Login  •  Register


The time is now: Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:06 am

Emaculation wiki  •  Delete all board cookies



Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]
Print view Previous topic  |  Next topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:35 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:31 am
Posts: 4
I've got a nice Qemu (v3.1) built by Cat_7 running with Mac OS 9.1, Office 2001 and such, however I'm trying to get it fullscreen on the native resolution of my Macbook Air (1440x900). So far I've tried ScreenRes2 (doesn't work), I've found an alternative "qemu_vga.ndrv" from your experiments in 2016/2017 and added "resolutions='1024x768 1440x900' to my qemu.command startup string, but so far no luck.

Fullscreen works with the -full-screen switch, it's still just a 1024x768 box in the middle of the screen.

Do I need a different build? How can I enable this resolution?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:01 am 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4610
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
Hi,

You are in luck. There is work being done on reading resolution from EDID info (monitor capabilities).
This has resulted in a newer qemu_vga.ndrv. It is included in an experimental OSX build I just uploaded.

See here:
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=8848&p=52104#p52104

In your case (already using the qemu 3.1 build), you would only need the driver and the additional command line argument as described in the readme in the vga-driver folder.

Note that you can select resolutions that are higher than the ones your monitor supports. What happens when you do is unknown to me.

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:10 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:31 am
Posts: 4
Excellent, this is working perfectly! I even get a nice fullscreen boot experience by adding the '-g 1440x900' and -full-screen flags.

I'll let you know if any issues come up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:07 am 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:31 am
Posts: 4
First issue came up, i seem to have lost networking. It might have to do with the double '-device' flags I have now in my config,

Code:
./qemu-system-ppc -L pc-bios -boot c -M mac99 -m 512 -device VGA,edid=on -prom-env 'auto-boot?=true' -prom-env 'vga-ndrv?=true' -hda MacOS9.2.img  -g 1440x900x32 -full-screen -device usb-storage,drive=fat16 -drive file=fat:rw:fat-type=16:/Users/mac/Downloads,id=fat16,format=raw,if=none -netdev user,id=network01 -device sungem,netdev=network01


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:22 pm 
Offline
Expert User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 8:59 am
Posts: 4610
Location: Sittard, The Netherlands
You seem to like living on the edge with that vvfat drive on the desktop ;-) This is not stable!

I have networking running with -device VGA,edid=on.
What are your experiencing? No networking at all? Or networking failing after some time?
Perhaps you try without the -device usb-storage?

Best,
Cat_7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:48 pm 
Offline
Space Cadet

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:31 am
Posts: 4
Fixed it, I see I was using an Openbios from 2017 instead of the one provided in the 3.1 package. Using the build of 5 October 2018 networking works again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote Post a reply  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group