess you learn something new everyday.
Compact Macs will rule supreme for all eternity! :twisted:
User avatar
adespoton
Forum All-Star
Posts: 3063
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Emaculation.com
Contact:

Re: Sim farm on Macintosh 128k

Post by adespoton »

The 512ke is essentially a 512k converted to a Mac Plus. It can run up to 7.5.5.
Post Reply